2008 Chevrolet Impala Reviews

2008 Chevrolet Impala LT 3.5 from North America

Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 3.5 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired101000 miles
Most recent distance115000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Lumina

Summary:

No regrets

Faults:

I've had to replace the right rear wheel bearing; did it myself, pretty simple job.

The left rear is making noise as well, gonna have to that in a few weeks.

I think these problems are only because of the amount of miles it has, as well as the fact that I may have hit every single pothole in the city I work in during the winter; can't see them if they have snow on them.

Other than that, just routine maintenance.

General Comments:

A former company car, which is why it has so many miles on it.

Gets around very well in the snow, especially once I put skinny 205 series tires on it, making sure I picked a size that has the same diameter as the 225 series, so as to not upset the ABS or TC.

I really like this car; the only gripe I have is that I have to make payments on it, therefore I also need full coverage insurance on it; a big difference from when I use basic liability.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd July, 2011

2008 Chevrolet Impala LS 3.5 from North America

Model year2008
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 3.5 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired39000 miles
Most recent distance39000 miles
Previous carCadillac Seville

Summary:

Excellent car for the money

Faults:

Nothing, not one thing has gone wrong with my Impala LS.

General Comments:

I love this car! It's peppy, fast, and handles the road very well. It's good on gas considering its size and easy to maintain. No repairs needed yet. Just maintain the fluids, tire pressure, and change the oil and go!

I'm tall, so I have to push my driver's seat all the way back, which leaves no rear seat room. Rear seat room is pretty much totally lacking.

The trunk is MASSIVE. It will amaze you with the amount of room. The trunk reaches all the way into the car, right to the back seat.

I hate ABS brakes, so I was thrilled to find out that this car does NOT have ABS brakes.

With the standard all-season radials, this car handles bad weather just fine, including deep snow (12 inches or more). Use common sense when driving in bad weather.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th May, 2011

6th Jun 2011, 00:52

Why would one hate ABS brakes, as the original poster professes?

Used properly, ABS brakes permit significantly shorter braking distances and better car control under emergency braking than even the most proficient driver can humanly manage.

2008 Chevrolet Impala LT 3.5L V6 from North America

Model year2008
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.5L V6 Automatic
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance35400 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

I wish I still had my 2002 Honda Accord

Faults:

At around 25,000 miles, the notorious intermediate steering starting making the clunking noise and feeling loose. I took it to the dealer and they replaced the shaft and did a front end alignment. Ever since then I have had nothing but problems. Steering vibrations will not go away, and now I am getting a strange hum and grumbling type noise from the front end, which I suspect to be a wheel bearing going bad, but the dealer says they cannot hear it and as such will not replace. They have put front axles under it, yet another steering shaft, front rotors, and new tires that have been balanced about four times. The front end just feels loose and that humming noise really worries/irritates me. I just think it's strange that a car with 35,000 miles on it is already having such issues.

I had to have the radio replaced because my CD player quit working.

The driver's side door panel developed a loud rattle, which was determined to be a piece of plastic that was not fastened in properly, and had to be re-attached.

The blinkers do not always give their signal sound and you can come back later and they work fine.

Tire pressure system seems questionable in its readings compared to my trusty manual gauge. At the least, it's always slow to register the proper PSI reading.

The continuously variable transmission, which you aren't supposed to be able feel shifting is harsh, and feels more like a conventional transmission when it shifts.

Sun visors rattle as does the moonroof. I think the moon roof that slides back over the top of the vehicle roof instead of inside was a huge mistake because it seems very flimsy, but does not make you sacrifice head room inside.

General Comments:

All in all, this has been an OK car, but at 35,000+ miles of daily use on the interstate and then in and around town, it's already showing quite a bit of wear.

The gas mileage is very good for the size of car it is.

The trunk is huge and everything I could ask for.

The price is very competitive, and the powertrain warranty is good given that it's a GM product, and could very well be a throw away car by 100,000 miles.

I would not purchase this car if I had it to do over again.

I would appreciate it if anyone has any insight on the humming noise coming from the front end.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th October, 2008

20th Jan 2009, 22:43

"The continuously variable transmission, which you aren't supposed to be able feel shifting is harsh, and feels more like a conventional transmission when it shifts."

Last time I checked the Impala only comes with a conventional 4-speed auto. I don't believe that any GM use a CVT outside of the hybrids.

22nd Jan 2009, 16:46

22:43 is correct. The Impala does not, and never has, come with a constantly variable transmission. In addition, every GM vehicle we have ever owned has been incredibly smooth and seamless in shifting. Are you sure you aren't referring to a Toyota??

19th Aug 2009, 23:36

In regards to the humming in the front end; my parents had a 1997 Grand Prix and it had the same thing, a humming that got worse and worse over time. Have the bearings checked if you haven't already, that could be the issue.

10th Mar 2010, 08:32

I too have the sound coming from the front end, and it is driving me crazy, as my dealer tells me they can't hear anything also. I also get a clunking sounds on some turns. My car has 42,000kms on it. I have been to the dealership 5 times in the past 2 months, still no improvement. I was a Chev man all my life until now.

5th Jan 2011, 14:17

I have a 08 Impala SS, and I have had none of those problems! Nothing rattles at all, it's very quiet until you put your foot down and hear the 5.3L roar.

2008 Chevrolet Impala SS V8 from North America

Model year2008
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance9500 miles
Previous carChevrolet Tahoe

Summary:

This is a GREAT car!

Faults:

No problems with the car.

General Comments:

This car handles GREAT! I love driving it. Much more comfortable and responsive than the SUV I drove before. The bottom of the front seats do seem to tilt forward a little more than I would personally like, but all in all, EXCELLENT CAR!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th June, 2008

5th Jan 2011, 14:12

I totally agree. I also own an SS, and it is a amazing car! Would be nice in manual though. Same with if it was RWD.

Average review marks: 9.1 / 10, based on 4 reviews