1979 Chevrolet Camaro Reviews

1979 Chevrolet Camaro Z/28 350 from North America

Model year1979
Year of manufacture1979
First year of ownership2012
Most recent year of ownership2013
Engine and transmission 350 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles

Summary:

Fun to drive

Faults:

The drive shaft was bent after I did a burnout, and the car wobbled a little bit, although it was a pretty easy fix.

Besides that, nothing has really gone wrong with the car.

Has some rust spots on the fenders.

General Comments:

Decently quick for its age.

The 4 speed manual is a lot of fun.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th June, 2013

1979 Chevrolet Camaro Z28 305ci 5.0 liter from Peru

Model year1980
Year of manufacture1979
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 305ci 5.0 liter Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Previous carHyundai Accent

Summary:

Muscle car

Faults:

Electric windows are a little bit slow.

General Comments:

For a 1.5 tons, it's a very agile car. The noise and feeling when hitting the gas can't be found on other rides. That small block sounds like heaven, and the rear traction makes a whole adventure of a small trip.

The design, the rear window integrated to the form of the car, that huge nose and flat body make this ride a head turner. The "hugger" fits perfectly. Stang's of those years are no match for this ride.

It has a decent acceleration for a car of 27 years without major rebuilds, good handling and stability on highway. However, it really needs some space to brake. Wide tires are recommended (255/60 rear at minimum).

And, it's a 2 passenger car, no matter what GM says.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th March, 2007

1979 Chevrolet Camaro z28 5.7L 350 from North America

Model year1979
Year of manufacture1978
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 5.7L 350 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired42000 miles
Most recent distance45000 miles

Summary:

Best car I have and ever will own

Faults:

Starter went out.

Alternator went out.

Master Cylinder went out.

Starter has gotten torqued to weird positions and caused grinding.

Paint and decals are chipping and peeling.

General Comments:

This car is my favorite car I have ever owned or driven.

It's looks and sound are enough to set it apart from anything else on the road.

The power the engine offers is not the most on the road, but it holds its own against many cars.

The interior is comfy, roomy, and very stylish.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th July, 2005

1979 Chevrolet Camaro Z28 5.7 from North America

Year of manufacture1979
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.7 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired92500 miles
Most recent distance97000 miles

Summary:

Great Camaro

Faults:

There has been a little rust to develop in the trunk. After I bought the car I rebuilt everything due to the fact that it sat in a field since 1987. The only thing to go since I bought the car was the waterpump, however, it was the one original piece I put back on the motor. The interior also rough, but it mostly sunrot from sitting in that field. Gas mileage is about 14mpg.

General Comments:

The Camaro is an extremely fast car. I get from 0-60 in about 5.5 seconds. It also handles very well for a near 2 ton car. The only car on the street I've lost to so far is a porche. It eats rice burners for breakfast too. If there is one thing I don't like about the car its the back seat, no room at all, but I never sit back there, so I don't worry about it. The car is very reliable. Before I rebuilt the motor it ran great. The most impressive thing about the car yet was when I got it. I found it in a field, put gas and a battery in it, turned the key, and it cranked right up. Great car, and I recommend it to any one interested in buying one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th April, 2004

29th Apr 2006, 19:03

There is no way that your car be even be close to stock if you can do 0-60 in 5.5 seconds. I owned a completely stock 1978 Z28 350 cu. inch. eng. with auto trans and that car never ran any faster than 8.1 sec. 0-60. 1980 consumer reports has the Z28 doing 0-60 in 8.5 seconds.

30th Apr 2006, 09:41

Yup, the late 1970's was the era of emissions-strangled engines. Even Ferraris barely did 0 - 60 under 7 seconds.

He is either lying or his Camaro is modified (most likely).

23rd Jul 2008, 19:00

My 80 z28 runs 12's in the 1/4 mile. No it's not stock, the motor isn't anyways... but only 110000kms on her so she's mint!

1979 Chevrolet Camaro Coupe 250 cid (4.1L) Inline 6 from North America

Year of manufacture1979
First year of ownership1979
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 250 cid (4.1L) Inline 6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance353000 miles

Summary:

Strong Vehicle

Faults:

The starter has died about 4 times during the life of the vehicle.

Air Conditioner no longer works.

Transmission was rebuilt once (around 100,000 miles)

Interior is pretty well worn (20+ years of use).

The car is rusting in several places.

General Comments:

This has been a great car for the 25 years I've owned it.

The Chevy inline motor has ran for over 350,000 miles and still runs strong.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th April, 2003

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 5 reviews