2014 Chevrolet Cruze LT from North America


STAY AWAY -- Vehicle is a Nightmare --


The first two winters I had the car, there was a strong smell of engine coolant inside of the vehicle. It was so bad that it burned our eyes and we would have sore throats. When I first brought it to the dealership they told me "Well you bought a Chevy, what did you expect?". They also tried telling me that it was normal to smell that in newer vehicles. After bringing my Cruze to the dealership 8 times with the same complaint, they finally repaired the car (although I told them that I refused to pick up my vehicle until it was fixed since I had a 6 month old baby).

The Cruze is also extremely underpowered, it is the worst car I have ever owned. I would rather drive my 1993 Toyota Tercel or my 1996 Toyota Camry than drive this piece of junk. The paint started chipping away after a year and the plastic started fading on the outside of the vehicle.

Another important thing is that during winter all the windows would freeze on the inside of the car, no matter what I did. The dealership said they couldn't fix this problem. Also, the defogger or heater for the front windshield was so small that it would take 1 hour to defreeze the windshield. I have had many old vehicles and some newer ones; I have NEVER had such a horrible vehicle.

This all happened before my car reached 10k, it now has 23k and the transmission died. They are now replacing this under warranty. It is the second time I have transmission problems with this car.

General Comments:

My advice, STAY AWAY. Yes it is a good price and they may give you an amazing deal and include this and that. But trust me, you do not want to end up with this vehicle. While getting towed away because of the transmission issues, the tow truck driver told me that they tow these vehicles all the time (the latest being a 2016 Chevy Cruze). On the way to the dealership I heard on the tow truck's radio that a 2015 Cruze was blocking a main road downtown.

I had it, I am now selling this car (losing 10 thousand dollars). We just bought a 2016 Honda CRV and I can't even begin to tell you how amazing the vehicle is. Not even comparable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th October, 2016

19th Oct 2016, 16:01

I had a Aveo loaner once, and the windows froze on the outside of the car, but the defroster was not strong enough to defrost the ice. I had to let the car sit in the driveway for hours before I could drive it.

The problem that you had with yours was what's called a bad heater core, and you need a new mechanic. It's a few hundred dollar fix and any competent mechanic could tell you what it is. Don't ever service at that dealership again, even if your car is broken down out front!

I've owned recent GM cars too and I would not buy another, even as potentially promising as the Cadillac CT6 looks. Having bimonthly repair bills that exceed my mortgage just doesn't make sense.

19th Oct 2016, 21:30

I'm sorry I just cannot ever believe a Chevrolet new car dealer would ever make such a comment. They certainly want more new vehicle purchases as well as future service. That also means your entire family, friends coworkers etc. I personally own 5. I have been buying new cars since the 70s. Even if I bought another brand as a repeat buyer, it would not hold water on such a comment. You could also have had just a leak or it was damaged. The car is only 2 years old. It's worth a check.

2014 Chevrolet Cruze LT1 1.4 turbo from North America


Quick little car for a single person


1. Driver's front seat motor (need to replace the whole seat); explanation in General Comments.

2. Dashboard heater blower module.

3. For only 25,000 miles on the vehicle, there better not be a lot of things wrong, haha.

General Comments:

I bought a 2014 Chevy Cruze LT1 "RS edition" on July 31, 2014. I test drove this car because I was mad at my Nissan for having over $6,000 in repairs. It's been a good car for me, but there are some things I would like to change about it. I literally just pointed at the car and said I will buy that one.

1. I want more space for the rear passengers.

2. I hate the transmission... if it's not the transmission, then it's how the car drives. I hate driving in rush hour traffic with this car, between 5mph and 30mph. I hit the gas, the car jerks and now I'm moving. I let off the gas and coast, the car jerks into "coast mode". I hit the gas and it jerks out of coast and into 1st gear. Let off and it jerks back into coast. Try that for an hour and you too will be annoyed with it. I have driven different RS models with a turbo and they all do it.

3. I want a different spoiler off the assembly line. My model came with a OEM flush spoiler, but I hated it so I had an aftermarket Chevy spoiler installed ($700 painted and installed).

4. The seats are comfortable on short trips to the store or on long road trips. I went on a 900 mile road trip (450 each way) and I was good the whole way.

5. For being a small car, the trunk is pretty roomy. I have helped move someone and fit a bunch of crap in the car and the trunk. Actually surprised.

