2009 Chevrolet Malibu from North America


Good mechanics - lousy comfort

General Comments:

Seats are the most uncomfortable that I have been in in 40 years of driving. My left hip and leg were cramped, and I could hardly get out of the car. This was a rental, and I would never buy one for this reason alone.

The dash reflected in the driver's area of the windshield, and the only way I could get rid of it was to wear sunglasses until sunset. Then at night the windshield is angled just enough to distort night vision. I have good eyesight.

The passenger seat was so low that my wife was barely looking over the dash. Her right leg and hip were cramped all the time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th August, 2009

15th Dec 2009, 21:41

Sounds like you need to adjust the seat position and lumbar support before you can complain about the comfort.

My 2009 Malibu is extremely comfortable, even after sitting in it for an entire day.

23rd Jan 2010, 13:16

Sounds like you didn't spend enough time in the vehicle to comfortably get acquainted with it (which is why I, personally, would NEVER post a review of a car unless I actually owned it!). Did you adjust the seats when you stepped in the car?

18th Jun 2010, 12:37

I agree with the 2 posts above me, "ADJUST" your seats, very simple...

2009 Chevrolet Malibu LT1 2.4 from North America


Next time, I'll get the LTZ


There has been nothing major go wrong with this car.

I took it to the dealer once because of a rattle in the drivers door, which just turned out to be something needing greased.

I currently have a squeak in the rear quarter panel, and can't find where it is. I'm on spring break now from school, so I might take it in to get it looked at.

General Comments:

I love the looks, and the gas mileage! My Stratus I traded in had the same size engine, and terrible gas mileage!

I love the Onstar, XM, auto headlamps, the steering wheel radio controls, and all the storage spaces it has.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th March, 2009

9th Mar 2009, 07:43

Why do you want the LTZ next time?

2009 Chevrolet Malibu LS 2.4L 4 cylinder from North America


Cheap, classy, reliable, strong and fuel efficient!


Nothing yet, the car's brand new. I looked at carcomplaints.com, and nobody's posted any complaints for the 2009 model year yet, and only minor things for the 2008 model, so I'll keep my fingers crossed.

General Comments:

It was longer and wider than my Cutlass by an inch, and nearly 700 pounds heavier. I had the opportunity to drive it in the snow last week, and it did remarkably well. While other cars were sliding down hills, this car shoved its way through the slush and crushed the ice. The 2.4L provides sufficient power for the car with 169HP (9HP more than my Cutlass, which had a V6). The only thing that kind of bothered me was that it was a little slow in shifting from 3rd to 4th gear on the highway, but once it shifts, it really takes off fast.

We also got a really good deal on this car. The Chevy dealership let us have it at $16,631 (before taxes). About a week after I bought the car, I also got a package of cookies in the mail from the dealer where we bought the car originally! Certainly was a really nice way of saying "thanks for helping our company avoid bankruptcy!" My props to the dealer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th January, 2009

17th Jan 2009, 16:50

Although I just bought a Ford Fusion, I love the new Malibu. The rest of America must as well. While all other cars (including Japanese brands) were taking a nose-dive in sales, the Malibu posted a 51.5% INCREASE in sales in 2008. This is really a strong indication that the car is a real hit with the public. When I see one now I sort of wish I had bought one, though the Fusion is a top-notch car. Congrats on a truly great car.

We've had 2 GM vehicles for 8 and 6 years now (we're a multi-car family), and they are both 100% trouble-free and ride and drive great. We owned a few Japanese cars in the 80's and 90's, but they were not nearly as reliable or comfortable as our GM or Fords were. The new GM and Ford cars are on a par with the world's best.