Chevrolet Corvair Reviews

1965 Chevrolet Corvair Monza Convertible 164 from North America

Model year1965
Year of manufacture1964
First year of ownership1983
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 164 Automatic
Distance when acquired83000 miles
Most recent distance112000 miles

Summary:

Most under rated car ever!

Faults:

In spite of being very old, it has never let me down.

Have done the things you should do to an old car. New bushing and shocks, some oil seals. Rebuilt the brakes.

General Comments:

This car has awesome styling.

This car handles like a real sports car. Compared to my modern car, an '04 Matrix, it out handles, out stops and rides smoother and better the Matrix!

Steering feel is fantastic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th February, 2010

1963 Chevrolet Corvair Monza 900 110 hp gasoline from North America

Model year1963
Year of manufacture1963
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 110 hp gasoline Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired63000 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Corvette

Summary:

Great fun little car

Faults:

Since full restoration was complete, nothing has gone wrong.

General Comments:

I bought the car at a automobile swap meet as a non-running abandoned project for $2,900.00.

I replaced all the interior, the convertible top, the boot that covers the top when down.

Stripped all paint off and repainted entire outside of car.

Stripped all paint off interior and repainted.

All new chrome door, and window handles.

All new chrome bumpers.

All new windshield and window glass.

The engine, tranny, and differential were good, just needed minor attention.

The car was white outside with white top and dull red interior.

Now it is Tuxedo Black with Porsche bright red and black interior.

The first car show we went to, it won first place in class.

Everyone stops to tell me a story about someone they knew that had a Corvair.

Time frame from pulling the car home, to driving it completed was 1 year. Restoration cost $12,000.00.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd May, 2009

1963 Chevrolet Corvair Monza 900 Convertible 6 cylinder air cooled 110 Hp from North America

Model year1963
Year of manufacture1962
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder air cooled 110 Hp Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired74000 miles
Most recent distance78000 miles
Previous carFord Excursion

Summary:

I love this car!!

Faults:

It leaks oil like most do. Easy to find gaskets on-line to fix.

Starter sounds like it is going out (found one for $40.00).

I have replaced all damaged or missing chrome. Door sills were a huge challenge to find. Ended up fabricated them from old door sills off a 65 Corvair.

Turn signal unit needs to be replaced.

Fuel gauge reads completely full all the time.

Emergency brake cable needs to be replaced.

Extensive rust along the rocker panels and required a fair amount of body work to repair.

General Comments:

Bought the car as a father and son project. Has since turned into a weekend cruiser for the wife and me.

Handles wonderfully on the open road. Decent power considering that the car is built like a small tank. Changed it to a 4 speed from the original 3 speed transmission.

Car is the talk of the neighborhood. I can't drive anywhere without someone coming up and wanting to ask me about the Corvair.

A true American classic, wish they still made them. Restoration has been very inexpensive so far, plenty of parts available.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th December, 2008

1966 Chevrolet Corvair corsa 164 cu.in. 180 h.p. turbo from North America

Model year1966
Year of manufacture1966
First year of ownership1978
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 164 cu.in. 180 h.p. turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired94000 miles
Most recent distance175000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Corvair

Summary:

This car is a masterpiece!

Faults:

The valves were burned when I bought it. They were replaced with new ones made from solid billets of inconel-very expensive. Other than routine maintenance which this car demands a lot of, no other repairs have been necessary.

General Comments:

This car is an extremely rare turbocharged Fitch Sprint convertible that has all the high performance goodies. After forty one years this little car can still show a lot of very expensive new machinery the fast way home. Older Porsches of the 911 variety are its favorite meal. This car is, in my opinion, as close as GM ever came to building a Maserati. The one time GM got it right and they dropped the ball! Mine is red with black top and interior. The body style oozes raw sex appeal like no new car can.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd February, 2007

1965 Chevrolet Corvair from North America

Model year1965
Year of manufacture1965
First year of ownership1969
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carPlymouth Valiant

Summary:

A bargain, used; I still own two of them

Faults:

Bent push-rods on the first one I owned.

