2002 Cadillac DeVille Reviews - Page 4 of 5

2002 Cadillac DeVille from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired41103 miles
Most recent distance49101 miles
Previous carChrysler Concorde

Summary:

Never again

Faults:

Burns 1 quart of oil every 1,000 miles. If I would have known this, I would have bought a Town Car that will run forever!!! The dealer tells me that this is normal for a 8 quart engine to burn a quart of oil every 1,000 miles. That is crap.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th August, 2006

17th Aug 2006, 06:49

Yes total crap. Can you imagine being a high mileage driver who happens to own one of these cars? you would have to refill with oil almost as regularly as you do with gas! Horrible.

10th Nov 2006, 06:44

YES TOTAL CRAP!!! GM is now making a move to try and market their junk to China!!! Good!!!

2002 Cadillac DeVille DHS Northstar from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Northstar Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired12800 miles
Most recent distance82000 miles
Previous carMercury Grand Marquis

Summary:

The Cadillac De ville is a Lemon dressed in designer clothes

Faults:

My transmission had a failure at about 30000 miles. The car would not go into overdrive. The problem was discovered during the 30000 mile service and the transmission was rebuilt by the dealer (covered under warranty)

The day I purchased the car I noticed vibrations so bad that my passenger seat could be seen shaking. For the next 2 days the dealer tried several things to stop the vibrations to include replacing the vogue tires. The vibrations settled down slightly and I continued to drive the car. One year later I had driven the car over 60000 miles and decided to purchase new vogue tires. I left the dealership (after paying 900 dollars) and 30 days later I noticed that my left rear tire had a serious wobble. I took the car back to the dealership and I was told that my wheel was bent and It was not covered under warranty. Today I will try and get a second opinion and double check this information at a tire distributor before replacing the rim.

General Comments:

This is the best looking car that I have ever owned. It has more power than most cars on the road although the speed governor at 111 MPH ensures that most small cars can zoom pass you in a couple of miles. It has the worst ride of any car that I have ever owned because of the constant vibrations. This includes my wife's 99 escort. After the sorry service that I have received over the last year, I have decided to give this car to my son when he turns 16 next April and find myself a Mercedes or Lexus. I hope my son enjoys a good massage while he learns to drive. If only I was rich man, I would publicly burn this car and buy myself and my son a new Lexus. Good luck everyone else.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd August, 2006

5th Feb 2008, 22:14

I've got a 2001 Towncar with 50k on her and I'm constantly thinking it's stalled due to how quiet it is. This huge V8 is quiet as ever; it sounds 100% flawless when I rev it to the max. You should check out one of these if you're still willing to give american luxury a chance! Just a suggestion though!

2002 Cadillac DeVille 4 dr North Star from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission North Star Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired60175 miles
Most recent distance60450 miles
Previous carBuick LeSabre

Summary:

Good so far

Faults:

Nothing so far - just purchased.

General Comments:

I just bought the Caddy De Ville 7/29/06 - Thanks to the reviews I strictly paid attention to the reviews on the vibration issue with the Caddy.

When I took a test drive, it did vibrate at speeds 60-70 mph. Told dealer to fix this issue, which they did, took another test drive, and vibration was gone!!

The mechanic told me wheel balance was off 1 once, and that the right side tie rod was worn! Again, thanks to the reviews. I normally would not have worried about this issue.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st July, 2006

2002 Cadillac DeVille Northstar from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Northstar Don't Know
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired31000 miles
Most recent distance42000 miles

Summary:

Over-all nice car with too many flaws for the price!

Faults:

I have to express my disappointment with the 2002 DeVille. It is beautiful, powerful, comfortable, and reasonable on gas. But, I had to replace a front-end wheel bearing at 40,000 miles, and it was out of warranty! To make matters worse, I have an intermittent vibration that comes and goes over 40 mph. It doesn't happen all the time, sometimes the ride is smooth as silk even at high speeds. It feels like a wheel balance problem, but reading some of the other reviews here, it sounds like a manufacturer's flaw. I will be replacing the tires shortly due to wear, but I doubt it will do anything to improve this vibration.

General Comments:

Car is very fast, but a bit bouncy in front, and an annoying intermittent vibration.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th June, 2006

31st Jul 2006, 10:07

Have the front drive axles checked out!

13th Aug 2006, 18:50

I wrote the original above review of my 2002 De Ville. Well, I DID go out and bought 4 new Michelin Harmony tires. What a HUGE difference. My old tires must have had a broken belt or something, because the vibration I had is all gone, no shimmy at all! This car rides like a dream. One word of caution, when they were mounting the tires, they warned me that the "seal" might not be completely airtight due to quite a bit of oxidization on the inside of the chrome-plated wheels. It's been two weeks, and so far, so good, no leaking.

7th Nov 2006, 09:25

Wish to add comment on 2002 Caddy De ville in line with other owners comment re front wheel bearing and hub. Had failure at approximately 46,000 miles, out of warranty and dealer was happy to repair at $434.00. I think this is a very poor performance on an easily driven and well maintained, original car. I suspect there are many more of these failures and not being reported. Also had engine failure at 36000 miles. Piston failure, and many other parts replaced. This was under warranty, but while this is a good looking and comfortable car I am afraid this is the last Caddy in this family.

26th Oct 2007, 14:40

Like to add to the above; same deal 2002 deville, 2nd owner. I bought it with 40000 miles and really enjoyed it until about 50000 miles. A cable assembly in window went bad; just for the part, caddy wanted $464. I ended up doing it myself and getting the part off ebay, but what a pain! Then at 52000 miles, the alternator (?). I say this because, with 22 computers in this car, the Cadillac can't even seem to tell me what is going on. And in the same week, my front passenger wheel bearing and check engine light is on. I'm getting rid of this nightmare and won't ever buy another caddy.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 17 reviews