Cadillac STS Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1991 Cadillac STS 4.9 from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.9 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance175000 miles
Previous carCadillac Eldorado

Summary:

Looking for a low miler replacement, <50K miles in area, but hard to find

Faults:

A/C failed big time.

General Comments:

Performance car. Northstar killer from 0 to 70 mph. Takes corners like glued to pavement! Replaced with a 1998 SLS dog!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th December, 2010

1999 Cadillac STS Touring Package V8 gas from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission V8 gas Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.3 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance101000 miles
Previous carAcura Vigor

Summary:

It's JUNK!!! -- That GM should've recalled years ago..

Faults:

Water pump hose blew at less than 60,000 miles.

Water filled the trunk's spare tire compartment; less than 60,000 miles.

Head gasket blew at 60,000.

Power steering pump went at 70,000.

High pressure power steering hose went at 70,000.

Air conditioner blowing out hot air at 80,000.

Front passenger door - window regulator broke at 80,000.

Suspension system needed repairing at 100,000.

Stability system developing problems at 100,000.

General Comments:

This car is spacious and rides smooth with proper tires.

However, repairs are extremely expensive, with some dealers charging an extra price for labor & parts; "it's a Cadillac".

When one thing goes, be prepared for something else going wrong in a matter of days/weeks/months.

I cannot possibly be the only one experiencing these major problems.

Did I miss the recall on this vehicle?

If they want us to buy American, they need to build American: STRONG! Not let foreign cars outlast American cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th August, 2010

31st Aug 2010, 22:33

1999 STS.

Replaced power steering pump at 97k. $1600.

Replaced head gaskets (can't change 1) $4000.

Replaced front passenger seat belt $350.

Discovered 1999 Cadillac in local paper, same color, 55k miles for $8500. Felt like a fool $0.00.

Nice car. Expensive to maintain. Fun to drive across Salt Lake flat out at 145. But if it breaks, be prepared!

14th Oct 2010, 16:21

I own a 1995 STS and the car is far superior to all modern Cadillacs minus the CTS-V series.

Everything works properly, the tranny was replaced at 85k miles due to slippage, but a new one for 3500 wasn't too bad.

The great big boat will outrun anything Detroit puts out (minus the Corvette and some of the factory modded Camaros and Mustangs). It's big, roomy, luxurious, hauls ass, has a trunk big enough to hide anything in, and with the proper extras, looks damn good.

11th Mar 2011, 21:54

About the time the first comment was made, about how bad the car is, I was driving mine top speed at Bonneville. Drove it all around the US, 153K and 14 years of DD, can't complain, it is a GREAT car.

16th May 2011, 19:43

I agree, it's a great car if maintained properly; most people don't understand that. You buy foreign and it costs triple for repairs, but nobody complains because they expect it. Buy AMERICAN; they all learned from us.

1989 Cadillac STS 4.9 litre HT4900 from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership1994
Engine and transmission 4.9 litre HT4900 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 miles
Most recent distance89000 miles

Summary:

Amazing luxury and build quality

Faults:

Automatic trunk pull down would sometimes malfunction and open when driving down the highway. Was repaired somewhat inexpensively.

Other than that, nothing ever went wrong. Great reliability.

General Comments:

Have not owned this vehicle for 15 years, but remember it well. In the process of trying to find another one exactly like it, but they are rare.

I remember when we purchased this car, it was top of the line, had every available option. The quality and fit and finish of the interior are the very best of any vehicle Cadillac has ever made. The amount of "real" wood in this car was like a Jaguar, if not better.

The rear center console and bucket seats were my favorite. The leather in this car was better than any car I have ever seen or owned, and I have owned many.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th July, 2010

2008 Cadillac STS 3.6 DI from North America

Model year2008
Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 3.6 DI Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired19000 kilometres
Most recent distance40000 kilometres
Previous carBuick Roadmaster

Summary:

Worst Cadillac I have ever owned

Faults:

Water gets in the trunk lid.

General Comments:

Very harsh hard ride, rides like an ox cart or lumber wagon.

No ground clearance.

Uncomfortable seat.

Nut cracker door and center console design.

Even as small as this car is, it is still very hard to park due to the shape of the fenders.

Useless front bumper; any contact with snow and the fenders get buckled.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd April, 2010

3rd Apr 2010, 12:09

Did you test drive the car before you bought it? I have a 2005 Buick Park Avenue and I test drove several before I purchased one. Even with the same suspension, I found some pretty big differences from car to car.

3rd Apr 2010, 19:35

A Cadillac STS, small? Hardly.

4th Apr 2010, 04:08

Did you test drive the car before you bought it?

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 10 reviews