1996 Chevrolet Beretta Reviews - Page 3 of 4

1996 Chevrolet Beretta Base 3.1 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.1 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.3 / 10
Distance when acquired122000 miles
Most recent distance123500 miles

Summary:

The Beretta is so far a dependable vehicle

Faults:

When I bought the car the check engine light was on and will not shut off. Auto Zone did a scope check for me and found that nothing is wrong. The power locks and the horn have not worked since I bought the vehicle. Paint is peeling off the car because General Motors put the wrong kind of primer on.

General Comments:

The Beretta has good pick up and it runs good, there has not been any problems with the vehicle.

The Beretta handles fairly well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th July, 2005

1996 Chevrolet Beretta Z26 3.1 from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired44000 miles
Most recent distance51000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Beretta

Summary:

Good looking, good performer

Faults:

The tires had to be replaced.

The shocks and struts had to be replaced.

The brakes had been replaced, I could tell.

General Comments:

Sharp looking car.

Decent performance. Can be upgraded to very nice performance reasonably cheaply, and you can have 200+ h.p. in a 2900lb car.

Can beat BMW 318's and 323's. Hangs with 325's and with a little intake/exhaust work, will beat those, too and the 328's as well...

Engine and tranny are smooth as glass.

Handles very well, but rack is somewhat loose.

Seats too close to the front and springs too soft.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th April, 2005

11th Apr 2005, 14:24

200 hp out of a GM 3.1? Must take a lot of work, or Nitrous.

21st Apr 2005, 11:01

To the comment about 200 hp from a 3.1. It can happen, the engine comes with 160 stock for that year. Intake, exhaust, computer, there you have it.

1996 Chevrolet Beretta 3.1 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.1 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired118000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles

Summary:

Good Car for a First time Driver

Faults:

I Just bought this car in January.

After I got it.

Oxygen Sensor-$130

Gas Tank-$80

Muffler-$80

System Blew Out-$300.

I really don't want to keep this car if stuff keeps going on it. but as far as I'm told it has had only one owner before me and they kept it up pretty good. and then engine and tranny are perfectly fine. they had them checked before it was sold. so I really shouldn't have to work about that for a while.

General Comments:

This Car handles well

Its Fast too!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th February, 2005

21st Jun 2005, 12:38

What exactly does "system blew out" mean?

1996 Chevrolet Beretta V6 from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.3 / 10
Distance when acquired196207 miles
Most recent distance198856 miles

Summary:

Good if hasn't been abused, BAD if it has

Faults:

I bought this car from my friend's mom. The transmission wasn't changing right from the start, 2,000 miles (2 months) later it threw a rod.

General Comments:

I believe this car was abused before I got it. But if it wasn't then this was is definitely not worth the money. A 1996 car shouldn't throw a rod in 2004. Buy wisely if you plan on getting a Beretta. If you think there is anything wrong with it don't buy it cause chances are there is.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd October, 2004

17th Nov 2006, 19:09

From what I read you got ripped off. The Barreta is a good car you just boght one that was on its last legs because the last owner did not take care of it. don't say that this car is bad because you got ripped off.

1996 Chevrolet Beretta Z26 3.1 SFI from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.1 SFI Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 kilometres
Most recent distance120000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Beretta

Faults:

Intake manifold gasket went on both of my Z26's.

Rear engine seal is a common problem.

Ticking noise in the engine on cold days.

Hesitation from start.

First gear has very little power.

Control arm bushings.

General Comments:

This car is a very nice car to look at and it handles fairly well. On the downside however, you have to drive these cars with a little TLC otherwise you will be frequenting a repair shop.

I also wanted to mention that the ticking in the engine is a common problem. For those of you that own this car just let the engine warm up a bit and the ticking goes away. I love these cars due to the fact that they were not mass produced like all the other cars on the road today. When you see the Z26 on the road it stands out and is very inique looking.

The rims sell the car in my opinion.

Over all, a very nice compact car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th September, 2004

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 15 reviews