1994 Chevrolet Astro Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1994 Chevrolet Astro EXT 4.3 V6 from UK and Ireland

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 4.3 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired52000 miles
Most recent distance53000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

This is a great van

Faults:

Because we have only had it a short time when the full service came, it was still at 53k the shock absorber went through, new box and tail pipe (exhaust), distributor cap, this was all fixed.

General Comments:

This van is a 2.8 ton RV with everything on board, is very loud and white, turns heads along with a big farly economical engine with a V6 to help, and is also 4 wheel drive.

We love this van and we have to sell it because we have bought a new caravan, but it's great to drive and we hope it goes to a good home. It doesn't move much as only gets started one time a week and gets moved once a month. This is a stunning van.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th March, 2007

1994 Chevrolet Astro ext 4.3 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.3 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired155000 miles
Most recent distance197000 miles

Summary:

This van will not stop running

Faults:

Transmission failure at 170000 miles.

EGR valve replaced once and cleaned once.

Radiator leaking at 197000 miles.

All doors have broken. I have only bothered to fix back door and driver's door.

General Comments:

This mid-sized van is a real solid delivery vehicle.

I find the 4.3 engine to be powerful and bulletproof.

Handling is what I'd expect from a van on a truck platform.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th July, 2005

30th Aug 2009, 11:57

I also have a 94 ext with 220,000. These vans are beasts. The only real problems are the front steering (only get lifetime warranty parts) and them darn ext door handles.

1994 Chevrolet Astro from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired94000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Work Horse

Faults:

Air Compressor and clutch went out two months after ownership at 100,000 miles. We are still trying to get this fixed.

Driver's side power window motor went out. Found one at a junk yard for $20.

The drivers side seat leans to the left a little bit, making for a soar back after a long trip.

General Comments:

Overall, we love our van.

When we went to the junk yard to get our window motor, we saw a ton of vans just like ours out there. Many of them had up to 600,000 miles on them!

It's a work horse. We've never wondered if it would just give out.

However, it can be top heavy and I've been a little bit nervous driving it in windy weather on the interstate.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th May, 2004

1994 Chevrolet Astro EXT 4.3L from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.3L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance167000 miles
Previous carJeep CJ7

Summary:

A great family vehicle with good towing capacity

Faults:

Air Conditioner Compressor went out at 41,000 miles. I had the extended warranty so it was fixed for free, but would have been about $1100.00 to fix.

Radiator leaked at 122,000 and I replaced the radiator, water pump, belts and hoses at that time. I did the work myself and had no problems.

EGR Valve gummed up at 130,000 and had to be fixed to pass emissions, $235.00.

Windshield wiper circuit board had to be re-soldered at 75,000 miles. I soldered it myself.

Drivers side window motor went out this week, 167,000 miles and I had to replace it today. Motor - 59.00.

Rear air is still out, do not know when it stopped working.

Has a small leak in the heater core so I will have to replace it soon.

Rear end pinion seal went out at 110,000 miles. 85.00 to repair.

Inner and outer tie rod ends were cheap from the factory and had to be replaced at 55,000 miles.

General Comments:

This is the best vehicle I have ever owned. I bought it new and put over 167,000 miles on it with very little maintenance. Changed the oil every three thousand miles. I tow an 18' ski boat with this van from Georgia to Florida frequently and it has no problems towing. The engine is strong and the van has held up to two kids well. I am in the process of replacing the carpet and having the interior done now. I plan to drive this thing until the wheels fall off!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th June, 2003

9th Jan 2004, 15:56

If your EGR Valve seems to plug up again, you can take off the air filter compartment and find the little black valve. If you can unscrew it all you have to do is shake/scrape/pick the carbon out... it'll save you $235 bucks, but you'll need to be agile to get your hands and a flashlight down there.

1994 Chevrolet Astro EXT AWD LT 4.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.3 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired66000 miles
Most recent distance105000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Celebrity

Summary:

Great power train, horrendous ride

Faults:

Had a hub go out on front, left wheel. I've heard that this is very unusual and cost about $600 to fix with a part from the salvage yard.

Lots of rattles.

Driver's door handle broken.

Driver's power door unlock no longer works.

General Comments:

I am impressed by how strong the engine and transmission run and overall it has been a fairly dependable vehicle.

But this is built on a truck chassis and it feels like it. It has to be the roughest riding van on the market and I am sure that is why it has all of the rattles.

Terrible gas mileage - about 16-17 mpg.

My van is All Wheel Drive and it gets around great, even on ice. That is one thing I am going to miss when I sell this.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th July, 2002

1994 Chevrolet Astro Custom V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired40 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles

Summary:

Good, reliable family vehicle

Faults:

Had one belt replaced.

General Comments:

I have been pleased so far and have never been stranded. Tires wear quickly and poor visibility in the rear due to double doors. Next time I would choose a solid back window. Moderate gas mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th June, 2000

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 8 reviews