2005 Chevrolet Epica Reviews

2005 Chevrolet Epica LT 2.5L from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission 2.5L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired125000 kilometres
Most recent distance190000 kilometres
Previous carLand Rover Range Rover

Summary:

My Epica is an excellent car. If they would have kept making them, I would have bought another

Faults:

TCS button jammed and had to be taken apart.

General Comments:

Plenty of room, and very comfortable.

It's a "dummy proof" car; every time you turn anything on or off, it beeps at you. It can get annoying.

Parts easy to get a hold of.

Smooth ride, handles great, a very durable car.

It's a slightly heavier car, so it goes through snow without getting stuck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th July, 2012

2005 Chevrolet Epica from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Distance when acquired20 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carChevrolet jeep

Summary:

Never again

Faults:

Ignition seems dead at times; at least 20 times.

Power windows quit.

Bushings in rear sway bar have been replaced several times.

Uses 1 liter of oil every couple of weeks.

Paint on window trim rusted off in one season.

Heater motor quit.

Power seats quit.

Trans slipped.

General Comments:

The only good thing I have to say about this car is it will get up and go.

The seats are uncomfortable.

The cabin noise from the road is loud.

The bushings in the sway bar wear out every few months.

It has used engine oil since it was new.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd April, 2010

5th Sep 2010, 13:08

I have 85000km on my car. It runs and drives fine, but I'm not getting heat from the heater. It doesn't overheat; the coolant is fine, but no heat. Has anyone had the same PROBLEM?

2005 Chevrolet Epica LS Inline 6 cylinder from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Inline 6 cylinder Automatic
Distance when acquired100 kilometres
Most recent distance31000 kilometres
Previous carChrysler Cirrus

Summary:

Not a bad car, terrible transmission

Faults:

The car was brand new, the mileage is because it was brought in from out of town. Shortly after I purchased the vehicle I was going up a hill and heard a loud KLUNK, I thought the transmission had broken or something. I took it to the dealer, the mechanic took it for a test run and said that there is nothing wrong with it. Later it would not downshift until I shut it off and restarted, They changed the TCM. When you "boot" it, it does not respond for a second or two. Another time I was in heavy traffic (going through an intersection from a stop) and the engine raced (to 4000 rpm) ;had the transmission grabbed in this situation I would have been in BIG TROUBLE.

General Comments:

The car is actually quite nice, my biggest complaint is with the transmission.

Would I buy another car from this manufacturer? I'd have to think a long while.

Would I buy another car from this dealer? Not likely!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th December, 2007

23rd Dec 2007, 13:04

I have owned my 2004 Epica since new and generally find it a good car. However I share the transmission comments and would like to know of others and what solutions were found.

2005 Chevrolet Epica LT 2.5 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Distance when acquired40000 kilometres
Most recent distance80000 kilometres

Summary:

One jinxed vehicle

Faults:

Sensor started reading the wrong amount for the amount of gasoline in the tank after the first month of ownership.

Suspension noise, that started after the first week of ownership, in the front end that is still not corrected to date. Shop could not find what the problem was and replaced numerous parts. Replacing all these parts only created more noise in the front end. I thoroughly explained, well, in my mind, that the noise was in the front end. But, the shop changed parts in the rear and now the rear is making noise too. The additional noise was a rattling underneath the front end. Shop could not figure out the additional noise.

New tires keep cracking on the side wall. Gone through 3 new tires in three months. Tire shop stated it might be the rims causing these problems.

A.B.S. and T.C.S. lights are on now and I have not reached on year of ownership.

General Comments:

One problem after another with this epica. I was a G.M. true blue customer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th March, 2007

15th Mar 2007, 16:05

This isn't a GM, it's a car from their Asian subsidiary and they probably shouldn't even be selling it.

15th Mar 2007, 18:49

It's too bad you've had so many problems with your car, but that seems to be normal with this model. I guess that's why Suzuki gave up making it: they just couldn't get it right.

17th Mar 2007, 20:43

This is some kind of Daewoo in disguise hurry and get rid of it while you can.

21st Feb 2009, 21:29

If you are thinking of buying a Chevy Epica, get out of it as soon as possible. I use to drive an old Mazda 1982 pick up truck that was completely rusted out and had more than 350,000 km on it. My Epica has had more problems in the past 5 months of owning it than my truck ever had in 3 years. In that 5 months I have spent nearly $1000 and I can only expect to have even more problems with it as I have seen from other reviews. Oh ya, my car only has 120,000 km on it now.

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 9 reviews