2007 Chevrolet Corvette Reviews

2007 Chevrolet Corvette Base 6.0 from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2011
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 6.0 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired24000 miles
Most recent distance30000 miles
Previous carNissan 350Z

Summary:

Amazing, with flaws

Faults:

The engine would nearly cut off at idle with the A/C on.

The transmission would sometimes have a difficult time shifting from gear to gear.

The targa roof rattles.

No iPod connection.

Too much attention. People show you their jealous side.

General Comments:

The Corvette is an amazing car. It can out accelerate any car under a $100k. But the handling needs improvement. I only got rid of it because of mechanical issues. I know someone is going to write, "You bought a lemon". But that not the case. Other Corvette owners have said that they have similar problems. I do miss it, and sometime wish I would have kept it. I own a Volkswagen GTI now, and it just doesn't compare.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th June, 2011

8th Jun 2011, 18:26

You're kidding, your Volkswagen doesn't compare to your Corvette??

8th Jun 2011, 20:45

It out accelerates everything on the road and you gave it a 7 out of 10? Handling on a Vette is pretty much as good as it gets for the price as well. Seems like it may be too much for you, as it is an aggressive driving car.

Overall, it is still a Chevy, so I am sure they aren't too bulletproof.

2007 Chevrolet Corvette Z06 7.0L from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 7.0L Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired4400 miles
Most recent distance5500 miles
Previous carChevrolet Corvette

Summary:

Awesome performance with less than stellar build quality

Faults:

Has a wicked rattle in the passenger door somewhere - I've yet to isolate it and correct the problem.

General Comments:

The car is fast.

It handles amazingly.

Build quality is moderate to fair - at best.

Stereo is moderate to fair.

Interior is average.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th October, 2008

26th Aug 2011, 18:55

My Corvette has a rattle in the passenger side door as well. It's usually quiet until you go over rough roads.

2007 Chevrolet Corvette Z51 LS2 from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission LS2 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance12941 miles
Previous carHolden Monaro

Summary:

Terrific sports car

Faults:

I have not had any issues with the car since its purchase. It's been rock solid reliable, oil and filter changes have been the only maintaince work required along with a yearly re-lube of the targa top seals to prevent squeaking.

General Comments:

I bought the C6 Corvette mainly due the the great performance/looks/cost of the car. It's a blast to drive on long highway trips as it is on twisty back roads.

The seats are imo the only weak point, they could use some more support in the lower back area and side bolsters. I have the base seats, but the upgraded 2LT seats are not much better in that regard.

Gas mileage has been terrific for a sports car, I routinely see nearly 30mpg on sustained highway cruise, around town it drops into the mid-high teens.

I find the interior to be very well laid out. While it may not be groundbreaking in looks, it's functional with everything being in easy reach for the driver. The standard dual zone auto climate does a great job. There is also a lot of room in the rear hatch, 22 cubic feet of space gives plenty of room to pack for a weekend trip.

The performance numbers are fantastic, with the Z51 option you get improved handling (.98g skid-pad) and shorter gearing with the manual trans. The ride comfort is surprisingly good despite the upgraded suspension. The rear can get a little jittery over bumpy pavement, but the ride is far from harsh... well worth the move to spring for the optional Z51. The LS2 engine produces 400hp and with the vettes weight around 3200lbs makes 0-60 in 4.2 and the 1/4 mile in the mid 12 sec range... putting it equal to the high end Audi R8 and ahead of other sports cars like the Porsche 911.

Finally I find the exterior looks amazing, and with the removable targa top it's a blast to go topless in warmer weather.

While not the "perfect" sports car it comes very close thanks to it's looks/power/price and options. Well worth a test drive if your in the market for a 2 seater.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th January, 2008

27th Sep 2008, 03:49

I purchased a C6 Corvette Convertible with the Z51 pack here in Sydney, Australia about a month ago (August, 2008). It is yellow and a real head turner. So far I have taken three WRX's, Porsche and a Lambo with no effort at all. I cannot say too much about the car that has not already been talked about but as an owner of this amazing vehicle it is truly a wonderful machine to drive. You have to LOVE the Americans for this car and at $130,000 Australian Dollars it's a very well priced sports car.

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 3 reviews