1985 Chevrolet Chevette Reviews

1985 Chevrolet Chevette CS 1.6L gas from North America

Model year1985
Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership1994
Engine and transmission 1.6L gas Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired29000 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Caprice

Summary:

Mine must have been a major dud..

Faults:

Steering rack failed at 51000 miles.

Brakes failed at 53000 miles.

Fuel pump failed at 54000 miles.

Starter motor failed at 55000 miles.

Ignition switch failed at 57000 miles.

Catalytic converter troubles at 58000 miles.

Final straw, failed fuel pump again at 60000 miles.

Numerous rattles and squeaks throughout entire period of ownership.

General Comments:

This car was a dream until it hit 50000 miles, then it was like it possessed by an evil automotive gremlin. A lot of stuff failed in a short amount of time. I got rid of it because it had drained me, and my bank account.

At it's best, it was cheap, easy on gas, and reasonably comfortable in front. The power steering was too light, but it was quick and handled well.

Acceleration with the automatic was agonizingly slow at best, dangerous at worst (read A/C on). Braking was okay, and I had never had any issue keeping it under control in emergency maneuvers.

The ride was choppy, but no worse than a lot of other econoboxes (better than a Colt or a Sprint). Noisy interior, made even noisier by the myriad of rattles, vibrations, and squeaks coming from the doors, glove box, rear hatch... pretty much everywhere.

The rear seat was miserable. Leg room was okay for a subcompact, but the bolt upright seat and lack of headroom made it very uncomfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th January, 2010

29th Jan 2010, 08:06

I'd say if you got 60K out of a Chevette, it was one of the better ones. These cars were well known for their lack of quality and short life...

9th Sep 2010, 13:05

Just ran across this forum. I am the proud owner of a 1985 2 door Chevette CS 4 cyl gas with the 5 speed transmission. Bought it new in 85 for $6300 and some change --- straight out.

Drove the car back and forth to work for 10 years with no major problems with the exception of normal repair of tires, filters and etc. The only complaint I ever had was for some reason in very cold weather the Chevette would start slowing down from 60 mph to a crawl. After pulling over to allow it to idle for a few minutes, it would hit the road like a rocket for another 30 miles or so and then repeat the slowing down process. Two separate dealers tried to resolve the issue with no luck.

Parked in 1995 after it simply stopped running. Towed it home and still have it with the dream of restoring it one day. 10 years, 264,000+ miles, 30+ mpg, original engine, transmission, clutch, and running gear!

Oldest son rolled it over in a field one night, pushed out the top, installed a new windshield, back on the road 3 days later.

Amazing car GM should have never stopped building! Would buy a new one today if it were made!

25th Dec 2011, 11:52

"Mine must have been a major dud.."

No... yours was the norm based on the Chevette ownership experiences I observed.

It seems these people who remember these cars as being "the best car ever" are remembering the past with rose tinted glasses. They aren't actually remembering the car, they are really just remembering the happy times from when they were younger and less domesticated.

Chevettes were outdated (to say the least) when they were new... and totally garbage compared to the Civics, Corollas and Sentras of the 1980s.

1985 Chevrolet Chevette CS 1.6L from North America

Model year1985
Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.6L Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired56000 miles
Most recent distance68000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Chevette

Summary:

Unusual

Faults:

Most of the work that has been done has been routine maintenance, such as tune ups, tire replacement, and oil changes.

The floor boards on these cars are very susceptible to rusting out of the floors, so be very wary of that.

Every other item I have replaced has mostly been for race performance. I put in performance plugs and wires, high performance ignition module, 180 degree thermostat, racing rims, air shocks on the back, new master cylinder (the old one did wear out), performance rotors, pad, and calipers, performance clutch, Pioneer CD player with 300 watt speakers, replaced the rusted out floor, lower radiator hose, rebuilt the alternator, replaced the serpentine belt, and of course serviced the transmission and differential.

The original paint job wore out as well, so I ended up repainting the car.

General Comments:

I bought this car 7 years ago for 500 dollars, and although it is ugly to look at it, is one of the most fun cars I have ever had the pleasure to drive.

With its 13 inch rims, this car handles well on corners and other obstacles, without the added need for power steering.

The motor is tough and dependable, so you can easily do things to beef up the horse power without modding the original motor too much.

Don't expect super car performance out of this 98 cubic inch motor, but I would have to say that with the right parts and skills you can definitely get your bang outta your buck on this car. I have a few more modifications to go on my car, like a supercharger and a functional hood scoop. The other part I need to replace is the rear spring due to an accident I had.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th March, 2008

1985 Chevrolet Chevette cs 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired160000 kilometres
Most recent distance220000 kilometres

Summary:

A true automobile classic

Faults:

Timing Belt snapped.

Gas Tank sprung a leak.

Passenger seat belt siezed.

Wheel cylinders blew (doing smoke show)

General Comments:

The best $1200 anyone could spend.

Great daily driver.

Quite of bit of pep for such a small car, went 3-1 in races. Including defeating a Pontiac 6000.

Replaced just about everything in it, but never had to do any engine work.

-40'C started everytime

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st May, 2004

1985 Chevrolet Chevette CS 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired194000 miles
Most recent distance212000 miles

Summary:

The little car that could!

Faults:

Starter.

Timing belt.

Floor boards rusted completely out.

General Comments:

I never thought that I would love this ugly little car so much! This is the best car I have ever owned! Extremely reliable! Hated to get rid of it. Got this car for fifty dollars, the best fifty bucks I ever spent.

Never changed the oil or did a tune-up on it, and still the motor ran excellent. You can't kill this car. It's only fault is that it rusted so badly. The entire floor of the car rusted out comepletely and the rear end rusted and broke, too.

If taken care of, this little car will surprise you. You can't judge a book by its cover. Hats off to Chevrolet for this one!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd September, 2001

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 4 reviews