1992 Chevrolet Corsica LT 3.1 Multi Port Fuel Injection from North America


I hate this car so much it pains me


Tire rims were rusted from sitting for to long.

The ignition module went.

The crankshaft position sensor cracked twice.

The steering gear is breaking away from the firewall due to rot.

The heater blower is barely blowing out any air.

Two of the rear defroster wires are broke.

The cloth seats are worn, looks like some fat guy crushed the foam.

General Comments:

The radio is half decent.

The only thing that I can say that I like about this car is that it is very responsive, almost touch and go.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th March, 2003

24th Mar 2004, 09:10

Sounds like the majority of your problems were not the car's fault, but the result of abuse and neglect.

1992 Chevrolet Corsica LT 2.2L 4 cylinder from North America


Great $100 car for anyone


Can't get in passenger door or out driver's door.

Head gasket blew long time ago.

All dash lights dead.

Hood rotten up to the hinges, driver fender rotten to hood, hole in roof.

Brakes bad in front.

Windshield washer fluid pump died.

General Comments:

Oh this thing is slick. Besides its flaws, you can find another one for the same price and build an excellent ride from the pair.

Performance is horrible, but it more than makes for for that in once you're moving. E-brake it to help corner. Don't be scared, drive it like you stole it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th February, 2003

1992 Chevrolet Corsica LT 3.1L Multi Port FI from North America


Overall, this is a reliable car that's great for a first time driver


Lots of little things seem to plague my car. I replaced my starter, and alternator a little less than a year apart. Have had to get new tires (someone slashed them). Have had an alignment. Replaced the front discs and hoses, as well as fix the e-brake. Now need to fix rear drums as it makes huge clunking noises and won't stop correctly. Needs new rear shocks, as well as a new RF axle. The paint is absolutely the worst I've ever seen. All along the crease in the doors the paint has come right off, as well as above the doors. I also have a pretty bad leak when it rains really heavily, or snows a lot.

General Comments:

For all the little nagging problems with the car, plus the things that don't come with it (trunk release, tape/cd deck, cruise), it's a surprisingly strong, and quick car that is reliable, and fun and easy to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th February, 2003

1992 Chevrolet Corsica from North America


Relatively good and trouble-free car for the first 100,000 km, but after that - watch out!


Emissions control unit had to be replaced in order to pass local air care standards - Cdn$600.

Car has overheated for a long time - Chevy dealer checked and said that all components were functioning properly, but fan cuts out when engine overheats (always)

Car stalled and would not restart. Cost C$480 to get starting properly.

After 30-40 minutes, (heating gauge hovers at just below the red zone, at 3/4 hot). Car shudders like it's going over a washboard road or railroad tracks, Any slowing to a stop will stall it; it will start okay, but stalls immediately when slipping into any gear. Requires 5 minutes of rest to cool off and allow it to go forward or reverse.

It does seem to be falling apart.

General Comments:

Up until recently, it was a trouble-free car, running smoothly, having plenty of get-up and go and requiring minimal repairs. However, since last fall, it's caused real anxiety - starting with a leak in the centre of the block that was hard to find and stop.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th January, 2003

10th Nov 2004, 08:04

I have a 1992 Chevy Corsica and it does the same thing to me. I check my fluids and I check the engine colant and it was very low. I filled up the engine colant compartment and it does not act up as much. So you might want to check the collants and fluids. Make sure there is no air in the fluid lines.

16th Jan 2007, 05:54

Tranny prob: disconnect the TCC. it will kill fuel econ.

15th Jan 2009, 01:46

I have a 1992 Chevy Corsica. Whenever I stop at red lights or stop signs, the car jerks back and forth as if it's about to cut off.