I broke the tranny on the third one I owned.

General Comments:

I've owned three '65 Corvairs, two 90 horse automatic Monza models, and a quad-carb 140 hp Corsa. I've driven all of them, a lot.

The two 90 horse automatics were like electric cars, amazingly smooth, effortless, and reliable even in constant city driving. Their fully-independent rear suspensions gave excellent ride and control over even the worst of rough roads. The first one I bought had bent push-rods on one bank, I have no idea why. I replaced them myself, and never had this problem again, on any of these cars.

The 140-horse Corsa had a 4-speed manual transmission. I replaced the tires with FR -series sizes on the front and GR-series sizes on the rear, mounted on 5" and 6" wide 14" Chevy wheels, which bolted right on, then installed HD shocks all around. The handling became amazing. Porsche switched to the late Corvair rear suspension in 1991, in case you still have any doubts. I didn't.

Greedy fool that I am, I pulled off the four carbs and installed an aftermarket cross-ram maifold and an WCFB Carter 4-bbl; it kicked the torque peak up to around 4000 RPM, and the torque went WAY up. In second gear, it could out-accellerate our 1969 GTO 4-speed in second gear. My four sons, teen-agers then, and I subjected this lovely little hot rod to what probably constituted new dimensions of abuse for several years; one of them told me, years later, that he'd had it up above 130 mph indicated, and I don't doubt it at all. The tranny finally broke under the strain. For those who'd like to repeat this experiment, the '66 and up 4-speeds used the internals of the Corvette 4-speed, and they bolt right in. For that matter, the '66 140-horse 4-speed Corsas wouldn't have that problem.

I rebuilt this engine myself, and was amazed at its quality. Every Corvair boasts forged-steel connecting rods and crank, and a gear-driven cam; They're extremely reliable, and keep sharp tune as a consequence.

Best handling cars I've owned, very reliable, and excellent both in small and large design matters. Superb panel fit and paint. After 50 years (!) the doors still fit perfectly and body rust is minimal. The full instrumentation on the 140-horse Corsa was among the best I've ever seen, nearly as good as our '62 Studebaker Hawk, which is the best I've seen in 30 years working as a mechanic and automotive journalist.

The high performance versions were genuinely fast.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th August, 2005

16th Aug 2005, 07:19

I like Corvairs, too (formerly owned a 69 convertible and a 69 Monza 140 hp, among others) and belonged to CORSA... but I have to question your rating reliability as 10/10?

According to your review, you have only driven the car 45,000 miles in 36 years of ownership which is average of 1250 miles a year, so the car has spent the majority of its life sitting idle, probably in a garage? Even a Yugo would likely be reliable with such little use...

1963 Chevrolet Corvair Monza 164 cu. aircooled six from North America

Model year1963
Year of manufacture1963
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 164 cu. aircooled six Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired87035 miles
Most recent distance122077 miles
Previous carChevrolet Monza

Summary:

Worth checking out if you want an uncommon collectable car

Faults:

Like most Corvair cars, this leaked oil, but after being repaired this has not been a problem.

The gas tank sending unit went bad, and that was not an easy or cheap fix.

General Comments:

This car was way ahead of it's time, too bad they stopped making this car in 1969, it would be very interesting to see how this car would have evolved.

I love the way this car handles, the power is not the best, but will get the car up to 80 mph and beyond with little trouble.

I am impressed that a car this cheap when new, would be built so well.

Overall, this is a very neat and uncommon car, that is very affordable to get into. Parts are very easy to find, and the people in the Corvair clubs are very nice, and very helpful.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th October, 2004

3rd Nov 2004, 22:03

I also own a Corvair. Two early models. It is good to see that someone has rated this car in a positive way.

11th Apr 2005, 13:23

I love my 62 honduras maroon monza. Bought it new when I was still in High School. No problems except to correct the oil leak some 20 years ago, but just a lot of fun driving for over 40 years. With just 62,000 original miles I'll drive it another 40!

Average review marks: 8.4 / 10, based on 6 reviews