1998 Chevrolet Astro Reviews

1998 Chevrolet Astro LS 4.3 Vortec from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 4.3 Vortec Automatic
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Previous carChevrolet Astro

Summary:

Good reliable transportation

Faults:

Normal maintenance, however it is rough on idler arms. Not exactly a gas miser at 18 highway, however it has a factory tow package.

General Comments:

Overall, a good all around family van with plenty of room for long trips. 13 years old, and the van still looks great for its age. Still have the original exhaust on it, and I live in OHIO. If most folks took a little extra time to take care of something that gets them from point A to B, they would probably have a few less problems. Oh, and everything still works on this truck, except for a couple of lights out on the radio.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th October, 2010

1998 Chevrolet Astro LS 4.3 Vortec V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.3 Vortec V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance53075 miles
Previous carChevrolet Suburban

Summary:

Good van bad parts

Faults:

The brakes went bad after 25,000 miles.

The power windows went bad after 30,000 miles and about 2 1/2 years of ownership.

Alternator went bad at about 49000 miles.

General Comments:

It is a good van. If you live with in a place with snow go with the all wheel drive. All wheel drive works great in the snow the only problem is, the all wheel drive switches from one side to the other when spinning. Pretty reliable and good seats. Front wheel wells cramp your feet. Big van I have fit in a 8 foot Christmas tree with the seats out. It is really too bad that GM is stopping the Astro and Safari line. If you were to buy a new Astro or even a used try to get a long warranty to cover things that have gone bad.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th March, 2004

1998 Chevrolet Astro LX from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.3 / 10
Distance when acquired26000 miles
Most recent distance66000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Lumina

Summary:

Great for travel when it's running

Faults:

At 32,000 miles, the drivers window motor failed.

At 36,000 miles, the oxygen sensor needed to be replaced.

At 46,000 miles, the transmission was serviced due to hard shifting.

At 52,000 miles, the passengers window motor failed.

At 65,000 miles, the rear end had to be replaced.

At 66,000 miles, the front air conditioning unit has stopped blowing through the proper vents, now runs only through the defrost vents.

General Comments:

We feel like we got the bad seed of Astro vans. With each item that goes wrong, we think what else could there be.

It would be impossible to get rid of this van, it's not worth anything as far as a trade. As far as selling it, I would feel horrible passing it off to anyone.

The redeeming quality would have to be the amount of room, it's a perfect traveling vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st September, 2003

8th Dec 2003, 14:12

I have owned a 98 Astro van since buying it used from a rental car agency in 2000. It then had 58,000 miles on it and now it has over 135,000. The first thing I did after buying it was to change the oil, put in an additive, and completely flush the transmission. I have had no mechanical problems with the engine or the transmission that have disabled this van. The transmission does shift hard now, but I use this van every day for work and it has faithfully performed every day except of course when I leave the lights on and I drain my battery... I am very happy with the solid reliability of this van, I just wish it wasn't so bumpy!

1998 Chevrolet Astro LS from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance42000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Astro

Summary:

The Astro Van is a good family vehicle because it is roomy, safe and affordable

Faults:

The car required a "repacking" of the transfer case due to excessive shaking and bucking when turning the vehicle. The CD player has stopped working recently. I am now experiencing a "bucking" when the accelerating from being stopped. This seems to happen when the engine is warm.

General Comments:

I have enjoyed owning an Astro Van. It is very roomy and feels safe.

Lots of windows so you have a good view of the road.

The van is comfortable and the automatic driver seat adjustments make a short person like me able to find the best position for comfort and ease of driving.

The cargo space is very good and the passenger seats are nice and roomy too.

It is not a very quiet ride.

The third row passenger bench seat is removable, but very heavy.

The Astro could improve on its fuel economy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd January, 2003

1998 Chevrolet Astro LS 4.3L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.3L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired909 miles
Most recent distance41000 miles
Previous carIsuzu Rodeo

Summary:

Astro-nomical costs!

Faults:

I guess I would say that the Astro is fairly solid IF you get one with a generous extended factory warranty. Reliability "issues":

--> replaced front pads at 20K

--> had TWO experiences (one inside and one outside of standard factory warranty period) with "bad ignition" wires (>$450 each)

--> transmission went to mush around 35K miles (fortunately just barely within warranty period).

General Comments:

Very roomy-- can accommodate lots of people / car seats (though the front seats are a bit cramped for those long legged folk). Decent acceleration. Rides high and considering its size, one at least feels safer on the road.

Considering sub-par reliability, definitely consider an extended warranty.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th September, 2002

3rd Apr 2003, 08:59

This sounds just a bit odd. How can bad ignition wires cost $450? A set of quality wires runs $30 or $40, even Magnecor racing wires are under $100. I would say this reflects more on the mechanics you use rather than the vehicle.

As far as brakes go, 20,000 miles is a fair lifetime for pads on such a heavy vehicle. Also, brake wear is affected by the driving pattern and loads carried.

29th May 2009, 09:04

I'll have to agree with the above the costs are too high, and as for the brakes, the van is in fact built on a truck frame and is as heavy as a midsized truck. With that said, the brakes might wear out quickly if you're carrying a lot of weight or driving the van hard.

I never had a problem with it, and a tune up cost about $450 for the whole thing; wires, plug, cleaners, and labor.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 5 reviews