1987 Chevrolet Beretta Reviews

1987 Chevrolet Beretta GT 2.8L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 2.8L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Distance when acquired97000 miles
Most recent distance104640 miles
Previous carEagle Talon

Summary:

Wow

Faults:

Trans never shifts into overdrive when it's cold outside.

Check engine light comes on when it's cold outside.

Blown engine at 104,640 miles.

General Comments:

Bought the car for $50; it had been sitting in a field for 8 years. Changed gas plugs and wires. The car ran for 1.5 months, then blew up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th September, 2013

25th Sep 2013, 14:32

But after that long time of not being run, did you change the oil and the transaxle fluid too?

25th Sep 2013, 15:41

Did you change the engine oil when you got it out of the field?

1987 Chevrolet Beretta 2.0 4 cylinder engine from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1988
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 4 cylinder engine Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired169000 kilometres
Most recent distance169000 kilometres

Summary:

A sporty fuel efficient civic killer

Faults:

My car has had very few problems.

The first problem is the starters have had a useful life span from 2-7 years, but it could be worse.

Next is alternators in the time of owning the car (first owner) I have had to replace te alternator 4 times.

General Comments:

The car is as good in straight lines as it is cornering.

The front seats are good for the long haul, but the rear seat will disapoint if you are over 5`9``.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th August, 2004

15th Aug 2004, 17:44

It's nice to see something American out run one of those "rice rocketeer yuppies" that think they have a drag racer when all they've got is a compact car that's light weight!

16th Aug 2004, 07:29

The only way you could have 'killed' a Civic is if they let you win, out of pity. A 90 horsepower 2 liter, 2600+ pounds curb weight and a slushbox 3 speed automatic virtually guarantee you will not beat anything in a race.

22nd Apr 2005, 22:46

(Writer of first comment) To the second comment: It depends what year of civic. Older civics had puny little 1.5 liters engines and the car weighed probably 2200+ pounds. Not only that, but a car weighing a lot is not a bad thing, it keeps you from sliding off the road and wrapping your car around a tree when it's wet! My Accord is rather sluggish on take off because it has a 2.2 liter, but the car weighs about 3000 pounds! That's great to me, I would rather have the weight to keep the car on the road and it also means their might just be a little extra re-enforcement surrounding the passengers and driver even if one does have to give up take off speed! A car needs a little weight, other wise it becomes a death trap!!! A Beretta is small, but for it to weigh 2600 pounds just shows that Chevy took the time to actually put some metal in the car instead of light-fluffy plastic! I don't think I would brag about a light car. Not only that, but if Chevy ever wanted to, and they've proved this since the fifties, they can easily make one great engine that will put out tons of power, maybe this car only has 90 horse (which is only 20 less than an average stock civic) because in the eighties, no one put much attention into four cylinders, especially domestic companies.

1987 Chevrolet Beretta 2.8L from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.8L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired28000 miles
Most recent distance142000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

Smooth runner

Faults:

Very few things. Last year I had a new fuel pump installed. The dash board is really looking ugly. Paint is peeling on some parts of car.

General Comments:

I found out after I purchased the car that Consumer Reports had given Berettas very bad reviews. But hey, what does Consumer Reports know? This car has run great and it's not showing any signs of quitting, even after 140,000 miles. In fact, I've had more problems with tires than with the car itself. I guess I must have lucky with this car.

Now I'm thinking of putting a few dollars into it, including repainting the top where the paint is peeling pretty badly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th October, 2003

1987 Chevrolet Beretta Base 2.0 from Israel

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 miles
Most recent distance160000 miles
Previous carAlfa Romeo GTV

Summary:

Fun car

Faults:

The alternator has been changed 3 times.

The water pump failed at 135000.

The fuel pump failed at 140000.

The heater radiator's pipes started leaking recently. I had to change the whole component.

General Comments:

Despite the many minor problems I've had with this car I still love it.

It's 15 years old and still turns heads.

The car is extremely comfortable to drive. The transmission is good.

The handling is great.

I would like to get my hands on a quad 4 though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th May, 2003

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 4 reviews