2002 Chevrolet Camaro Reviews - Page 3 of 5

2002 Chevrolet Camaro Z28 5.7L V8 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.7L V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance30000 miles

Summary:

This still remains the best bang for your dollar when searching for a performance vehicle

Faults:

Had to reseal T-tops because water would leak in slowly and made annoying noise on interstate.

Tires are expensive and wear rather quickly.

Traction is very limited in bad weather conditions.

General Comments:

This car has sick acceleration.

I have raced an beaten almost every car when testing the limits on the interstate.

I in fact have not lost a race yet, beating Civics, Cobra Mustangs, BMW's, and more.

It handles quite well although you have to make sure not to accelerate too much in a curve otherwise you will spin out and lose control.

Comfortable and the sound system sounds awesome.

This car is a cheap man's muscle car dream.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd October, 2004

2002 Chevrolet Camaro Z28 5.7 LITER LS1 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.7 LITER LS1 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired77 miles
Most recent distance31000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

Bang for the buck

Faults:

Squeaky noise from belts when I left the dealer. Bought it to the dealer and they ordered a part. Had it fixed within a week.

Air conditioner this summer not working. Bought it to dealer. A/C belt missing. They replaced it. All under warranty.

General Comments:

This car is awesome. press the gas down at 60MPH and you are doing 100mph in no time!! Decent gas mileage and great even on long trips. Radio system is OK. They say it is 500 watts, but the speakers cannot handle the power. Already blew a few speakers. Other than that, the car is awesome, if you can afford the insurance. I am paying $3000 per yr on insurance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th January, 2004

31st Mar 2007, 13:13

I envy you. I wish I had an 8-cylinder sports car and one that was over 300 hp like this one that you got.

I think I'd be the best day of my life if I got one.

2002 Chevrolet Camaro Z28 5.7L from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 5.7L Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired22 miles
Most recent distance25000 miles
Previous carChevrolet C1500

Faults:

Front Brake Rotors warped at 15,000 miles.

Rear Pinion Seal had to be replace because of leaking.

General Comments:

The Interior is cheaply done.

The factory shifter is not very precise.

The Power of the LS1 Engine is outstanding.

Lots of cabin noise, but I've heard that's normal on the F-Bodies because of the design.

All in all a great bargain for the power and handling.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th September, 2003

27th Jul 2004, 11:39

My brake rotors warped at 6,000 miles. Since then I have had my rotors turned twice and replaced twice. Also my rear pinion seal leaked and the whole rear had to be replaced at 20,000 miles. Otherwise I love the car. It handles great and is comfortable.

28th Jul 2010, 08:33

Get yourself an after market shifter. They are very easy to replace. I bought the Hurst type shifter (the one with the H on the top of the shifter) from SLP and it made a major difference. There are many other brands also but I have been happy with this one and I believe it was only $100 or so.

2002 Chevrolet Camaro 35th Anniversary Z28 5.7 liter/ 350 small block from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.7 liter/ 350 small block Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired42014 miles
Most recent distance43000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

Outstanding performance for a great value

Faults:

So Far, nothing has gone wrong with the car. The only drawback I have seen so far is the extremely responsive throttle. I have to be very careful leaving from a stop or I will squeal the tires, and as we all know police don't like that kind of thing.

General Comments:

This car follows the Camaro tradition of outstanding power for a good value. The all-aluminum LS1 engine is the same engine used in the Corvette, minus a few go-fast parts and a different computer chip. Nowhere else can you get Corvette-like performance from a car as reasonably priced as a Camaro. The interior is spacious and comfortable, even on long road trips.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th July, 2003

25th Apr 2004, 17:27

Uhm, actually, this motor is the EXACT same as the one in the 2001-2002 Corvette. It has the same cam, same intake, exhaust and same computer chip. The only difference in power is the offical rating from GM. My 2001 Z28 tested 8 more HP than my friends 2000 Corvette the same day, on the same dynomometer. This car was a bang/buck STEAL!

24th Mar 2005, 22:19

To a point you are right it is the same basic motor, but GM put a VERY restrictive intake and exhaust on it. So if you open up these items with aftermarket parts it is very possible you could have more power then a Corvette.

14th Mar 2006, 23:35

I thought the Vettes came with 4 bolt main while camaros came with 2 bolt main. I have a LT1 soon to be LT4 can't seriously wait for that. It is hands down without a question that the camaros are the best bang for your dollar.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 17 reviews