1996 Cadillac Seville STS Northstar from North America


Good, but not great

General Comments:

I picked up this Seville because it happened to be on the lot the day my Eldorado crapped out. So far, it's a fine car, safe, comfortable, and elegant. But I've owned a 97 STS and every minute I drive this SLS I'm aware of the difference - less power, different gear ratios, less precise steering, no stability control. The STS handled like a sportscar, the "envelope" on the SLS is a lot more limited, I keep feeling I have to hold back. If you want a Cad and have a choice between a "Luxury" and "Touring" model, by all means spend the extra money for the "Touring," they're much better cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd March, 2006

1996 Cadillac Seville STS 4.6L V8 from North America


High Performance and Luxury at same time!


Trunk Pull-down Motor has failed.

Antenna motor has failed.

CD Changer no longer recognizes Cd's.

General Comments:

I love my STS. It has it's share of problems, especially with over 125K Miles, but all problems so far have been minor. Good maint./upkeep will help keep these cars running good for a long time. Runs great and sounds even better. And with every option available on a Cadillac is a VERY comfortable ride. A pleasure to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th February, 2006

1996 Cadillac Seville STS 4.6 Liter Northstar from North America


4-door Corvette. Not the CTS-V quite yet though.


Worn out battery; replaced the 8 year old stock battery just last Nov.

Replaced starter. Took a little time because it is located beneath the intake manifold.

New intake manifold gasket.

New trunk pull down motor. Rusted out due to leaking water into the trunk.

The gear shifter is wearing badly (leather)

General Comments:

This car hauls! Surprises people on the road who think Cadillacs are just granny cars. Also, when accelerating, the exhaust note has no match. Sounds terrific.

Routinely get up to 29.5 mpg according to the trip computer in the car.

Gotta love the styling.

There is some chassis shudder when driving over potholes or bumps when turning at speed.

The stereo, the Bose 200 watt system, sounds great.

Fit and finish could use some improvement, but I am willing to overlook this because of the performance aspects of the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th March, 2005

1st Apr 2005, 07:48

4 door Corvette? lmfao!

1996 Cadillac Seville SLS North Star from North America


A deep well to throw money down


Since about 30,000 miles there has been a malfunction with the cruise control system. It will not release when you touch the brakes. The dealers cannot find or correct the problem.

The brakes pads and rotors had to be replaced at 40,000 miles cost $1,200.00.

Fuel pump went out at 50,000 miles, cost $900.00.

At 60,000 miles the power steering pump has gone out, cost $600.00.

General Comments:

It is my opinion that Cadillac does not have the customer service that they want to be famous for.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd April, 2004

1996 Cadillac Seville STS 4.6L Northstar from North America


A very stylish, powerful, expensive problem


The head gasket failed at 57000, which resulted in an overhaul. Cost $8250.

The alternator failed at 68000. $748.

The water pump failed at 68900. $274.

The transmission failed at 82000. $3769.

General maintenance this car has received: Oil changes, Mobil1 synthetic every 4000m, Coolant flushes, every 20000m, Transmission fluid/filters service, every 24000m. Brakes replaced at about 70000m. The usual items are of no trouble, just wear related items.

General Comments:

This is the third STS we have owned. It has been the most problematic, also. The first was a 1994, which also had a head gasket fail at 82000. The second was a 1995, which was trouble free, until it was rear ended and totaled. Thinking confidence was established, we purchased this 96 STS. Again, the major troubles resumed, and they aren't cheap. When a head gasket fails on a 4.6L Northstar engine, it cannot be repaired, it must undergo an overhaul.

The performance of these vehicles is exceptionally great! The styling is very distinctive, sporty and elegant. The interiors are comfortable and refined. The mechanical issues have scorned us from desiring another product from this manufacturer. We have given them outstanding maintenance, but it hasn't helped. After researching the products of this auto maker, we were disappointed. They are excellent when working, but are very expensive to repair.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th April, 2004

24th Aug 2004, 14:59

Reading this comment I could swear he was talking about my car. I have had the exact same problems at nearly the exact same mileage.

18th Nov 2006, 08:34

I have had excellent results with my 1995 Seville. I maintain it as the original thread owner described. I have had water pump go, but this was at 125K. Aside from that just general maint. has been applied. Cost of ownership has been excellent. I am original owner.

23rd Feb 2009, 21:07

I've always wanted one of these cars, but I have heard similar stories concerning reliability. A friend of mine who is a mechanic talked me out of buying one for that reason. I now see what he meant by expensive. $748.00 for a alternator! I own a'78 460ci Lincoln and for that price I could buy an alternator, fuel pump, water pump, and upgrade my radiator to a three core, with money left over.

With all that said I would still buy one if I had extra deep pockets. It's everything you could ask for in terms of styling and power.

7th May 2010, 17:33

I am just wondering who would spend over 8,000 dollars to repair an engine. You can get a new one for less than that, and better yet, a whole new car for 8,000. Seems either you got ripped off or you have a gold plated motor.