1978 Chevrolet Impala Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1978 Chevrolet Impala 5.0 from North America

Model year1978
Year of manufacture1978
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 5.0 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.7 / 10
Distance when acquired135000 miles
Previous carHyundai Excel

Faults:

I need a new carb, and the upholstery is falling apart.

A lot of under carriage body rot.

I blew my water pump on the way to work one morning, but still made it!

General Comments:

This is one of the very best cars I have had the pleasure to own!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th August, 2007

1978 Chevrolet Impala 350 from North America

Model year1978
Year of manufacture1978
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 350 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired113500 kilometres
Previous carMercury Topaz

Summary:

Solid roomy car with lots of character

Faults:

Alternator, Starter motor,

General Comments:

Big busty powerful car.

I bought this for $500Cdn from a guy who used it to drive around the corner to the mall and back.

I love it since it gets the respect on the road that I don't get with my Tercel. Go figure!

Can't seem to get rid of the pinging though. Adjusted timing/changed plugs, but that helped only a little. Tried higher octane gas as well. Any ideas?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th June, 2006

19th Jun 2006, 15:03

- Possibilities... Flush the cooling system & put in a new thermostat. Running too hot will cause pinging, & the cooling system work will make it run cooler.

Also, in a car this old, there may be a carbon build up on the piston tops, which would increase the compression ratio & lead to pinging.

19th Jun 2006, 18:45

I had a 1979 Impala years ago with the 305 engine and it pinged. Only way to get rid of ping was to use higher octane gas. More costly, but it gets rid of ping.

20th Jun 2006, 00:38

Try decoking the cylinder heads.

20th Jun 2006, 14:06

My '78 Skylark would ping on anything, but premium gas.. had to use 92 octane at all times. Not sure why that is, but give it a try.

26th Sep 2006, 13:29

Looks like I will have to live with the pinging. My only worry is that it will damage the engine if I don't fix it. It disappears if I press harder on the gas, so it's only noticeable for a short period. I really appreciate the tips though. We have to keep these cars running nicely on the road where they belong!

15th Dec 2006, 09:22

Unfortunately had to get rid of the car. Got fed up with trying to repair it outside my house in the cold. In the end it just wouldn't start. Could have been the timing chain or fuel pump (in the gas tank). I had replaced plugs, wires, distributor cap fuel pump, fuel filter, checked timing. Disappointing really. Gave it away to Kidney Foundation:

15th Dec 2006, 15:40

The advance springs in the distributor may need replacement, as this may cause pinging.

15th Mar 2007, 14:54

Aw ya got rid of it that's sad. I own a 78 impala and I love my car wouldn't sell it for any price been very dependable over the last 3 years. Just wish they would have stayed in the muscle car market.

11th Sep 2007, 23:15

Pinging is generally due to a stuck EGR valve. Recirculating exhaust gases into the combustion process cools temperatures and prevents pinging.

If you have this issue, replace the EGR, and it'll likely go away.

1st Mar 2008, 11:00

Well like I said, it's now gone...away..completely.

Never mind.

1978 Chevrolet Impala 5.0 305 from North America

Model year1978
Year of manufacture1978
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 5.0 305 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired95000 kilometres
Previous carChrysler Fifth Avenue

Summary:

Love it wouldn't trade for anything

Faults:

Well needs work on the front end interior needs work.

General Comments:

This is a fast light car.

Its got a great engine.

Not to crazy about the interior color, but can live with it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd May, 2005

3rd May 2005, 10:21

Another "review" that should go straight to the crapper!

14th Jan 2006, 07:04

If you have the 5.0L 305 V8 Engine, I would advise you to replace the timing chain and sprockets. The earlier 305's had partial teflon teeth on the camshaft sprockets that cause chain slippage after 100,000 miles. You don't need to remove the oil pan, or partially lower the oil pan like the manuals tell you when replacing the set. If you buy a new set, buy the top of the line NAPA brand that's made by Cloys. It may run you 50 bucks, but will last a long time. I'm commenting because of previous experience. I had a 1977 Chevrolet Impala that was my first car. I bought it with 82,000 miles in 1994, and it perished in 1998 with 134,000 miles. I spent lots of money on that car, but it was a learning experience for me mechanically. Throughout the ownership, I debated about replacing the timing chain and sprockets, but I procrastinated until it was too late. If I would have done it right away, I could have still had that car. I was sad to see it go. I was almost crying when the junkyard picked it up.

Average review marks: 8.3 / 10, based on 8 reviews