2005 Chevrolet Impala Reviews - Page 3 of 3

2005 Chevrolet Impala Base 3.4 V6 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.4 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired49000 miles
Most recent distance54400 miles
Previous carDodge Dakota

Summary:

Very great car

Faults:

One thing, when I got it the front end would make a popping/bumping noise in front end when I accelerate and turn, I took it to the shop, they put in a lube kit on the intermediate steering shaft, common problem on these cars, annoying rattle in tape player. that's all.

The car performs awsomely and successfully and handles good to.

I will buy another...

General Comments:

Great...don't like the tape player only option on a 05 car...dumb, 3.4 sounds very throaty, its quiet and smooth.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th October, 2006

10th Nov 2006, 22:49

If you still have extended coverage I would insist that you have the dealer replace the Intermediate Steering Shaft as lubing is a temporary fix. This will save you in the long run when you are out of warranty. Good Luck.

30th Dec 2007, 14:59

I just bought an '05 Impala LS, and it's also popping/bumping when accelerating and braking and turning at low speeds. Reading your review helped me pinpoint the problem, so thank you. I bought the car from a Ford dealer, and they said they didn't know what it was. Other than the popping/bumping however, I love the car!

2005 Chevrolet Impala LS 3.8 V6 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired12000 miles
Most recent distance28000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

This car is a superb value and extremely comfortable on daily commutes

Faults:

Rubber trim around front and rear windows rolled up in the top corners (hot and humid Georgia summer). Took this in and it was repaired in two hours.

General Comments:

This car has one of the top 2 or 3 V6 engines in the world.

The transmission is smooth and consistent.

The interior is much more simple and subdued than other cars of the same year and class, a style that I admire. Some people I have had in the car think the interior is dull or outdated. I, on the other hand, was drawn to the design. It is one of the biggest reasons I bought this car.

My one complaint with the interior is how the door handles are designed. They are too rounded and tend to slip out of your hand if you have any moisture on your skin.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd January, 2006

17th Mar 2006, 14:06

UPDATE on this car:

We have now driven it to 36,000 miles and have had the following problems:

-A rubber support for the catalytic converter came loose and was replaced under warranty.

-The passenger side rear door started squeaking when you open it. Applied lube to the hinges and problem disappeared.

All in all, we are EXTREMELY pleased with our purchase.

29th Jul 2006, 15:12

Wow, I think we have the same car.

I too have had both corners of the windshield seal peal up. It only bothers me because of the wind noise. I took it in to get glued back down, but was told the entire windshield had to be removed and with that I run the chance of the window cracking. The job would only run about $80, but if the window was to crack, I would have to pay for another one at around $300. I've decided to let it go.

I also had that rubber exhaust ring fall off numerous times.

After a while I said whatever. I've noticed quite a few Impalas/GMs around with those rings kind of dangling.

Whatever?

2005 Chevrolet Impala from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance8300 miles
Previous carBuick Regal

Summary:

Smooth ride great gas mileage, but ugly inside

Faults:

No problems with my Impala.

General Comments:

My Impala rides well and is very comfortable. It is just the interior is ugly. Looks cheap. Such a nice car should have a better interior.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th November, 2005

22nd Dec 2005, 18:41

Why did you buy the Impala if you didn't like the interiors?

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 9 reviews