1990 Chevrolet Camaro Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1990 Chevrolet Camaro Rally Sport 305 c.i.d. V8 5.0L from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 305 c.i.d. V8 5.0L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance165000 miles

Summary:

A true testament to American engineering and ingenuity.

Faults:

The dashboard cracks easily.

My torque converter let go and took the transmission and transmission pump with it.

The trunk lid motor is somewhat unreliable and fragile. I have replaced it twice.

General Comments:

This is a very reliable and affordable powerhouse that is easily upgraded with plenty of room in the engine bay.

Fast enough to do something stupid in, but controllable enough to save it.

My car has 165,000 original miles on the odometer and yet it still runs like it just came off of the assembly line. That's after putting it through it's paces for five years.

Very few major problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th March, 2003

1990 Chevrolet Camaro IROC Z-28 5.0L Tuned Port Injection from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 5.0L Tuned Port Injection Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired123000 kilometres
Most recent distance130000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

A high performance bargain

Faults:

Hood and trunk hydraulics are shot. Can be replaced relatively inexpensively.

Automajik trunk opener is hatched.

Factory paint top-coat peeled and the car recently had to be repainted.

General Comments:

I love this car. It accelerates like a rocket and the nice, stiff suspension keeps it stuck to the road. Every thing about this car rocks...except, the really, really crappy gas mileage. I spend $35CAN a week on the thing, and I only drive it 6 days out of 7.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th November, 2002

1990 Chevrolet Camaro IROC-Z 5.7 T.P.I from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 5.7 T.P.I Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired37000 miles
Most recent distance67000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Lumina

Summary:

The poor man's Corvette

Faults:

The alternator failed to keep the battery charged due to a bad connection. We replaced it with a remanufactured unit which fixed the problem.

The front disc brakes have given me problems in the past. When I put new rotors on they always glaze over and squeal a lot.

The factory Bose CD player doesn't like to play any CD when the weather is cold out.

Transmission mounts for the 700R4 don't like to stay in one piece when you are putting the car through it's paces. I've been through four in two years.

Exhaust seems to rattle too much at idle speeds.

Driver's seat starting to tear on the left side.

General Comments:

The 350 T.P.I. has tons of power (245 hp. & 345 lb. ft.), and the automatic always finds the right gear.

Handling on the car was greatly improved by adding Falken 245/50/R16 directional tires. They make a huge difference off the line and in the corners.

You don't see many third generation Camaros around today with low mileage and good looks too.

Decent gas mileage for a V8 on the highway due to a very tall fourth gear. I can go 90 in fourth, and barely break 2500 r.p.m. with the 3:42 axle ratio. However, city driving really takes its toll on the fuel.

Overall a great car with great performance and good reliability.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st November, 2002

1990 Chevrolet Camaro IROC-Z 5.7 V-8 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 5.7 V-8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired56000 miles
Most recent distance113000 miles
Previous carCadillac DeVille

Summary:

The fastest, most beautiful car I've ever driven

Faults:

Car ran hot and as a result cooling system parts had to be replaced.

Radiator had to be replaced at 80,000 miles. Wasn't very expensive. Easy to replace myself.

Replaced water pump 2-3 times. Easy and inexpensive to do compared to any other car on the road.

Thermostat ($5) was replaced 2-3 times as well. Easy to install also.

Fixed overheating problem by installing manual fan switch to turn on the electric fans myself instead of waiting for the automatic switch to do it. Car ran at regular temp after this.

Air conditioner blower motor failed, but was very easy to remove and very inexpensive to replace ($20).

Tires were expensive ($400 minimum for all 4) to replace. This happened every 30,000 miles since the car was driven in a "spirited" manner.

Overall the car was very easy to work on. A novice mechanic's dream car.

No other problems. Car ran very very well.

General Comments:

This car was very very fast. I loved the performance. The tuned port V-8 had incredible torque (345 ft lbs). Could easily light up the tires on takeoff. Car out-ran most cars on the road. An absolute blast to drive.

Handling was remarkable for a car of its size (approximately 3400 lbs). Could easily out-corner most modern sports cars. Low stance allowed very high cornering speeds.

Brakes were also superb. Massive four wheel discs stopped the car very quickly.

The car was low and long, so the interior wasn't very spacious. I liked the cockpit positioning, though "butt on the floor" seating isn't optimal for many people. Overall it was a comfortable leather-lined luxury car, with every power option imaginable.

As an unfortunate consequence of its incredible power, the car required concentration while driving in the rain. Driving fast in the rain is dangerous as the light rear-end would tend to lose traction. Lost control a few times, but after a while I got used to controlling it and could have fun with it.

Gas mileage was horrific. Fuel economy was befitting a truck or sport utility vehicle twice it's size. 13 miles per gallon on average between city and highway driving. This was definitely the most expensive part of owning the car. I drive more than average (24,000 miles per year), but found myself filling up the tank with $25 of gas every 4-5 days.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st June, 2001

16th Jul 2001, 11:03

I think that your car is nice but needs exterior work under the hood.

16th Jul 2004, 08:36

Um, you complain of horrific gas mileage... it sounds like you have your foot into it wherever you go (spirited driving). That would result in lousy mileage. My '91 RS with the 305 gets great gas mileage, way better than my '99 F-150. My Camaro gets 20 mpg city and about 25 highway and I don't drive like some granny all the time either!

2nd Aug 2004, 06:02

You have a 305 that's why the 305 was Chevy's most fuel efficient 8 although 13 mpg is quite low for a tuned port injection that's what I get with a carb. 350. Also the gearing in the rear has a big effect on the MPG. That's awesome you have all wheel disc brakes that's rare in the F-bodies. keep her clean and don't wreck her.

1990 Chevrolet Camaro RS 5.7 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5.7 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired98000 miles
Most recent distance138000 miles
Previous carPlymouth Duster

Summary:

A cheap car that looks really good and goes just as fast!

Faults:

It has run really well with the 305 until it spun a main bearing causing me to put in a 350.

The 350 is nice, but still has the tendency to run a little hot. Approximately around 240 degrees.

The electric fan only works when air conditioner is on so I have to go all the time with the air conditioning on.

The starter is close to going out.

The pinion bearings in the rear end were replaced at about 100,000 because of howling noise in the rear differential.

General Comments:

I am almost 19 years old and this car is a great one for someone with a relativley low budget who wants a car that looks great.

The T-tops have the original weather stripping and they don't leak at all!

I was beat by a couple of foreign cars with the 305, but only beat by a Toyota Supra with the 350.

I am 5'4" and the rear seats are cramped and if going on long trips the front seats start feeling a little cramped on the left leg. Other owners might know what I am talking about.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd June, 2001

10th Dec 2009, 17:50

You're only 5.4? Wow, I'm 6.1 and feel like I have a lot of room in my 90 Camaro, but that's with the seat almost all the way back.

1990 Chevrolet Camaro RS 305 V-8 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 305 V-8 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired108000 miles
Most recent distance132000 miles

Summary:

Bad ass

Faults:

I have had no problems with my Camaro. It's my baby.

General Comments:

It has T-tops, Z-28 spoiler and ground effects. I was lucky and found a Camaro with a 5-speed. It's black with a gray interior.

She goes 0-60 in about 7.0.

Never lost to a foreign car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th April, 2001

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 11 reviews