1990 Chevrolet Celebrity Reviews

1990 Chevrolet Celebrity Wagon 3.1 from North America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance187000 miles
Previous carFord Crown Victoria

Summary:

An American car with Japanese reliability

Faults:

Water pump, serpentine belt, belt tensioner all blew at 150k miles. Easy DIY project, cheap fix.

Replaced three coil packs since acquiring car.

Broken engine-mount 140k miles.

Driver door handle/power locks completely failed at 180000 miles.

Various electrical problems... e.g. power windows.

General Comments:

Awesome. I had this car for years and it obviously incurred some mechanical breakdown, but nothing major. I had the 3.1 liter Eurosport and the acceleration and handling were exceptional for a car of this age. It was hard to believe this was a six cylinder engine given the amount of cargo I've hauled at one time. This car has been sold to a friend and it still starts without hesitation and serves well as a cargo/business vehicle. Cabin leaves a bit to be desired, but really... what can you expect for a car that's 16 years old? Awesome value, fantastic performance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th August, 2006

1990 Chevrolet Celebrity Wagon 3.1 V6 Multiport Fuel Injected from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.1 V6 Multiport Fuel Injected Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired88000 miles
Most recent distance124000 miles
Previous carFord Econoline

Summary:

Best car I have ever owned

Faults:

The alternator twice.

Dent in the front.

General Comments:

This car has been like a savior for my family time and time again. The engine runs great never had a problem with it. It will go from zero to sixty in like 7.5 seconds if it's has a tune up. Lots of cargo room in it have moved people furniture and various items. I will hate to see it go, but for now its running really great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th September, 2005

12th Apr 2007, 17:55

Yes, I'll give you that it is a very fast motor, but anything with multi-port will be fast.

I have one & it is already having major problems at 116,000 miles. I can't wait to get rid of it & go back to dependable Japanese. I'd rather depend on a Toyota at 200,000 miles than to depend on my Celebrity. I won't ever buy another Chevy after this headache.

11th Nov 2007, 10:58

Yeah too bad most Celebrities hit 200,000 before they die if people actually take proper care of them. I've had 2 in my lifetime already go over 200K so you sir are in the bad minority here with your Japanese likes.

12th Feb 2010, 01:14

I have a Chevy Celebrity Eurosport, 1990, was robin egg blue. Found this old girl behind a garage. It was being parted out, but I liked it enough because the car was loaded with all the electrics. A/C still works, 3.1 engine, 4 speed auto.

I have re-chipped the computer (car will do 182 K, flat out) installed a digital dash to get rid of the standard gauges. Fancy stereo, LCD for the kids, and installed a set of fancy rims on this old girl, as well a paint job.

The kids love the fold out back seat.

Great car! know I will get many more than the 270000k on this car.

21st Feb 2011, 21:10

I have a 1990 Celebrity Wagon with a 3.1 V.

It is a great car, but it's ugly. Strangely it's really fast for a wagon. I've had people ask me if I had put a V8 in it.

1990 Chevrolet Celebrity from North America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired233000 kilometres
Most recent distance614582 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Celebrity

Summary:

Very good car

Faults:

I've changed the radiator at 289,00km.

Three times I changed the alternator, but it was only 100$ each time.

The first drive axle has broken at 400,000km and the second at 489,000km.

Each year I changed my front disk break cause they jumps.

I've changed the cam sensor at 389,00km.

I've changed the muffler and pipe three times.

The transmission problem start at 614,000km.

Because I never used the car since 6 month,I need a new head casket.

General Comments:

It's a station wagon, 8 passengers car.

The engine has strong enough to pull a trailer and have a good acceleration on the road. It's a liabylity car.

The parts are easy to find and at a less price then lot off car.

No rust on the body. I'll repaired and keep the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th October, 2004

26th Oct 2004, 18:22

600,000 kms and still running! That's pretty damn good. What's your secret?

28th Dec 2007, 21:27

Its the greatest car ever I have ownd three I love them.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 6 reviews