1999 Chevrolet Metro Reviews - Page 3 of 5

1999 Chevrolet Metro LSI 1.3 Liter from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.3 Liter Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired29300 miles
Most recent distance79200 miles
Previous carChrysler Town and Country

Summary:

She's a great car, I would not trade my car for anything.

Faults:

My air conditioner keeps going out.

My heater works but the unit won't stay in place.

I cannot change the heater settings.

The windows become hard to turn, for rolling down or up.

General Comments:

My car has great power and does well on inclines or hills.

It is fantastic on gas.

However the quarters are very close inside, in the front seat area.

I could not ask for a better spaced vehicle.

I can put a massive amount of items in my car.

I would prefer to have better postured seats though.

I also would like better accommodating cup holders.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th October, 2008

1999 Chevrolet Metro LSi 1.3L I-4 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.3L I-4 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance96500 miles
Previous carPontiac Firebird

Summary:

Great first car, not good for someone who needs more than 79 HP

Faults:

This car has run great since I bought it.

I had a problem with my cat-converter, but I suspect foul play.

Have had a recent decline in horsepower, but I suspect spark plugs/ wires are due to be replaced.

General Comments:

This car is easy to drive.

Gas mileage is great.

Easy to park on crowded city/college streets.

Great first car for a kid with a lead foot.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th July, 2008

1999 Chevrolet Metro from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired190000 kilometres
Most recent distance202895 kilometres

Summary:

Not bad

Faults:

After about 6 months, the Reverse gear went, so I am unable to reverse.

The radiator is leaking after 4 months.

General Comments:

It is EXCELLENT on gas.

Nice, cute and compact.

Excellent engine power and rev.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th February, 2008

1999 Chevrolet Metro 1.0L from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.0L Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired9700 miles
Most recent distance13000 miles

Summary:

I love my Metro and hope to see it back soon

Faults:

Replaced belts. My freon leaks, negating any benefit from the A/C.

So far so good.

General Comments:

The metro has been very good to me, despite several offroading and "shortcut" incidents. I had intentions of doing a tuneup in the near future, as well as a thorough check by a mechanic just for safety's sake. However these plans are on hold as the car is currently out of commission.

The problem? I got rear-ended at 30-40mph by a Ford F150. My bumper and wheel-well are now uncomfortably close to the back right tire (though I can still move the vehicle if my life depended on it!). Hopefully it can be bumped out and go on its merry way.

The collision didn't cause any serious injury to me, my wife, or our unborn child. 24 hours at U of M Hospital suggests this, anyway. My seat is now permanently affixed in the 'ghetto' position, and the hatchback will never open again. In the near future I may need to consider taping my back right tailight, as well.

So to those who say it's a deathtrap in a collision, I bite my thumb. My Cougar XR-7 sustained more visible damage against a deer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th January, 2007

11th Jan 2007, 13:42

For the sake of your family you need to allow this vehicle to be written off.

16th Jan 2007, 09:28

The mechanic reports that the only damage to the vehicle was, in fact, minor bending of the frame.

Geo 2, Ford 0.

8th Sep 2007, 06:53

I have to agree unless the frame can be straightend the vehicle should be written off for safety concerns.

1999 Chevrolet Metro 1.0L gas from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.0L gas Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired61000 miles
Most recent distance62500 miles
Previous carCadillac DeVille

Summary:

Very Good

Faults:

Having problems with the service engine light. Auto Zone scanned it and came up with a front oxygen sensor. I replaced sensor, within one day the service engine light came on again. Auto Zone scanned it again, came up as a rear oxygen sensor. I put the front sensor in the rear and I am going to check it out.

General Comments:

I previously owned a 1993 Geo Metro, 3 cylinder, standard trans, no A.C. and I thought the car was great. I purchased this 1999 Chevy Metro the day after Christmas, 3 cylinder, 5 speed, with A.C. and hatchback. It had to have those features for me to purchase another one. I drive the car very hard and it just keeps wanting more. Great car for the money. I plan on keeping this econobox for years to come.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th January, 2006

1999 Chevrolet Metro LSi 1.3 gas from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.3 gas Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired78000 miles
Most recent distance83000 miles
Previous carCadillac Seville

Summary:

A very simple car that gets the job done

Faults:

Radiator sprung a leak, most likely from getting hit by road debris.

Driver seat cushion is losing its support.

General Comments:

Probably the most basic car produced in the past 10 years. No A/C, no power steering, no tape deck or CD player.

Interior is bland, but you don't need much in an economy car.

Averages 38 miles per gallon.

Struggles with some freeway on-ramps, but generally has enough power.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th March, 2005

9th Mar 2005, 20:24

Dude, Metros and Suzuki Swifts are sweet. They are small, economical, cheap, and a good sign of how self secure you are. Also, those options are available, they were produced without those options so they could be made very very cheap. Subcompacts are the best, and Suzuki makes the best subcompacts. Suzuki is going to be competing in the big car market in the near future, though.

4th Sep 2005, 21:20

I have a 1999 metro LSI, air bags, power brakes,1.3 liter 4cyl. engine. hatch back. a/c, very good stereo/graph,3spd auto, delay wipers, cup holders, console.back seat lays down so you can camp in it too. disc front and I live in the mountains of west Texas, this little general gets me around just fine the only complaint I have is the little guy needs power steering, not rack and pinion, but that requires engine power to operate don, t it?, get about 40 mpg on fuel here, but does better in Indiana on the flat ground. money well spent, I'm happy with it.

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 17 reviews