2008 Chevrolet Aveo Reviews

2008 Chevrolet Aveo LX 1.6 from North America

Model year2008
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired12 kilometres
Most recent distance123899 kilometres
Previous carHyundai Accent

Summary:

Just an all round good little car

Faults:

Head gasket at 12000kms. It was replaced under warranty and nothing else has gone wrong.

General Comments:

Great little car. My wife drives 55kms everyday to work and home, and it never once let her down.

It is a small car, which makes it easy to park, good fuel economy and reasonably comfortable on long trips (if you take your wallet out of your back pocket). It is very stable and smooth at highway speeds. It has a quiet interior, no wind noise and a nice sound system.

Cup holders are a little bit of a nuisance, because when you use them, they cover up the heater control and radio.

We get the car oil undercoated every year; that not only keeps rust at bay, but keeps all rubber parts in good condition, and keeps squeaks away.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th June, 2011

2008 Chevrolet Aveo 1.5 injection petrol from Egypt

Model year2008
Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 1.5 injection petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired107 kilometres
Most recent distance49000 kilometres
Previous carPeugeot 504

Summary:

You can find something better at the same price

Faults:

There is not enough horsepower in this engine.

The seats are extremely uncomfortable, especially when you go on a long journey.

The car loses a lot of its stability once you go above 100 km/h (60 mph) only.

Believe it or not, no airbags in the car; I always feel unsafe when I am inside it.

General Comments:

The car is not bad compared to its price, has low running costs and is reliable, yet it is still really below average, due to some problems that make you regret that you bought this car.

First, the engine of the car is very weak; 1.5L, and only generates 75 horsepower. I have a friend that has a Toyota Yaris 1.3L, and that generates around 93 horsepower. So it takes like century to go from zero to 100 km, so you keeping pushing the accelerator pedal, and the kilometer speed indicator is barely moving.

The second thing is that the car loses a lot of its stability once you go above 100 or 120 km/h, and above the 120 the engine sound becomes very loud, almost screaming, and the car starts shaking.

Thirdly, there are no airbags in some categories in this car, which makes me feel insecure whenever I am inside this car.

Last but not least, the seating in this car, especially on long journeys, is very annoying; there is not enough room in the rear seats, and the front seats are also uncomfortable; you will start to feel pain in your back when your journey reaches its first hour.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd September, 2010

13th Dec 2010, 20:36

Are there really not any airbags in your Aveo? That is hard to believe, mine has 4 airbags. But perhaps they didn't include them in Egypt?

75 HP is incorrect, if you have the 1.6 L 4 cylinder. These should generate just over 100 HP according to the manufacturer. 75 HP is what a 1.0 L 3-cylinder engine produces.

2008 Chevrolet Aveo S 1.2 from UK and Ireland

Model year2008
Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.2 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired14 miles
Most recent distance2000 miles

Summary:

Excellent cheap small car

Faults:

Nothing so far.

General Comments:

Good solid build quality, door shuts excellent.

Super seating, plenty of space for 5 adults (5 door model). "Tardis" like interior (bigger inside than it looks!).

Very quiet engine, but the 1.2 is not the fastest on acceleration.

Very economical.

Reasonable when climbing 1:4 hills (25% gradient).

Superb design inside and out.

Very simple mechanical layout.

Highly recommended!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st April, 2009

29th Apr 2009, 10:40

Thank you for the good review.

2008 Chevrolet Aveo LS 1.5 from Egypt

Model year2009
Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.5 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired95 kilometres
Most recent distance950 kilometres
Previous carBMW 5 Series

Summary:

Not bad

Faults:

On my first drive home I felt an unusual tremble in the drive-train. I think it is the automatic transmission.

General Comments:

Very spacious for its size. Love the dashboard!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd October, 2008

2008 Chevrolet Aveo SV 1.6 4 cylinder Ecotec from North America

Model year2008
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.6 4 cylinder Ecotec Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance2700 miles
Previous carGeo Metro

Summary:

A vast improvement!

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

I love the styling of the car, it reminds me of my beloved 1991 Geo Metro that gave up the ghost a month ago. Plenty of room inside, and very comfortable. Seats are supportive, and I didn't expect an economy car to have adjusting lumbar and height in the seat! The manual transmission is great, very smooth shifting and good power. Gas mileage is nowhere near what I got in my Metro, only 32 MPG so far. I got 45 in my Metro!

But overall I love the car. Very inexpensive at $10,600 brand new! Also has a very quiet ride.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th March, 2008

16th Mar 2008, 15:47

Glad you're happy with the new, supposedly improved Aveo. Tell us what it's like with more miles on it as the comments from many others don't seem to say that the car keeps its owners satisfied for long.

30th Jul 2009, 21:46

50 000kms on mine so far. No big issues - only issue was when the dealer pressure washed under the hood, causing water to get into TPS (causing a check engine light). Dielectric grease in the TPS connector, and all good.

Had the rotors turned for smooth braking, and replaced the engine cooling fan resistor after it cracked (hadn't failed yet).

Toyo Proxes tires and 15 inch rims really helped handling (still less than perfect, but more acceptable - 15 inch rims/tires were cheaper than the original 14 inch size).

Put synthetic trans fluid in (AMS OIL), and although cold shifts are harsh, it shifts quickly. Acceleration OK... (but floor it at 120km/h, and it makes a lot of noise, gets up to 6000rpm, and very slowly accelerates). BUT, as a daily driver - great (good gas mileage, comfortable in traffic, OK on highway, A/C and heat work really well, and with winter tires, really good in the snow).

2008 Chevrolet Aveo LS 1.6 4 Cylinder Gasoline from North America

Model year2008
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.6 4 Cylinder Gasoline Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired615 miles
Most recent distance823 miles
Previous carToyota 4Runner

Summary:

Like a luxury car, very good value!

Faults:

Nothing so far, it's brand new!

General Comments:

I just bought this little car brand new, and I must say, for $10,000, this is an amazing value. The Chevy Aveo is currently the most inexpensive car you can buy brand new in America, starting at $9,950 or so, but you wouldn't think so when you drive it. It is extremely comfortable, and has lots of head and leg room. Mine has lumbar support and height adjustment for the driver's seat! The wood grain trim and sophisticated interior styling makes you think you're riding in a luxury sedan, and there's plenty of visibility all around. The ride is so quiet and smooth, I couldn't even hear the engine! The car handles very well, and turns on a dime. It has power steering, cruise control and a tire pressure monitor, too!

This Chevrolet Aveo sells for the same retail price as it's predecessor, the Geo Metro, but gives you ten times more features, comforts, and performance. I love it. I definitely recommend it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st December, 2007

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 6 reviews