1990 Chevrolet Celebrity Wagon 3.1 from North America

Summary:

An American car with Japanese reliability

Faults:

Water pump, serpentine belt, belt tensioner all blew at 150k miles. Easy DIY project, cheap fix.

Replaced three coil packs since acquiring car.

Broken engine-mount 140k miles.

Driver door handle/power locks completely failed at 180000 miles.

Various electrical problems... e.g. power windows.

General Comments:

Awesome. I had this car for years and it obviously incurred some mechanical breakdown, but nothing major. I had the 3.1 liter Eurosport and the acceleration and handling were exceptional for a car of this age. It was hard to believe this was a six cylinder engine given the amount of cargo I've hauled at one time. This car has been sold to a friend and it still starts without hesitation and serves well as a cargo/business vehicle. Cabin leaves a bit to be desired, but really... what can you expect for a car that's 16 years old? Awesome value, fantastic performance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th August, 2006

1990 Chevrolet Celebrity Wagon 3.1 V6 Multiport Fuel Injected from North America

Summary:

Best car I have ever owned

Faults:

The alternator twice.

Dent in the front.

General Comments:

This car has been like a savior for my family time and time again. The engine runs great never had a problem with it. It will go from zero to sixty in like 7.5 seconds if it's has a tune up. Lots of cargo room in it have moved people furniture and various items. I will hate to see it go, but for now its running really great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th September, 2005

12th Apr 2007, 17:55

Yes, I'll give you that it is a very fast motor, but anything with multi-port will be fast.

I have one & it is already having major problems at 116,000 miles. I can't wait to get rid of it & go back to dependable Japanese. I'd rather depend on a Toyota at 200,000 miles than to depend on my Celebrity. I won't ever buy another Chevy after this headache.

11th Nov 2007, 10:58

Yeah too bad most Celebrities hit 200,000 before they die if people actually take proper care of them. I've had 2 in my lifetime already go over 200K so you sir are in the bad minority here with your Japanese likes.

12th Feb 2010, 01:14

I have a Chevy Celebrity Eurosport, 1990, was robin egg blue. Found this old girl behind a garage. It was being parted out, but I liked it enough because the car was loaded with all the electrics. A/C still works, 3.1 engine, 4 speed auto.

I have re-chipped the computer (car will do 182 K, flat out) installed a digital dash to get rid of the standard gauges. Fancy stereo, LCD for the kids, and installed a set of fancy rims on this old girl, as well a paint job.

The kids love the fold out back seat.

Great car! know I will get many more than the 270000k on this car.

21st Feb 2011, 21:10

I have a 1990 Celebrity Wagon with a 3.1 V.

It is a great car, but it's ugly. Strangely it's really fast for a wagon. I've had people ask me if I had put a V8 in it.

1990 Chevrolet Celebrity from North America

Summary:

Very good car

Faults:

I've changed the radiator at 289,00km.

Three times I changed the alternator, but it was only 100$ each time.

The first drive axle has broken at 400,000km and the second at 489,000km.

Each year I changed my front disk break cause they jumps.

I've changed the cam sensor at 389,00km.

I've changed the muffler and pipe three times.

The transmission problem start at 614,000km.

Because I never used the car since 6 month,I need a new head casket.

General Comments:

It's a station wagon, 8 passengers car.

The engine has strong enough to pull a trailer and have a good acceleration on the road. It's a liabylity car.

The parts are easy to find and at a less price then lot off car.

No rust on the body. I'll repaired and keep the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th October, 2004

26th Oct 2004, 18:22

600,000 kms and still running! That's pretty damn good. What's your secret?

28th Dec 2007, 21:27

Its the greatest car ever I have ownd three I love them.