1992 Chevrolet Camaro Reviews - Page 4 of 6

1992 Chevrolet Camaro RS 5.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance145000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Mirage

Summary:

This car was worth every penny

Faults:

Exhaust and flange gaskets were shot. Driver window wouldn't work, now passenger window won't work. Electrical problems such as fan, ect... A/C won't blow cold air. Trunk motor broken, and lights that keep dimming. Transmission just got replaced.

General Comments:

I love this car. I would not trade it for any other car in its performance range.

I know I can beat about 70% of cars on the road, from a green light.

The T-tops put a nice touch on the F-Body look.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th September, 2004

1992 Chevrolet Camaro RS Rally Sport 5.0L - TBI from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.0L - TBI Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired112000 kilometres
Most recent distance325000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

This car came with a bullet proof engine and transmission

Faults:

VATS (vehicle anti-theft system) system failed at about 300,000 km. I had to replace the ignition lock cylinder. The result of this failure - the engine would not crank.

General Comments:

Overall this has been an amazing vehicle. No major problems or failures.

I replaced the timing chain at 212,000 km just for maintenance sake. The cylinder head has never been removed from the engine, the oil pan has never been removed from the engine, the transmission has never been removed, and the rear diff has never been apart.

In 325,000 km, I have done 3 transmission services, 1 differential service and regular engine oil changes. Output is 170 HP @ 4400 RPM & 255 ft/lbs of torque @ 2400 RPM. Not bad for 325,000 km.

Has great handling on dry ground - very fun to drive. I would not recommend driving this type of vehicle in the winter. It is very hard to control.

Had problems with the paint peeling off. Other than that, it has been a great car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st August, 2004

1992 Chevrolet Camaro RS 5.0 305 TBI from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.0 305 TBI Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired92000 miles
Most recent distance122000 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

A fun car to drive

Faults:

I have replaced the following since I've had the car; alternator, battery, starter, fuel pump/filter, radiator, and the front brakes.

General Comments:

This car is very quick. It grabs the road and throws you back in your seat. The 5 speed manual transmission puts all of the power at your fingertips. I couldn't ask for a better looking or better performance vehicle. The 305 has unlimited potential.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th June, 2004

1992 Chevrolet Camaro RS 3.1 Multi Port Injection from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.1 Multi Port Injection Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

A great car for the price

Faults:

The lifters on the hood of the car went out.

General Comments:

The seats aren't really that comfortable.

Handles on a dime, it has the best steering I've ever seen in a car.

It may only have a 3.1 under the hood, but it is a quick car.

It is a very sharp looking car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd September, 2003

1992 Chevrolet Camaro RS 305 TBI from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 305 TBI Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired115000 miles
Most recent distance116000 miles
Previous carDatsun Maxima

Summary:

My metal baby

Faults:

I have only owned this car for about a month now. I have replaced the fan relay switch, and the thermostat. To help it from not overheating.

I had read about these cars having problems with the front brake lines. The man I got it from had already replaced the front braking system. So I am glad I don't have to worry about having this common problem.

General Comments:

For my 3rd car I have owned, I love it. With the new computer chip, shift kit, duel flow-masters, and a handling kit, this car gets going quickly and sticks to the road like glue.

This car easily fills my need for great handling and speed. This car is very quick for little money and good reliability. Making all my friends want one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd July, 2003

1992 Chevrolet Camaro RS from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance105000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

The best vehicle purchase I have made

Faults:

I have had a hard time with the coolant system. I finally wired the fan to a toggle switch that is turned on before the car is cranked. No other major problems in 11 years of ownership.

Just general maintenance.

General Comments:

The car is wonderful,I love to drive it. It is very dependable.

The model I have has T-tops, they are nice on warm days.

This car handles great!

The factory stereo sounds great too.

I would give up my husband, before I'd give up my car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th July, 2003

1992 Chevrolet Camaro RS, 25th Edition 5.0, 305 TBI from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.0, 305 TBI Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired160000 kilometres
Most recent distance165000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Axxess

Summary:

A dream machine

Faults:

I would like to say first, I have read many reviews about the Camaro, and I was shocked. I truly did not experience any problems with this car, but the brakes is what I had to change. The overhead gasket is leaking, but this is common on all used cars.

As well it leaks a little oil, but it is only a small gasket that needs to be replaced, costs $90.00. And that is it, for a muscle car, this is excellent.

I mean this is not your average Honda Civic, but the truth folks I truly enjoyed it, and it drives amazingly.

My fog lamps due to how low the car is, the wire keeps touching the ground, and the fog lamps don't function anymore. But who cares.

General Comments:

The car is seriously quick and satisfying.

The seats are amazing I could not believe it: a muscle car this comfortable.

It is a pain to get into it and out, due to how low it is.

You have to be careful when opening the door, again for how low it is, you don't want to scrape them.

The roar is amazing, this is one scary car to cut off.

The stick shift is the best I have ever driven, my mechanic was shocked that a camro can shift like this, I guess the previous owner did something special.

If you don't drive it harsh, this car will truly satisfy you, with little repairs, just take care of it, and it will make you happy believe me.

Mine had the TBI not the TPI engine, and gas is very good for a V8, again I did not race it, or drive it hard, I am not a young punk to do this to my baby.

People take you seriously especially when the police like lights come on, like I said before don't cut off this car, it is scary.

Parking this car is a headache the hood is so big, that you have to do down every time you park it to make sure you don't hit the fender against the blocks.

As well you must have high security on this car, even parking it during a movie you must check up on it like 3 times.

Anymore questions please e-mail me at iroc_chevy@hotmail.com.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th April, 2003

20th Jul 2004, 14:41

I wanted to comment on the "young punk" comment. I am 21 and have a 1992 camaro that was my frirst car and it still looks like it did in 1992. Not all young people thrash their cars. If anything I see more older people with thrashed cars.

17th Apr 2006, 03:21

I own a 1992 camaro (v-6) 25th addition they are great cars to keep, my car gave me trouble with overheating, but did not keep me from fixing it up. I have now put over 10'000 dollar's in keeping this bad boy running. This was my first high school car and believe me it has not let me down. I paid nine thousand dollars for it in 1994 and I believe that it is worth more than that. not to mention the interior, Boy don't you wish you had it!!! PS my next project is under the hood.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 23 reviews