1993 Chevrolet Astro Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1993 Chevrolet Astro from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 miles
Most recent distance218000 miles

Summary:

I would marry this van if I could

Faults:

Some minor wiring problems.

Engine replaced at 40,000 miles (about 100,000 miles before I got it) -- not sure why.

Exhaust leak in the last 5,000 miles, have to keep the back window cracked.

Blower motor shot within the last year.

General Comments:

Never, ever uses oil.

Same gas mileage it's always had.

Power windows still work after 218,000 miles? What??

Reliable...so reliable.

I've been terrible to this car, often going 10,000 miles without an oil change, yet it has blessed me with pure unconditional love.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th May, 2005

10th May 2005, 20:44

Marry your car?

You need to get out more!

11th May 2005, 09:04

Yeah, get out to Massachusetts, they will let you marry anything there!

1993 Chevrolet Astro Cargo EXT 4.3L from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.3L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance142500 miles
Previous carFord Cargo Van

Summary:

Best service vehicle on the road period

Faults:

Front brake pads 65000.

Tune up & U-Joints @ 90000.

Alt @ 110000.

Water pump @ 138000.

Complete Brake job front and rear 142000.

Oil and filter changed every 2500 miles.

General Comments:

Astro vans are known to be reliable vehicles. That's why I bought this one.

This is my work truck and is loaded way over the recommended weight limit. It's not the fastest truck on the road, but it has no problem getting on the interstate and maintaining 70 mph.

Easy to operate, easy on fuel, easy to park, very dependable, all around good truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th December, 2002

1993 Chevrolet Astro 4.3 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.3 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired28000 miles
Most recent distance170150 miles
Previous carSaturn SL

Summary:

It just keeps on going

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong.

General Comments:

This van is good reliable transportation.

We have hauled kids, pets, beds, and everything in between.

It takes all of this without complaint.

All we do is change the oil and get a tune up when needed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd November, 2002

1993 Chevrolet Astro CL 4.3L VORTEC V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 4.3L VORTEC V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 kilometres
Most recent distance183258 kilometres
Previous carOldsmobile Delta 88

Summary:

The best line of vans on the road!!!

Faults:

Never had a problem!

NOTHING!!!

General Comments:

This is the strongest most dependable van on the road!

This van is equipped with 4 wheel drive and a 4.3l EFI Vortec V6 engine. I live in a fairly snowy cold climate in the winter. This van has gone through snow drifts that were up to 6 feet high and has never been stuck in the snow, mud or sand. The van has never let me down, it has always started on the first turn of the key. Well that Chevrolet kicks Ford in the butt six ways from Sunday!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th July, 2000

23rd May 2001, 11:08

I don,t have much use for Ford either, but I would appreciate an honest review to help me make a smart buy on a used van. I'm sure you have had it into a shop for something. And every bit of info helps.

8th Sep 2001, 16:12

I bought a 1993 with 150000 and was not sure I made a good buy. But now with over 180000 without any costly repairs, I am sure I did the right thing. As a matter of fact I just bought another one today!

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 8 reviews