1988 Chevrolet Corsica Reviews - Page 2 of 4

1988 Chevrolet Corsica 2.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.7 / 10
Most recent distance169000 miles

Summary:

A good little car

Faults:

Left flasher takes a couple of seconds to work.

The oil leaks.

Power locks on driver's side unlocks, but does not lock.

Rear bumper protrudes.

Has stalled twice from transmission blockage.

General Comments:

This is an excellent car.

The interior has help up perfectly from several large dogs and a young child.

It can take long distances and has no problem speeding up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st October, 2004

1988 Chevrolet Corsica 4 cylinder 2.0 liter from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder 2.0 liter Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10

Summary:

Fairly reliable, but not the best

Faults:

The day after I started driving it the car ran out of gas because the gas guage was broken and half a tank now means empty.

The car stalled often.

Shortly after that the starter died.

Shortly after getting a new starter the alternator died.

After the new starter and alternator the car has been running fairly.

Sometimes in the morning the car will stall, but I believe it is from starting the engine while it is cold because it doesn't stall at any other time then the morning.

General Comments:

I've only had the car for about 2 months and before I got it, it was just sitting somewhere so I can understand having to replace the alternator and starter. Other than that the car runs fine mostly. If the car had been properly taken care of I believe it would run better, but for a 15 year old car that is almost as old as me and hasn't been taken well care of I think it runs OK.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th October, 2003

13th Dec 2003, 17:38

I had some of the exact same problems. It seemed like every time I would get one thing fixed, something else went wrong. It wasn't a horrible car, but it sure needed a lot of work and often. Almost made me lose faith in Chevrolet.

1988 Chevrolet Corsica 2.8 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.8 V6 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance217500 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Mirage

Summary:

A reliable car with great gas mileage

Faults:

One alternator.

General Comments:

This car has taken one hell of a beating. It went in the ditch and came out within 2 minutes. I have put on a lot of miles. I bought this car for $500 from a junkyard about 6.5 years ago. I am trying to sell it for $300 because it has no heat.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st October, 2003

1988 Chevrolet Corsica 2.0 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired53000 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles

Summary:

A good first car

Faults:

The ignition module failed at 70,00 miles.

The recline on the drivers seat broke.

The car failed its final emissions inspection.

A stuck caliper once caused a major brake job on it.

The air conditioner stopped working almost as soon as I bought the car.

General Comments:

The car's handling left a little to be desired.

The factory stereo sounded fabulous!

The upholstery was in great shape!

This car served me well for the time I had it. Alas, I have fond memories of it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd May, 2003

1988 Chevrolet Corsica from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired98000 miles
Most recent distance103000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Delta 88

Summary:

Buying a go-cart is a better bargain

Faults:

Buying the car used was a bad decision.

My fuel pump worn out at 98000 miles.

My gas cover rusted out at 98000 miles.

The entire bottom of the car was

"completely" rusted out by 100000 miles.

My air conditioner and cooling system died at 100500 miles.

My brake line started to fail at 102000 miles.

By the time I reached 103000 miles, my doors, floors, inside the trunk, and the rear bumper was rusted out.

General Comments:

Although I bought this car as a winter beater, I rather take my chances with the bus.

This car has very uncomfortable seats with a poor design of the dashboard that did not even have a cassette player in it.

The only good thing about this car is that I didn't lose a great deal of money I invested in it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th December, 2002

3rd Jun 2004, 23:51

I have a 1988 Chevy Corsica and I am happy with it has the original engine and I have 308,000 miles on it right now and it is still running strong, I have a little rust on the drivers side door that's it. other than oil changes and routine maintence the car is a good car. I am going to keep running it till it falls to the ground.

16th Feb 2005, 22:15

You know, the car is only as good as the person driving it. If you don't wash it occasionally, even in winter just to get the salt and road dirt off, of course it will rust out! It's common sense. Take care of your damn car!

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 14 reviews