1974 Cadillac DeVille Reviews

1974 Cadillac DeVille Sedan de Ville 500 CID 8.2 litre from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1975
Year of manufacture1974
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 500 CID 8.2 litre Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired29950 miles
Most recent distance31570 miles
Previous carChrysler Valiant

Summary:

20 feet of heaven

Faults:

Air conditioning needs attention.

A couple of the interior lights on the doors don't work.

Vacuum-operated foot brake occasionally will not self-release when you shift from Park.

Rebuilt the carburettor, and the rubber vacuum lines were re-fabricated from steel.

General Comments:

I bought this car off an Upland, CA dealer who advertised it on eBay on 17/12/2007. It had obviously sat for some considerable time as the original owner (a Mrs. Warnecke) died in May 2007 and the car's registration tags expired in May 2002. The driver's registration card which I still have expired in May 1997. As a result, a few things needed to be rebuilt or replaced due to its extended lack of use, not through any real fault of the car. It had gone to 2 car "donation" outfits and 2 dealers before I got it.

The car when I first got it, it had its factory-installed tyres, shocks, brakes, spark plugs, wires and drive belts! Outside of regular maintenance, this car has needed no real attention. All electronics work perfectly (even the 8 track), the interior is as-new, and that 500 CID monster has a smooth, muted roar that I can't help but love. Near-as-dammit to $200 to fill, but once you get comfy in that gorgeous leather seat, you just don't care...

A slight run-in with the California DMV meant I ended up with the Certificate of Title sent back to me here in New Zealand with my NZ address on it!! It now lives in a picture frame with the original blue-and-yellow CA plate beside it :-)

The car can be seen here - http://www.cardomain.com/ride/3020129

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th July, 2008

1974 Cadillac DeVille Coupe 472 8 Cyllander from North America

Model year1974
Year of manufacture1974
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 472 8 Cyllander Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired148000 miles
Most recent distance152000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

This car makes a wonderful weekend car

Faults:

I had to replace the freeze plugs shortly after I bought the car.

I have to replace the generator, and I need to have the Air Conditioner recharged with freon.

I need to have the brake system overhauled.

The body has begun to rust through the paint along the vinyl top, consequently the top needs to be replaced.

There is noticeable body rust along the edges of the wheel wells.

The car needs to be repainted, and some of the body paneling replaced due to rust damage.

General Comments:

When this car runs, it drives like a dream. It handles like it is on rails.

It is a large car, and it reminds you of that when you go to stop. It takes a little more room to bring this thing to a stop.

The car is a gas guzzler, so I don't recommend it for everyday driving.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th September, 2004

19th Apr 2005, 06:01

I have the same car and I agree with everything. The gas just disappears, but you have a great time riding in the car.

4th Mar 2011, 08:11

I had a 73' Coupe De Ville, and drove it half way around the country. I started in L.A, headed north to Seattle, across to Montana, down to Texas over to Colorado. 14 000 miles all up, never a problem!

I've owned 4 Caddy's; 73 Coupe, 72 Coupe, 73 Eldo, 77 Eldo - all have been awesome.

I think the last Cadillac engine was the 425 cu inch in 1980. After that they seemed to drop the ball a little. Now they look just like any other car and are very disappointing. What a shame to see a great marque fall by the wayside. The U.S. still make some fantastic cars; it pains me to say it, but unfortunately Cadillac is not one of them. My dream car is now a 1968, my birth year, Coupe or drop top. Hard to get hold of in Australia, but I'll have it one day.

To this day, I've still never driven anything like my old Caddys. If you've got em', look after em' and they'll look after you.

1974 Cadillac DeVille Coupe 472 cu in gas from North America

Year of manufacture1974
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 472 cu in gas Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance0 miles
Previous carCadillac DeVille

Faults:

I need a new engine.

Had to replace the power steering pump, wiper motors, carburetor, radiator, A/C compressor, VIR unit and brake system.

There is an electrical short in the power door locks disabling the power locks.

The radio sounds like crap when the heater is on.

Clock doesn't work.

General Comments:

This car drinks gas on city trips.

It looks cute with the rounded hood.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 31st December, 2002

11th May 2003, 22:34

Hello, I just wanted to comment on the power windows. My '74 did the same thing and it turned out to be the plungers in the door. Some helpful advice, maybe?

27th Sep 2004, 05:46

The plungers of my power door locks did the same on my '74. I had them replaced when I had an alarm system installed in the car, so they would lock and unlock the doors when the alarm system was armed or disarmed.

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 3 reviews