1994 Chevrolet Caprice 5.7 LT1 from North America


Best car I have ever owned


Broken exhaust bolts very common with the B-bodys. The transmission was also rebuilt right before I bought the car. Other than that its been pretty reliable.

General Comments:

The power is awesome for a big car and there are so many aftermarket parts for it. It rides nice and smooth handles pretty good and is quite. If you don't like the ride just buy a suspension package for it. That's whats so great about the car you can add so much performance parts to it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd January, 2005

1994 Chevrolet Caprice Classic (9C1) 5.7L V8 ('P' motor) from North America


Great power, good handling, inexpensive maintenance, low parts cost: terrific roomy sedan


Problems when I purchased the car:

Spun bearing in differential. Replaced stock differential with Torsen unit. Awesome! $600.

Worn Center Link. $70.

Worn Idler Arm. $25.

Leaky Transmission oil cooler lines. $30.

Leaky Oil Cooler seal at oil filter. $10.

Hole in Air Conditioning condenser. $155.

Hole in Air Conditioning hose. $75.

Opti-spark unit repaired as preventative measure. $25.

Satisfactory shocks replaced with superior units. $140.

Sway bar bushings (rubber) replaced with Trans-am parts (acrylic). $20.

Upper and lower Ball Joints replaced. $60.


Problems since I purchased the car:

Left O2 sensor failed. $65.

AIR pump check-valves failed (common) $14 ea.

AIR pump failed. Typical when check-valves fail. Used $85.

Front brakes worn. Normal wear and tear.

Rear brakes worn.. normal wear and tear.

General Comments:

Handling on the 9C1 Caprices and Impalas is like night and day compared to the stock civilian models. This enormous car goes around corners flatter than most BMW's. You wouldn't believe it, but it's true!

Cabin is enormous. I have manual windows and wish I had electric windows nearly every time I use the car. It is impossible to reach the passenger side window winder from the driver's seat.

On the highway, this car's presence has a way of emptying the left lane!

I've driven a lot of x-police cars in my time, but this is THE car to own. None of the others handle or perform like it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th September, 2003

25th Apr 2006, 00:36

You say "Yuck" now, but you will be glad to have them, try getting a power window up or down when the motor or switch decides to fry, oh and lets not forget about the cost lol.

11th Jan 2010, 22:50

Hi all, I happen to love my 94, 95 LT1 equipped Caprices. I also had a 96 Impala SS, which I gave to my son when he returned from Iraq.

I have had the power window slide breaking problems, I have replaced the axle shafts because of the poorly designed gasket, not feeding the axle bearings. My 94 currently has 230k, I also use it to pull a 28 foot RV all over the USA and Canada. You're going to have maintenance on anything you use. As you can tell, I'm sold on these cars.

I also have a 2006 Impala and a 2002 Cadillac.

You can see my Caprices at zmanlt1, it's a picture site.

Thank you.

1994 Chevrolet Caprice 9C1 5.7 V8 from North America


A very fine tuned machine


Replaced oil cooler and transmission cooler when I first purchased it.

Being a retired Montana Highway Patrol cruiser the back doors would not open from the inside when purchased.

Replaced spark plugs recently.

The passenger side front speaker has problems with the bass.

The bench seat in front has some small burn holes.

There are some small cosmetic blemishes on the outside, but its expected after 5 years of service.

Having problems with electronic console, sometimes the odometer displays the wrong number or shuts off completely.

No other problems at this time.

General Comments:

I just turned 16 and this car is my first car ever.

Driving around town I get many stares and weird looks, but I love this car.

I am a Sheriff's Cadet with the department in town and I got the car after I had been on a few ride-along's with the deputies and had seen the performance of these fine cars.

The car has the usual 9C1 engine and accessories including a police spotlight.

I personally am very proud of my car and all my friends think it is cool.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th May, 2003

16th Feb 2004, 05:50

Could you post a picture? I have a 1990 Chevy Caprice (retired police cruiser) which has the older design. Nice car, still performing well despite age.

5.7L V8, 16 overhead valves.

19th May 2006, 23:43

I'm now driving a near-mint 1993 Caprice Classic. It can't match the 9C1 or true SS models, but I'm having a real blast hauling this thing around town. After 13 years, it has 55,000 miles and it feels new. It could use the LT1 and flatter cornering, but it's too much fun to tamper with just now. I've actually parked the BMW for a bit!

28th Oct 2009, 13:15

I have had my 1994 9c1 for about 5 years now. Bought it for 300 bucks. It needed a new fuel pump and sending unit, which I have already replaced and it is now awaiting a trans mission. If anyone has one let me know. It strictly has to be a 4l60e 1994. A 95 or 96 will not work. Email me at dark10290@hotmail.com