1986 Chevrolet Monte Carlo Reviews - Page 7 of 7

1986 Chevrolet Monte Carlo LS 4.3 liter V6 fuel injected from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1986
Most recent year of ownership1996
Engine and transmission 4.3 liter V6 fuel injected Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired26 miles
Most recent distance49785 miles
Previous carPontiac LeMans

Summary:

A stunningly beautiful automobile!

Faults:

The cap on the wire wheel cover fell off.

Silver on the shifter knob started to tarnish.

Backup lights went out.

Roof rusted and cost $500.00.

Battery always seemed to die at Publix.

General Comments:

When I saw the car, it was a beautiful light yellow with wire wheels. When I drove it, it drove like a dream and it did up until the last day I drove it. It never let me down. It always got me where I wanted to go safely.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th August, 2001

1986 Chevrolet Monte Carlo Luxury Sport CL 5.0 305 from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5.0 305 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 miles
Most recent distance183000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Truck

Summary:

A good everyday car

Faults:

I have had to replace the carb, fuel pump, water pump, radiator, rear end, fly wheel, and exhaust.

I also had to get new valve guide seals at 160,000. I expected all of this from a car that is 15 years old.

General Comments:

I love this car. I am turning it into a low rider. I have just got it painted, it looks sweet.

My car is extremely fast. I would not trade my car for anything.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th April, 2001

29th Apr 2001, 03:47

Dude.. my 21 year old car has 360,000 miles on it. I am just not rebuilding the Rear end and it was poorly maintained and original. I blew up the one time rebuilt transmission. I blew it up bad, and it had a split gear kit in it *Cry*. All of the old rubber bushings have obviously been replaced.

If I see a car with under 200k on it, I expect that the car is in at least good running and driving condition or I ignore it. I ignore a lot of Chevys and Dodges.

1986 Chevrolet Monte Carlo LX 305 5.0L V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 305 5.0L V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired170000 miles
Most recent distance171000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Lumina Euro Sport

Faults:

Not much really.

The bearings in the water pump had wear.

Carb. was just rebuilt and is a little on the rich side of fuel/air mixture, but that is to be expected.

Needs a tune up.

General Comments:

This is one LOUD car. It is a real change to have a 4 bbl 305 over a EFI 3.1L. This is the car of choice for me.

But on the economic side this is a gas guzzler compared to my old Lumina.

Yet, for the added performance and style it is worth it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd April, 2001

9th Jul 2002, 17:15

There is no such thing as a G-body Monte Carlo LX. there's an SC SS ans LS, but no LX.

1986 Chevrolet Monte Carlo SS 355 from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 355 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance124000 miles

Summary:

THE 80's muscle car

General Comments:

A very good car. Looks awesome, a little sluggish stock, but that's easily changed!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th January, 2001

16th Feb 2001, 14:32

I own a 1987 Monte Carlo SS (notchback). It is a factory original, true American muscle car, that combines the best of both worlds. The only other 1980's automobile that can compare to it is the Buick Grand National. Now that's intimidation!

19th Oct 2002, 21:13

I've owned a 1986 Monte SS for 9 years and have hammered it most of the time. The transmission was rebuilt at 110,000 miles. It also eats up starters, but it runs like a clock.

1986 Chevrolet Monte Carlo SS 5.0L L69 from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 5.0L L69 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired160000 miles
Most recent distance172000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Monte Carlo

Summary:

The best looking, best driving car ever made

Faults:

The transmission had to be rebuilt (I knew this when I bought it).

The carburettor had to be tuned to keep it from flooding.

General Comments:

I owned a 1981 Monte Carlo sport coupe before (along with a 99 Ford Ranger) and loved it. It rode great, and drove great, but the 229 c.u. V6 was too little motor for the car, and the nose looked a little elderly for my meager 22 years of age.

I traded it for an 86 Monte Carlo SS, which keeps everything I love about 4th generation Monte's and adds a sweet new nose, spoiler, and gets rid of all that chrome. It also adds a hot 305 H.O. V8, which gives it plenty of power to back up it's looks.

It has had a few problems, but what 16 year old car doesn't? I will never trade this car as long as I live. I may be buried in it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd November, 2000

2nd Jan 2001, 11:36

I have an 87 MCSS, a great car. I think it's hard to find a person who took care of these cars. I bet a lot of people thought they were Dale Earnhardt is this car.

Worst problem on mine is the transmission; replace the TCC solenoid and it runs great.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 19 reviews