1998 Cadillac Catera 3.0 from North America


I love it, except repair costs


I got it in October. Put new tires on it.

In March it kept shutting of on me, once it warmed up. I got a fuel pump, thinking it was that ($300), but that wasn't the problem. It ended up being the crankshaft sensor, I guess it is a very common problem after I got reading ($100).

Now, 20k after I bought it, the control arm bushings are warn out ($200).

In my opinion every car has its downfalls. I have heard of people having bad luck with these cars. I drive mine pretty hard (19 years old). I think I have had pretty good luck with it. I like to read forums now so I can find the problem and fix it myself, before I bring it to Cadillac and get screwed over like in the past.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th May, 2007

21st Feb 2008, 20:38

Sounds like we should network. I just bought a 1998 Catera this month with 87000 miles on it. Runs great, but I heard a rattling sound around the front passenger side and I'm not sure what it is? It's not an axle and I only heard it for a sec then it stopped, and no it wasn't when I was turning. Contact me by email philosopher1st@yahoo.com.



1998 Cadillac Catera from North America


Other than the " battery problem " I am well satisfied


Small oil leak. Dealer recommended sending motor back to factory for a cost of $2500. Did not do this.

Had new battery replace in 2004. (Battery dead numerous times).

Battery would lose charge in 2006 through last week.

January 2007

Dealer wanted to work on the computer because the battery was being discharged even though the car was " off ". at a cost of $750.

March 14th, 2006

Took car to a different mechanic.

CHECK MOTOR light " on " and still a problem with battery discharging. Battery replaced and new B15433 02 sensor replaced. All looking good now. (What is a sensor?) ANNE.

General Comments:

This 1998 car's exterior is in excellent shape, not a scratch or rust visible.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th March, 2007

1998 Cadillac Catera 3.0 liter V6 from North America


Don't mind the emblem looks are deceiving


When the car was purchased within the first four days the rear tail lights went out. They were replaced by the dealership under warranty.

At 50,000 miles the whole ECU system went down in mid driving on the highway. I took it into the dealership to find out that it was due to three faulty fuses. I don't know, but for three fuses to go bad all at once is rare. A little problem, but it was taken care of under the 6 month warranty. Folks there is only one cup holder in the entire LUXURY car. It broke and cost $45.

Fifteen thousand miles later and the 6 month warranty was terminated, their became a coolant leak due to a bad hose. That one leak turned into a $1250 headache. Of course there were more to it than just a coolant leak.

After three months of no problems. The car starts to overheat constantly. So I replaced the radiator ($200+labor),heater hoses ($45+labor),thermostat and housing ($120-$150+labor). Luckily I had a mechanic in the family.

At 78,000 the front struts finally had enough of the normal wear. Replaced for 175+labor.

I started to hear and feel that the rear air bag system was leaking. I went to the dealer they wanted to charge $55 for a tube. By now I knew the car inside and out. So I rigged it using a air tube from my fish tank. First free Fix!

The car near death at 100,000 miles with overheating problems.

General Comments:

I must say that this car was built in Canada and is a German car sold in America by Cadillac. If you know Cadillac for their nice appearance, plush leather, comfortable handling and superior performance. Don't waste your time with this model unless you like punishment.

This mid size sedan handled good because of the air bag system.

The 200hp V6 3.0 engine was kind of weak coming from a line of 300+ V8 bred cars.

The leather interior never had any problems. Great leather! Lots of room for a small family.

The Bose radio was pathetic, it only had a cassette player. Kind of out dated for a 98'.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th February, 2007

16th Feb 2007, 07:29

The Catera was a rebadged, Americanized Opel Omega MV6, and was assembled in Germany, not Canada.

22nd Feb 2007, 06:26

I must agree. I have a 97 Catera and have had nothing, but problems with it since I bought it. 5G's for the car itself. First day I got it home the alternator was bad. Within a week, I had to get the bushings replaced for over 1000 dollars. The tires on the car go flat periodically. The oil leaks in two places and the ia motor or something to do with the starter went bad also. Its currently in the shop for that now. They're asking for over 1000 to fix these problems. New tires run about 200 or a little less. All together since I bought the car, I've spent over 8,000 dollars. Because of all this I now regret my choice of wanting to get a Cadillac.