2001 Chevrolet Monte Carlo Reviews - Page 2 of 2

2001 Chevrolet Monte Carlo SS 3.8L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.8L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired40400 miles
Most recent distance41400 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Nice SS

Faults:

I've had the car two weeks and so far nothing has gone wrong, except that I heard a slight whine in the transmission once.

It never made the noise again.

General Comments:

I really love this car as well as Monte Carlos in general of all years. I am extremely impressed by the amount of luxury features and sporty looks for a mid-priced car.

I'm a little disappointed that the Honda Accord V6 I previously owned was faster, but the luxurious, user friendly interior and great handling makes up for the lack of speed.

Has anyone heard of the turbonator? I'm seriously thinking of buying one to increase horsepower. Would it be worth it to buy one?

Also, does anyone know how much it would cost to swap the 3800 Series II engine for the Supercharged Series III?

Overall, the 6th generation Monte is a big improvement in styling over the 5th generation. This one actually looks like a Monte Carlo and not a 2 door Lumina.

I can't wait until they bring back a RWD V8 Monte. Let's hope they retain the Knight/Shield emblems and "waves" on the side when the car is restyled.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th August, 2004

3rd Nov 2004, 21:38

You might want to visit this page in regards to the "whining sound" in the tranny.

http://www.carsurvey.org/review_37674.html

14th Jul 2006, 20:07

If the Turbonator is the one advertised to increase hp as much as 35 for $69 or so, I'd like to try it on my '98 Chevy Malibu also. I thought the Malibu was really quick, but it still takes it time when I floor it. Given all the bad reviews on this generation car, this car seems so sensitive that I dare not floor it habitually. I haven't and so far it's been running okay for me at 88k.

As for the upcoming V8 model, it's already here for '06 in 5.3L 303-hp form, but still in FWD and it still looks like the same as '00-'05 except the headlights now resemble the '06 Impala. Which is interesting as the '95-'99 was physically the 2-door Lumina. The Lumina's been gone since '01 so I guess Chevy needed another model to base part of Monte's looks on, and this time they chose the Impala (I still like the old headlights better if you ask me). But I like the wheel covers on the '06 much better than the ugly 7+7-spokes used on the '00-'05.

28th Nov 2006, 23:22

The taillights are also different for '06, and the interiors are refreshed as well. Sorry to dash your dreams of a new rear-drive model, but a source tells me that the Monte Carlo will not be produced for an unknown amount of time after the 2008 model year. I'm disappointed too.

2001 Chevrolet Monte Carlo LS 3.4L 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.4L 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance39640 miles
Previous carPontiac Trans Sport

Summary:

Good car for the money

Faults:

Power windows failed, so I had them fixed at the dealership twice and that still wouldn't work so I went a third time and finally got it fixed.

Cheap factory tires bald at 30000 miles.

Back tail lights fog up. Had it tightened.

General Comments:

Needs more power. Even the SS whats so super about it? Should be a V-8 so that it can be competetive with an SS Camaro. Even though it handles really well around corners in dry weather. Very spacious interior.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th April, 2004

2001 Chevrolet Monte Carlo LS 3.4 litre from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.4 litre Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance15350 miles
Previous carChevrolet Lumina

Summary:

Good car for a great price

Faults:

Lower steering rod went out at 15,000 miles and was replaced by dealer under warranty.

General Comments:

Great car to drive. Very comfortable on long trips. In city, brakes are very responsive and a great driver.

However, with 180hp base, this car needs more to help move as at times it feels under powered. But add after market exhaust and air cleaner, it does improve it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th October, 2003

2001 Chevrolet Monte Carlo LS 3.4 Liter V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.4 Liter V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance28000 miles
Previous carLincoln Town Car

Summary:

Excellent in a serious crash

Faults:

Not a thing!

General Comments:

The car could have had more power.

It has a cockpit not a seat.

The radio was excellent. Some stations let you know what artist and song played and others gave a variety of messages.

Its best feature was the airbag and crash rating. If the car hadn't been so good in a crash, I'd be dead. After looking at the car in the impound yard, I knew that many other people were zipped up into body bags in vastly better looking crashed vehicles. I ran into a brick wall on the expressway not quite head on, and I not only lived, but walked away. It's a good car. Buy one if you like yourself.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd June, 2002

3rd Nov 2004, 12:54

Good thing it held up against the brick wall! I have two children (2yrs, and the other 11 months) and that just made me want the car even more! I love them and this just sealed the deal! Thank you.

11th May 2013, 22:41

I am another person whose life was saved by my Monte Carlo.

In 2011 I was t-boned by someone who went through a red light at 80 mph., I was pushed over 2 lanes and rear-ended by a large Dodge truck that was travelling the same direction as me. I only suffered minor injuries.

When I went to the impound lot, my silver coloured 2000 SS looked like a Coors beer can somebody stepped on. Had I been driving a small car, no question I would have been killed.

These cars are very safe, and should be strongly considered by a parent looking to buy a teenager their first car.

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 8 reviews