1998 Chevrolet Lumina Reviews - Page 6 of 6

1998 Chevrolet Lumina LTZ from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance102000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Lumina

Summary:

Chevy's ain't perfect, but it's a GREAT overall deal!

Faults:

Brakes rotors don't count! wheel bearing hubs, both sides replaced three times going on four this week, at 250 a piece that's a bummer, the alternator, shift cable, serpentine belt, headlight switch went twice, master window switch, rear pass door window switch, bulbs in dash lighting on heater controls, and other places, air conditioning don't work, sunroof plastic lift arms broke, starter, cruise control broke, power seat stopped, that's all that came to mind, but prob more!

General Comments:

I still love this car, the ltz has awesome interior appointments, front and rear fascias, dual quad tips, leather, steering wheel audio controls, and the 3800 performs great hands down! even tho a lot has broke on the car, the car has major bang for buck!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th October, 2005

1998 Chevrolet Lumina STD 3.1L V6 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.1L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired33000 miles
Most recent distance96500 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Delta 88

Summary:

This is an inexpensive reliable family sedan that you can depend on.

Faults:

One of the fuel injectors needed to be replaced around 95,000 miles.

It needed new brake pads.

Seats have started to fade and wear.

General Comments:

This car is spacious and roomy.

It's engine is powerful for a small V6.

Somewhat fun to drive.

One of the longest cars in it's class.

For a V6 of it's size, the gas mileage could be better.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th July, 2005

1998 Chevrolet Lumina from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired156000 miles
Most recent distance186000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Best and most reliable family car I experienced in life

Faults:

Things that went wrong since I bought this car are front brake pads and rotors replaced at 175000, water pump, one fuel injector replaced at 178000 miles. Rest all original in this car.

General Comments:

Car squeaks a little on sharp left turning, but I have not bothered to get it checked. I switched over to using premium fuel after replacement of one fuel injector and use SEAFOAM cleaner almost every 3000 miles in gas to keep injectors clean.

Car is super smooth performer, runs like just coming out of showroom. I am myself amazed with the quality and performance of this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th November, 2004

8th Jan 2006, 18:05

This is in continuation to the original comments I wrote about this car. I still own it. Miles 190K running on Synthetic Mobil 10W engine oil and premium gas. No issues so far, not even a single break down or repair, since I wrote the last comments. I have planned to own it till it does not start asking for repairs.

1998 Chevrolet Lumina 3.1 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance99000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile 98

Summary:

Very reliable, fuel efficient car with noting that's gone wrong

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with this car.

I've just put in normal maintenance and it runs great.

I'm thinking the alternator might be the first to go, when I put on the rear window defogger the lights dim Considerably.

General Comments:

This car is very comfortable and has tasteful styling. I've also never been pulled over in this Black Beauty. In my opinion it's a very inconspicuous car. It also handles very well for being such a big car, not like my Olds.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th October, 2004

1998 Chevrolet Lumina Base Sedan 3.1L 160 HP V6 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.1L 160 HP V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired50 miles
Most recent distance172000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Reliable and low cost to maintain.

Faults:

Main belt was replaced once. (normal)

Water pump was replaced at 100,000 miles. (quite normal, and inexpensive)

Gas tank sprung a leak recently, had to be replaced. (Fairly cheap in price though.).

Some kind of valve started to stick, service engine light came on (got the valve repaired, fairly cheap).

Coolant disappears and has to be replaced quite often.

Leaks or burns a little oil.

Normal brake replacements, tires etc.

Some interior/exterior bits are of cheap quality and falling apart. (sun visor clips fell off, rear driver side door sticks periodically, cup holder broke off, clamps rusted off on bottom of car etc.)

Some interior lighting quit working (around the radio I think).

Brakes shudder at high speeds, when applied.

General Comments:

This Lumina has been pretty reliable, overall.

Has been cheap to maintain and also gets fairly good gas mileage for a large sedan.

The engine has pretty good pick up power, and shifts smoothly.

Car runs quiet.

As long as you lift up the hood and check all its engine fluids periodically, and add them when needed, the car should hold up well.

Some of the car's interior/exterior bits are cheap in quality. Could have stood to be better in quality.

But overall, no big complaints here!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th September, 2004

1998 Chevrolet Lumina LS 3.1 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.1 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired85000 kilometres
Most recent distance206000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet '99 Sunfire

Summary:

One of General Motor's Better Cars

Faults:

Water pump replaced at 150,000 km... pretty good life.

Check Engine Light off and on. Had to have injectors flushed twice. Probably my fault for running cheap gas and not changing fuel filter. Zero problems since brand name gas and new filter.

Air bag light on. Diagnosed as circuit failure passenger side. Didn't care, removed bulb.

Amazing brake life. Only one set of rotors and pads replaced and original rear drums and shoes after 206,000 km.

Has classic GM "Cold Start Noise" or piston slap that disappears after 2 min. of idling... no big deal.

General Comments:

This car is 7 years old and a high miler. It still has original battery, alternator, power steering pump, complete exhaust system, rad, A/C, wiper/washer motors, hoses, etc, Truly an economical car to operate with decent power, ride, comfort and mileage. Styling a bit dated now, but still pleasing enough for me to smile after a wash job.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th February, 2004

26th Jul 2009, 19:29

Maybe since this person was using kilometers, they are from a different company where GM exports everything as a Chevy. Hmmmmmm.

1998 Chevrolet Lumina GTZ 3.1 litre V6 from Venezuela

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 3.1 litre V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired3 kilometres
Most recent distance21500 kilometres
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

A steal from stealers

Faults:

Fuel pump failed.

ECU failed.

Coolant pump failed, dealer put a worn coolant pump in, then the radiator failed.

CD headunit failed.

Burnt headlight switch.

Two days after I sold the car, the new owner (a friend of mine) complained that the engine sounded bad, further investigation revealed 4 destroyed tappets, the oil was changed religiously every 5000 kms with Mobil 1 5W-50 so is not owner fault.

General Comments:

Dealer service was major crap. GM and FORD have to fix that, I decided to sell my car and my wife's Explorer due to that. Bought a Honda Accord again and a Scenic for my wife. Now I don't have to deal with dealers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th January, 2001

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 21 reviews