1995 Chevrolet C1500 Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1995 Chevrolet C1500 350/ 5.7 liter from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 350/ 5.7 liter Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 miles
Most recent distance314000 miles
Previous carDodge Van

Summary:

My truck is number one in my book and I would not trade it for a new one

Faults:

Just regular wear and tear.

General Comments:

I have been all over, as in from Cedartown to New York, from Cedartown to Biloxi and I have never done anything to the engine. I just wanted to say this has been the best vehicle I have ever owned and I know that I will never find another used vehicle to last like my truck. I hope that you continue to make good dependable vehicles in the future. I had a chance to trade my truck for a newer nicer truck, but I could not part with my truck. It still cleans up and looks pretty good for a 95 Chevrolet C1500. I keep my oil changed, my plugs and plug wires, all I do is regular maintenance and make sure you give yourselves a good pat on the back for this truck. Thank You.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th October, 2005

1995 Chevrolet C1500 W/T 4.3L from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.3L Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired125000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles

Summary:

A reliable and capable pickup

Faults:

The muffler had to be replaced.

A general tune-up was done--plugs, wires, distributor cap, rotor, coil, etc.

The radio had poor reception and was replaced with a CD unit.

The interior is worn, but the seat is still very comfortable.

A/C compressor and accumulator need replacing.

General Comments:

This is my second truck, it shares duties with my 94 Toyota 2WD. It is a very reliable and comfortable truck that handles remarkably well for its size, and the ride is actually very smooth.

The 4.3 V6 has plenty of low-end torque and delivers fantastic mileage for a full-size 4WD pickup--about 18 in normal driving and 22 on the highway. The 34 gallon fuel tank yields a long range, but fill-ups require a second mortgage.

The manual transmission is rather clunky, and first gear seems like it's geared too low for a normal start and too high for a creeper gear. Otherwise the performance of the truck is good.

The 8 foot bed can fit just about anything.

Body hardware isn't great, over time the door handles and tailgate latch have been replaced and the interior has held up much worse than my Toyota, but that truck just doesn't have the hauling capacity that this one does.

Although I've only had the truck for a year, it has been reliable (other than the A/C) and great for snowy roads and heavy loads.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th August, 2005

22nd Jan 2006, 07:42

I have a 94 C1500 w/t. I've had it since early 1997. I've used it for my landscaping business. I've replaced the starter a few times, the alternator, U joints (about 5 times), clutch master cylinder (3 times), clutch slave cylinder, water pump twice, pressure plate, throwout bearing, and clutch fork.

The freeze plugs all went out one at time. The last one to go out wasn't easy to see so I didn't know it was gone and burned up the engine at 210,212 miles. I put a 5.7 liter engine in it last week and it's still going.

Extremely good truck for the money.

1995 Chevrolet C1500 Cheyenne 5.0 V8 from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5.0 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired95000 miles
Most recent distance116000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

The big green truck

Faults:

The fuse for the electronic locking hubs.

The motor started blowing a lot of black smoke.

The truck blow a starter while at a gas station.

New starter $80.

General Comments:

The truck ran good for awhile, had lots of power handled good for a 3/4 ton pickup with big off-road tires.

The 4X4 system was annoying having to back up 15 feet to unlock the hubs. Though it did go through the mud great.

The interior was kind of cramped for me. Maybe its just because I'm over 6 foot. I did like the idea of the two hidden cup holders in the dashboard.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th December, 2004

1995 Chevrolet C1500 W/T 4.3L from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.3L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired100 kilometres
Most recent distance190000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet C1500

Summary:

A reliable bargain since I have not had any payments in 6 years plus very low insurance rate

Faults:

Truck has been very dependable with low operating costs. Majority of maintenance has been completed by myself and since I now live in CT, parts are easy to find with several price ranges. I have changed or repaired the following items during the past 9 years:

Ball joints need replacing - 190,000 Km.

Motor is starting to sound noisier than usual - not sure if it is a lifter adjustment required or replacement - 185,000 Km.

Water pump replaced at 180,000 Km.

Fan blower motor replaced at 175,000 Km.

Repaired wiper circuit board at 170,000 Km.

Plug wires and distributor replaced at 175,000 Km.

Casing on manifold repaired due to weld letting go and creating noisy rattle at 160,000 Km.

Brake light switch replaced at 155,000 Km.

Exhaust system replaced at 120,000 Km.

Front brake rotors replaced at 110,000 Km.

Truck died unexpectedly at 90,000 Km due to computer problem - was covered on extended warranty.

General Comments:

I believe that it is natural wear and tear that is now catching up and replacement of parts is imminent.

I do trust the truck since I do use it for commuting to work each day (25 mile round trip)

Other than the engine being noisier than usual, the transmission still shifts great and the truck does cruise well on the highways.

My previous truck was a 1988 Chevy short box 2WD with the 305 - truck ran beautifully until stolen and written off in accident.

The truck still looks very good when washed - chrome wheels have held up well, interior is very clean with no scratches or rips in seats.

Gas mileage is acceptable for a full sized truck.

I would buy another Chevy pickup since parts are very abundant and the truck is fairly easy to work on.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th March, 2004

1995 Chevrolet C1500 W/T 4.3L Vortec from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.3L Vortec Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired1600 miles
Most recent distance61606 miles

Faults:

The sliding back window is leaking and falling apart. Other than that, nothing major.

General Comments:

I inherited the truck from my Dad. I have had it on numerous trips and it is very comfortable. I have hauled 1800 lbs. in the back on 3 occasions and it didn't even phase it. The 4.3L.V-6 has the power of a small V-8 and the fuel consumption of a V-6.A very impressive vehicle indeed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th November, 2003

23rd Aug 2009, 06:28

I also have the same vehicle and have had very few issues except general maintenance. I have noticed a problem with acceleration. Seems like it's not receiving a steady flow of fuel or kind of like a hesitation to accelerate. Any ideas?

1995 Chevrolet C1500 Silverado 305 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 305 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 miles
Most recent distance290000 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

Best lasting hauling truck for the money

Faults:

The transmission went out at 150,000 miles. The truck hauled trailers every day before I bought it and I was stuck it in a field pulling a trailer when the transmission went out. I had it rebuilt and the new transmission lasted about 130,000 miles. I continued to haul heavy trailers with this transmission. The water pump started leaking at 250,000. This was due to still having the factory antifreeze in it. I have problems with the door bushings. They holes have become larger than normal and the bushings won't stay in. I have also had problems with the seats wearing out, I am talking about the track.

General Comments:

I think it has been an excellent truck. It has 280,000 miles and the motor has never been touched. I do not baby the truck. It hits red-line at least 2 times a month. I do change my oil often.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd June, 2003

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 9 reviews