1997 Chevrolet C1500 Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1997 Chevrolet C1500 5.7L vortec from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 5.7L vortec Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 miles
Most recent distance156000 miles

Summary:

Reliable

Faults:

Intake manifold gasket blew at 150009 miles.

Fuel pump went out at 151000 miles.

Heater core just recently went out at 155900.

General Comments:

I love the Z71 and will buy another one.

They're the best trucks out on the road for full size pickups and they get the job done.

Problems started happening at 150000 miles. But you can expect that from a v8.

Great offroading capabilities and is easy to maneuver in the woods.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st September, 2006

1997 Chevrolet C1500 EXT CAB from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired25 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles

Faults:

I have replaced the Transmission twice in the last year and now there is a leak in the radiator.

General Comments:

Great truck except for the Transmission problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th June, 2006

1997 Chevrolet C1500 silverado 5.7 350 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 5.7 350 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired78000 miles
Most recent distance155900 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

"Tough and long lasting"

Faults:

I had the quick disconnect give out in the cooling system, sending pieces of plastic down into the block. Installed a coolant flush kit and back flushed the system, accounting for all the pieces. Could not find duplicate part at auto stores, so I went with corvette part, (very similar). No issues since.

Brake booster failed while driving, requiring almost superhuman strength to stop truck. (not serviceable). Had to replace.

Fuel pump failed, (beating on bottom of tank with hand, or rubber mallet worked a couple of times), then had to replace.

General Comments:

This vehicle has been very good to me.Has had regular 3000 mile servicing, and recommended servicing beyond that. I have taken it half way across the country and back. It is an excellent highway cruiser and very comfortable with captains chairs. I haven't had to invest that much money into repairs, so the cost ratio of repairs and fuel milage is comparable to the honda (90).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd September, 2005

1997 Chevrolet C1500 Cheyenne 4.6 Vortec from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.6 Vortec Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired79000 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles
Previous carMercury Sable

Summary:

I loved it so much, I will try to make my next on the same thing!!!

Faults:

Transmission overpressure on the shift from 1st to second after a long drive. This is due to and over pressure in the transmission.

Passenger side reverse light will occasionally not come on.

The Air conditioning control is somewhat sticky on the second to highest setting and will not work sometimes.

The windshield wipers computer had to be fixed. The wipers would only come on about 75% of the time, and to get them to come on I had to hold the switch on or drive with out them. It was actually pretty cheap to fix, it only needed a little soldering and a sealant applied to it.

I broke the inside drivers door handle.

General Comments:

I love this truck. I got the basic model, and have had no real driving problems at all.

I love this truck, the problems are all minor.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th July, 2004

20th Mar 2005, 13:33

Actually the wipers were/are a recall. Dealer will take care free.

1997 Chevrolet C1500 Cheyenne Automatic from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic Don't Know
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance106000 miles

Summary:

A great truck that will not let you down!

Faults:

I had to replace the alternator at about 87000 miles.

General Comments:

This truck has been well worth the money. The performance, power and reliability is second to none!

Besides regular maintenance I have only had one thing break (the alternator). Other than that it has been very reliable and still is.

The only little complaint I have is that it loves to drink gas. I only get about 15 to 16 mpg with my 5.0 liter V8.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd April, 2004

26th Jul 2004, 15:06

I drive a 97 Cheyenne, but It has a lot of miles on it, about 110000, I still love every moment driving it. The Cheyenne is a great truck.

1997 Chevrolet C1500 Silverado 5.0 305 vortec from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.0 305 vortec Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance122000 miles
Previous carGM 1997 trans am WS6

Summary:

Best bang for your buck

Faults:

The transmission went out at 100k miles I just had it rebuilt and put a shift kit in, and I haven't had any problems.

At 90k miles the radio lights burned out I just replaced it with a aftermarket cd player.

I listen to my music really loud and I have only had to replace the back speakers.

The power steering hose started leaking at 120k miles I went to a junk yard and pulled one off another truck and it works great.

General Comments:

This chevrolet reg cab silverado had stood up to my driving conditions very well and I do believe it will do so as long as I keep the truck.

Most people wouldn't think the truck would be fast, well I'm not gonna say it is fast it just beats a lot of imported cars that kids like to race in.

The handling I didn't like when I first got the truck, but I lowered the suspension with a 2 inch front drop and a 4 inch rear drop I recommend this to everyone, your center of gravity is lower to the ground there for better steering and I think a more comfortable ride.

I have a friend with a 5.7 liter 350ci in his truck exactly like mine and he has had problems left and right with it and I have had very few problems for a 122,000 mile truck I would recommend getting the 305 even though it has just a slight decrease in horsepower and torque.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th November, 2003

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 12 reviews