1977 Cadillac Eldorado Reviews

1977 Cadillac Eldorado 425 7.0 litre from North America

Model year1977
Year of manufacture1977
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 425 7.0 litre Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired182000 miles
Most recent distance182900 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

A car I will own the rest of my life

Faults:

Passenger side trans axle, has become very loose and has needed replacement.

The car has a leak from the oil pan, a small one.. but a leak nonetheless.

The leather in the seats has cracked.

The passenger side mirror is hard to keep in alignment with the bumps of the road.

General Comments:

I bought this car from its 3rd owner recently. The man who owned it before me gave me a truckload of spare parts to go with the vehicle, so I have everything under the sun to keep this car going for years.

She sits low to the ground, driving her is like driving a couch, we are talking about serious comfort!

All of the internal components work - power windows, the cruise control, the antenna auto up and down, the original quartz clock still works and has never missed a minute, the air conditioning blows out crisp cool air, and in the cold months the car heats up within five minutes. Even out in the snow you will feel the need to remove your jacket.

The cabin is very easy on the eyes, for a car that is over 30 years old there are no cracks in the dashboard or any other vinyl component.

However the seats have seen better days, but still hold a very unique comfort.

When you drive this car down the road, with her fine lines and near mint chrome and paint, people stop and stare.. it's a badge of honor to drive this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd February, 2009

1977 Cadillac Eldorado Biarritz 7.0Liter 425ci 4BBL V8 from North America

Model year1977
Year of manufacture1977
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 7.0Liter 425ci 4BBL V8 Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10
Distance when acquired156000 miles
Most recent distance181000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

Queen Mary III Best Car I Will Ever Own

Faults:

Seats have started to wear after almost 30 years of use.

Rad stopped Cycling for 2 years before it got fixed.

Air ride failed, but its fairly cheap and easy to do if you are a whizz with that stuff.

Seatbelts stopped locking.

Power antenna burned out.

General Comments:

I love this car to death it is the best car I have ever owned.

Its like riding a cloud you don't feel a thing.

There is so much room in the front seats that you can recline it and sleep more comfortably than you would in your own bed.

With about 3 meters of hood infront of you along with the 6.5 tons of car behind you, you feel invincible.

This car does not go fast, but that's not the point its made to go down the road with elegance which it does.

This Car is perfect for those of you who don't take corners over 50kmh, need to stop fast or don't mind the 4 miles per gallon rate that it drives at.

My only advice is to watch out for bad CV Joints because they are near impossible to come across and to have one made will cost a fortune.

AND TAKE CARE OF YOUR VINYL!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th December, 2006

15th Jan 2008, 19:21

I own a 1977 Eldorado Biarritz with a 101,000 miles on it and I never restored it. It's white with a white interior, The paint, Leather, Engine. Transmission etc, etc are still original, I am also winning Awards with it at car shows.

1977 Cadillac Eldorado Fleetwood from North America

Model year1977
Year of manufacture1977
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired51000 miles

Summary:

One of the best cars I've owned

Faults:

The power steering tube leaked. New one ordered from NAPA. No problems.

Hood hinges and springs need lots of grease and should be replaced if rusted. Hood is very heavy.

Doors are very heavy.

General Comments:

The car is wonderful. Rides like a dream. Comfortable like none other. The only problem is the doors and hood is very heavy. Parts are very cheap which makes this car great to own. 27 gallons makes it a bit high to drive every day.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th September, 2006

1977 Cadillac Eldorado Biarritz 7.0L 425 4BBL from North America

Model year1977
Year of manufacture1977
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 7.0L 425 4BBL Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired101583 miles
Most recent distance132649 miles

Summary:

Best car I've ever owned

Faults:

Air ride is the first thing to go, and is really expensive to repair.

Seatbelts stopped locking.

Radiator stopped cycling before I bought it, and was never fixed and was driven for 2 years before I fixed it.

Auto dimming sensor went on the fritz.

General Comments:

I absolutely loved this car. It did need its share of work, but it was worth it.

It's like driving on a cloud - you don't feel anything.

The leveling system is great. If you load it up to go camping, you can't tell there is anything in it.

There is room for about 6 people in the trunk. "6 man trunk"

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd July, 2006

1977 Cadillac Eldorado 425 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1977
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 425 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired225000 miles
Most recent distance230000 miles

Summary:

The biggest land boat on the road

Faults:

Rust holes so big you fit your hand, arm, shoulder, and head up into trunk. it leaked just about every fluid you put into it. it was a serious gas hog, the secondary muffler fell off.

General Comments:

OK, this car was just a rusted heap on the side of Highway 55. but the guy only wanted 150 dollars for it and I just got my license and I needed a cheap car. what better car than a Cadillac? I live in MN and it seemed logical to get a front wheel drive car, and the Eldorado was that. this car was almost 19 feet long, and it slid around dirt corners like it was on rails. and when you miss-judge the corner and end up in the ditch, this car would just pull you right out without a scratch and no fuss. I only got to drive it for a short while before I realized the running cost of such a car was out of my league at the time, but if I find another, i'll probably buy it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th May, 2002

1977 Cadillac Eldorado 425 V8 4bbl from North America

Year of manufacture1977
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 425 V8 4bbl Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired25900 miles
Most recent distance27200 miles
Previous carLotus Europa S2

Summary:

An impression maker that also happens to be a great transportation value

Faults:

The clock did not work when I purchased the car.

General Comments:

These cars are easy to find in excellent, low mileage condition.

The big Eldorados are still very affordable and offer bold style.

This car is very comfortable and reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th May, 2002

16th Aug 2013, 19:26

The production numbers for the 1977 Eldorado Biarritz are:

1899 Biarritz were produced; of that number, 404 had the moon roof and 200 had fuel injection.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 6 reviews