*** The car is pretty quick with the turbo, but when on the highway trying to pass a car, I hit the gas, the turbo kicks in, but when I let off the gas, the RPM stays with engine loud for about 1-2 secs, then drops down... you can hear the engine "whining" down. The "semi-manual" mode comes in handy when I want to shift quicker than the OEM gear ratio specs. Want to beat someone off the traffic light, hit the gas, accelerate, slap the shiftier over to the manual mode, up shift, and you're on your way. :-)

6. I have my oil change and tire rotation done every 5,000 miles at the Chevy dealership. The Chevy personnel tried to tell me that I can/should do oil changes at or under 20% oil life left or 7,500 miles. Don't care... the more miles the oil filter has... the more clogged it's getting.

7. I like the ONSTAR and XM satellite radio that came with the car, but was only good for like 3-6 months trial. I liked it so much that I renewed both the contracts; $40 a month for both.

8. I personally like the LT2 package with the 17" wheels and disk rotors all around. My LT1 has 16" wheels and drums in the rear. But the more you pay for, the more you get. I bought my car off passion... thus I didn't get to look around at what was out there to buy.

9. Fuel economy. Factory says I should get 26 MPG city and 35 highway; combined 30 MPG. I personally get what factory says. Depending on my driving style, sometimes I get 29 MPG city and 35 highway. Although on the 900 mile trip, I got 37.5 MPG.

10. The Firestone tires that came on the car are okay. I'm at 6/32nds, but will need to buy new tires after the 2015-16 winter season.

*** My car's VIN had "recalls" on it, but when I took it to the dealer for a "Coolant leak" & "Possible Cracked CV Axle", nothing was wrong with my car so I simply just left. I know someone who also owns a 2014 whose car was leaking fluid, and had been to the dealer numerous times for recall repairs. I got lucky.

*** Around the 22,000 mile marker, every time I would move my driver's seat by using the seat controls, the motor would sound like it was having a more difficult time moving forward than back. Forward = "Grrrr" sound. Backward = silence. Went to the dealer on my 25,000 mile oil change, in which the dealer told me my whole driver's seat will have to be replaced under warranty. The motor or the track seems to be binding. I have an appointment 9-28-15 for replacing it.

*** During winter with only about 12,000 miles on the car, when I would press the "windshield defrost" button, the air flow would blow 70% on the windshield and 30% through the vents onto me. I press "personal vents" to my face, which I would get all 100% airflow. I would hit windshield defrost, once again, 70% airflow to window and 30% to me. Dealer replaced the blower motor module and all is well today.

This is a nice vehicle for a single person or a young adult looking for a safe vehicle. This darn car has 12 separate air bags. Haha. If I looked further into vehicles and didn't just pick one out, I personally would choose the Chevy Malibu.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th September, 2015

27th Sep 2015, 03:32

Great review!!!

Good observations about the transmission's behavior. Powertrain efficiency is a high priority these days, and this unit's behavior might be a consequence of that goal. Please keep us updated,

Be conservative on the oil change intervals. This engine has a high specific output and a turbo to keep cool. This means lots of heat going into the oil. Use a high-quality oil (synthetic is likely a good choice) and change it (and the filter) frequently. You'll never regret it :)

24th Jan 2016, 14:19

UPDATE: I sold the Chevy Cruze in November 2015. I could not stand that transmission thing anymore, and what threw me over the edge was near the end of my review on Car Survey, I said that my dashboard heater vents were acting up. I happen to have aftermarket HID kit with an aftermarket projector headlight assembly in the car and the dealer practically blamed the problem on my lights. Well around October 2015, I put my car back to OEM stock (normal assemblies and normal light bulbs) with intentions on selling the car and drove around for a while and that heating vent issue came back. I KNOW it has something to do with an item inside the dashboard itself. I really didn't want to start spending more time at the dealer trying to figure out the problem again. (1st time around I spent a month trying to figure out the problem). It's not a bad car overall, but the reasons I sold the car... ********** too small --- inside and out, transmission is programmed badly (the Cruze and Malibu have the same tranny, but they're programmed different --- changed gears at this time at this RPM), heater control issues, too many recalls --- 6 active recalls when I sold the car. Thank you, and hope this review can help someone in the future.

1-24-2016 @ 8:19am