2005 Chevrolet Corvette 2 door coupe 8 cylinder from North America


Love it


Computer screwed up and front right brake caliper locked up while driving!Any car can break down, sure, but my complaint is with GM ROADSIDE ASSISTANCE! It is a joke. I broke down at 3pm on 11/6/07. I called their 800 # and was on hold for 48 minutes! Finally, impeding traffic, frustrated and pissed off, I called AAA. They answered immediately and had a truck on site in 13 minutes! Since then I've talked to numerous other GM owners and every one has had the same experience with GM Roadside Assistance. They have 3 operators handling the entire U.S.? All I can say about them is you get what you pay for. Free Roadside Assistance is WORTHLESS!

General Comments:

Awesome car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th November, 2007

2005 Chevrolet Corvette 1SB Z51 MN6 V8 from North America


GM customer service wrecked this car experience for me


Clutch & entire hydraulic system failed @ 120 miles, took 3 weeks to get parts & replace -- UNACCEPTABLE -- and GM screwed up my paint & interior with grease when it was in the shop.

Rear diff leak x 3

Bad coupe targa top seals

AC went out, had to be replaced

Navigation locked up & fried, had to be replaced

Driver's seat wear within 3,000 miles.

General Comments:

Fun to drive, but a real pain to keep on the road

GM Customer Service is nonexistent -- "MR GOODWRENCH" is a joke. This is my 3rd & last GM, my 2nd & last Corvette. What a shame -- one of the nicest looking & best bang-for-the-buck cars on the road, and the dealer support is horrendous. I went round & round with GM to get simple warranty repairs done. These cars also depreciate like rocks. NEVER AGAIN!!! My next car is going to be a Lotus Elise.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th August, 2007

15th Oct 2007, 20:00

Stick to imports. Domestic cars suck and lose a lot of value.

I have a 95 Camaro Z28 LT1 and that thing only has 70K miles on it. So far, I re-placed both sides power window motors. ABS light comes on and stays on. Lifters are ticking and it rattles a lot. This is my first ever American made car and LAST, and I swear I would never buy another american made car again.

Corvettes are very nice cars, but they will lose $20,000 to $23,000 in couple of months. GM, Ford and other american car companies lack the technology that Japan and European have. American's are still stuck in the 70's. It took GM very long time to replace their 3.5L engine.

2005 Chevrolet Corvette Z-51 Convertible 6.0 LS2 from North America


An amazing car


The only problem I've had has been a manual transmission leak. It was very tiny although disappointing. The dealer fixed it in one day and was very professional.

Since it's an early Z-51 the brakes squealed, but they were replaced under warranty and no longer squeal.

General Comments:

This car is amazing. For the money you won't find anything like it. Everyone who sees it loves it and it never stops putting grins on my face.

Yes, there are some minor issues. I agree the polished aluminum wheels have some pits, but you don't even see them from 1 foot away. The rims look amazing on the car.

I don't regret dropping 65K on my loaded Convertible. If you're interested then test drive one and you most likely won't regret it. I've spoken too many Porche owners that went to the Corvette and none of them regret it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th January, 2006

2005 Chevrolet Corvette Z51 6.0L V8 from North America


Want attention? Buy this car


Air Conditioning.


CD changer skips badly.

General Comments:

Car is very fast, with easy to use shifter and serious brakes. The car corners flat and the steering gives you a reasonable amount of feedback. The sound system is surprisingly good for a factory unit, but the CD player skips -- a lot. The interior is too plasticky, and I especially don't like the "fake aluminum" plastic that they used on the console. The leather seats are OK, but not very supportive, and they feel flimsy. My car is bright red and gets lots of attention, especially with the polished aluminum wheels. It's a conversation-starter wherever I go. The biggest downside -- depreciation is terrible.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th November, 2005

29th Nov 2005, 19:46

Thanks for making me feel better about not being able to afford a new 'Vette. Your review makes it sound like something not very desirable anyway. You would think that for what a new one costs they could have used real aluminum trim instead of the plastic stuff. Hell, they could just recycle the soda cans from the GM employee's lounge--wouldn't cost nothin'.

2005 Chevrolet Corvette Coupe 6.0 from North America


This is the car I've always wanted


Zero problems.

General Comments:

This car is very fast, but gentle as a lamb in heavy traffic.

An easy to use daily driver.

Not at all expensive to maintain.

Easy on fuel.

Even insurance is less than one would think.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th July, 2005