1981 Chevrolet Monte Carlo Reviews

1981 Chevrolet Monte Carlo 383 stroker from North America

Model year1981
Year of manufacture1981
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 383 stroker Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles

Faults:

Tire blow out from a burnout

General Comments:

This car is very fast; it has 500HP and 421 torque. It will throw you back in the seat...

But the guy I bought it from said it was a 1981 Monte Carlo SS... I didn't know if they made a 1981 Monte SS.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st August, 2008

1981 Chevrolet Monte Carlo Landau 305 from North America

Year of manufacture1981
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 305 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Previous carchevrolet Monte Carlo

Summary:

Smooth, sweet, fast, and a real eye catcher

Faults:

Main fuse.

Radiator.

Water Pump.

Roof Liner.

Trunk Hinge.

Exhaust Clamps let go.

Carburetor.

General Comments:

This is my very first car (Black 1981 Monte Carlo) I only paid $200.00 for it.

The poor thing wouldn't even do over 50km on the highway until I took it to a mechanic and spent $40.00 to fix the air-fuel mixture and the idle.

Last Summer,I'd made it from the Okanagan to Medicine Hat . As far as I'm concerned, it's already paid for itself.

If you want a fast, sexy, muscle-looking car- without paying an arm and a leg for gas- this is by far the sweetest car.

If you're into the whole thing, and want to throw a big boomin' stereo into a car like this ,then I recommend that you get a Monte. As with my Monte I'll be putting ten 10" subs into the trunk, air bags for bouncin', some rims and then it'll be the sweetest car in town.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th October, 2002

1981 Chevrolet Monte Carlo Landau 267 V8 small block from North America

Year of manufacture1981
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 267 V8 small block Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired63000 kilometres
Most recent distance70000 kilometres

Summary:

Monte Carlos Rule!

Faults:

Bell housing cracked on starter.

Brake line snapped off.

Floor has been redone.

Cross member has been repaired.

Passenger side rear frame must be replaced.

Needs Paint :)

General Comments:

I bought this car in December for $400.

It wasn't in the best of shape, but I figured a monte for 400, I couldn't go wrong.

I have now been in the process of totally going over the car, and repairing (restoring) it. Why? Because it is an awesome car!!

I could not have found a better car for myself. It handles like a dream, accelerates pretty fast, and isn't too bad on gas for a v-8. (10k per Litre)

I have done most of the work on this car myself, and at very little cost. I will soon be doing a full body job to it, as well as several coats of new paint.

A beautiful Monte for far less than 1 K and a bit of work!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th June, 2002

27th Jul 2010, 02:38

I agree. Monte Carlos are the best car ever. I myself have a beautiful silver 1981 Monte Carlo with the 267 in it. She ain't fast but she has never broke down. I've had her for almost 3 years and only replaced the ignition module, a 60 dollar fix for my first car.

1981 Chevrolet Monte Carlo 3.8 L from North America

Year of manufacture1981
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.8 L Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired42000 miles
Most recent distance66800 miles

Summary:

Fast classic muscle car of our time

Faults:

Replaced heater hoses.

Replaced valve cover gaskets.

Had the carbeurator rebuilt.

Had to put in a new computer.

Had to put in a new starter.

General Comments:

The car is beautiful and runs strong and fast. It has always been reliable and I wouldn't trade my car for any other.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th February, 2002

23rd Mar 2004, 09:37

I have an 81 monte carlo. I just put a new 350 in it and runs strong, but the only problem I have is that the starter moves when I rev the engine up.

27th Oct 2006, 10:08

I have a 1981 Monte Carlo and my father bought it when it first came out and I still own it. I'm 24 years old. we are about to put our 4th engine in it. and as long as I'm alive or my father is who ever lives longer the car will never be apart from us. I love the car. I love how it drives and handles and the room inside it. I love watching all the people looking at me when I'm driving it and they are like wow what a car. so anybody that ever disses the car hit them in the mouth and drive off in style.

10th Oct 2007, 02:57

I miss my 81 Monte, was always working on it, but it was awesome. Had to get rid of it because the frame rotted and broke. Had it for over ten years. I wanted my husband to fix it, but it never came about and it went to the junk yard. I cried, lol... over a car... but it was the best car I've had so far.

7th Apr 2010, 23:25

My brother-in-law had one that we bought for $100.00, and we turned it into a dirt track car with a 350 bored out to a 402. We had a little over $13,500.00 in that car when we sold it.

1981 Chevrolet Monte Carlo LS 350 Chevy SB from North America

Year of manufacture1981
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 350 Chevy SB Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance0 miles

Summary:

A old nice luxury car

Faults:

Had to replace all brakes and brake lines.

Had to rebuild the transmission.

Had to replace the alternator.

Roof liner keeps falling down.

Water leaks from the passenger side vent.

Had to replace the master cylinder.

Had to fix the vinyl top.

Power windows sometimes work.

General Comments:

The car is pretty reliable. It is nice and quick with the 350 small block 4 BBL carburator.

The car handles smoothly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd February, 2001

1981 Chevrolet Monte Carlo Landau 267 V-8 from North America

Year of manufacture1981
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 267 V-8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired86800 miles
Most recent distance203490 miles

Summary:

One of the best cars ever

Faults:

Since 1998:

Had to replace power steering system.

Rebuilt the transmission.

Complete brake job.

Had to replace burned out wires three times since I've owned it.

Power windows keep going out.

Plus lots of little problems that go with a 20 year old car and that make it too expensive for a poor, mechanically ignorant gal like me.

General Comments:

Great car, only one I've owned til now -- this has been a great car and still is except it is 20 years old and becoming too expensive for this civil servant to keep up, so I'm selling it for a 1988 Thunderbird, but the T-bird in no way compares to the Monte Carlo, which is, in my opinion, one of the ultimate cars, and one day I will own another one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th September, 2000

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 6 reviews