1971 Chevrolet Chevelle Reviews

1971 Chevrolet Chevelle Malibu 402 from North America

Year of manufacture1971
First year of ownership1983
Most recent year of ownership1987
Engine and transmission 402 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 miles
Most recent distance160000 miles
Previous carFord Pinto

Summary:

The fastest car I have ever driven!

Faults:

Original engine (307) and transmission (turbo 350) were worn-out when I got it. The car smoked badly. Front end was worn out.

New engine (402) had a problem eating cams.

General Comments:

I installed a rebuilt 402 (BIG BLOCK. OH YEAH!!!) and turbo 375 about two weeks after I got it. Eventually did a disc brake conversion, rebuilt the front end, replaced the interior, and gave it a custom paint job. What a head turner!

This was the fastest car I have car I have ever driven. One night on a 1.5 mile stretch of hi way, I had the speedometer wrapped all the back to 0, and it was still increasing speed! Probably due to the original 3.07 gears, but the car would still turn mid 13's (gob's of torque!)

Wish I still had it. What a chick magnet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th December, 2003

29th Feb 2004, 23:28

Yeah, my 69 with the 402 BB also ate the cam. you are very lucky the snapped cam didn't punch a hole in the block when it broke like mine did. I am now building a 66 396 bored 40 over, so a 404. I want her to have about 500 at the flywheel when I'm done, so she is gonna be very very fast. but yeah, they are real chick magnets.

22nd Oct 2005, 19:04

I would like to just say that I also have a 1971 Chevelle, but it has a 454 in it and I love it.

28th Sep 2006, 13:28

I've got a 1971 Chevelle. It's a 4 door. It came with a 307ci and a turbo 350 transmission. I put a built 350ci and a 700r4 transmission, with 373 posi rear end. I love the performance of this car. Honestly, I have a 2 door also. But I like the 4 door better. I've got kids and this works a lot better with them. This 350 makes 500hp at the crank, so it's very stout. It's the best car I've ever owned. Just a joy to drive.

12th Oct 2006, 14:46

Man, this is amazing! I've got a 1971 Chevelle 4 door. It had a 307 with a 350 transmission. I also pulled those and put in a built 350 with 500HP and a 700r4 transmission. I also have a 2 door and I also like the 4 door much better. You can see mine at cardomain. Type in (1971 Chevelle 4 door) on Google. Both are there.

1971 Chevrolet Chevelle 2 dr. sport coupe 350 c.i. from North America

Year of manufacture1971
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 350 c.i. Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Most recent distance40900 miles

Summary:

Old Chevy's never die... they just go faster!

Faults:

The usual. This car is a classic darling that has had 4 owners before me. It has had its share of beatings.

One of the previous owners used to race it at the 1/4 mile track. I'm still putting it back together.

Gas hog - no duh! Anything with high performance will be. We just have to grin and bare it!

General Comments:

I bought this car from a local young couple about 4 years ago and the restoration has been fun. The car has the original 350 V-8 and it is a lot of fun to drive. I put 2 1/4" dual flow-master mufflers on it and I am trying to stay stock, so there are no headers.

This is a really fun classic car to own. I take it to car shows and cruises and I have many trophies and plaques decorating my home.

I see many more fun years with this car! They sure don't build them like this anymore. Too bad!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th January, 2003

1971 Chevrolet Chevelle SS 400 from North America

Year of manufacture1971
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 400 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 kilometres
Most recent distance60000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet blazer

Faults:

Really nothing out of the ordinary. I am very please with how well it held up.

General Comments:

This car is dangerously fast, beat every single Mustang out on the roadways.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th April, 2001

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 3 reviews