Chevrolet Monza Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1980 Chevrolet Monza Sport Hatch 2+2 3.8L V6 from North America

Model year1980
Year of manufacture1980
First year of ownership1981
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.8L V6 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired1000 miles
Most recent distance51390 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

Wonderful

Faults:

The only problem that I have had with this car since aquired from my grandfather is that the transmission shifter was bent.

General Comments:

I love this car very much. It is a testament to what American car makers once built. The AC Delco battery lasted for 19 years as an example of the quality in this vehicle!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th February, 2005

1993 Chevrolet Monza 1.8 SL/E 1.8 from Uruguay

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership1996
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance120000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Gol

Summary:

A very good design, badly executed in my example

Faults:

The car overheated three times. Each one it was repaired by a reputable dealer, and I don't think I was cheated (though you never know). The first time happened in a country road at around 80 kilometers per hour, having prepared the car the day before for a long trip, and with around 30000 km on the car.

The last time I decided to sell it, as the dealer said it needed at least a ring job, perhaps a complete overhaul.

The camshaft was worn round quite early, with the valve actuators all, but gone. I have been told this is a common problem with this engine.

Many interior parts kept falling, interior handles, trim, and such. Upholstery wore out very fast.

Clutch went early, around 60000 km.

Noisy and clunky gearbox.

Minor electric problems.

General Comments:

Monzas were Brazilian GM J-cars (Chevy Cavalier, Pontiac Sunbird, Opel Ascona, Vauxhall Cavalier, Cadillac Cimarron, Isuzu Aska... well, there were a lot of them). The car had very nice styling, easy access/egress, comfortable seats, nice upholstery which wore out quite early. It was quite expensive while not having even power steering, but seemed nicely finished at the time of purchase.

Fuel consumption was very high, around 7.5 kilometers per liter around town, marginally better on the highway.

Due to the overheating problems, along with early clutch wearing and gearbox noise discouraged from using it and from buying a similar car again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd January, 2004

1979 Chevrolet Monza Spyder 305 chevy 8 cylinder. 2.8 liter from North America

Year of manufacture1979
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 305 chevy 8 cylinder. 2.8 liter Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 miles
Most recent distance144000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Monza Spyder

Summary:

It is the coolest car to drive

Faults:

My Chevy Monza Spyder has had only a few problems that still need to be fixed. The carb. needs to be rebuilt so I can get better performance and it has a very stiff clutch.

General Comments:

I have really enjoyed owning this car. I'd say it has been the funnest to drive around town and it's acceleration in amazing. I'm trying to restore it right now. If I could own another Chevy Monza Spyder I'd gladly take it. I received this Monza from my great Uncle and until he gave it to me it had sat outside for about five years not doing anything. Someday I hope to drop a 427 Chevy engine into it, but until I get the money all I've got is my good old 305 V8.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd December, 2003

4th Aug 2007, 14:08

I've always thought that the Chevrolet Monza would be the perfect low-budget platform for installing a high-performance small-block V8. The car is small and light enough that you'd only need about 360 horsepower at the flywheel to turn it into a real street screamer!

Sure, go the big-block route if it's what floats your boat, but it would seem that you'd need a heavier-duty suspension to be able to handle the extra torque.

1976 Chevrolet Monza 2+2 2.3 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1976
First year of ownership1979
Most recent year of ownership1983
Engine and transmission 2.3 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Nova

Summary:

The post-74 Vega (and it's derivatives) ain't so bad after all

Faults:

Front brake pads wear out about every 12-15,000 miles.

General Comments:

Engine is hydraulic lifter post-74 Vega 2.3 with staged OEM Holley 5210 2 bbl.

Indestructible, unlike it's predecessors. 1-2 up-shift @ 3400 RPM; 2-3 @ 4400 RPM - go figure...

Coolant temperature never went past 190 F.

A/C always blew ice cubes.

Trans/drivetrain was never an issue.

Thankfully not much body roll, even with the base suspension as there is not much suspension travel - surprising smooth road cornering prowess (rear end nicely planted; front end not a tread grinder) eroded quickly when the road got bumpy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th August, 2003

1979 Chevrolet Monza from North America

Year of manufacture1979
First year of ownership1986
Most recent year of ownership1990
Engine and transmission Automatic
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.0 / 10
Distance when acquired88000 miles
Most recent distance128000 miles
Previous carPlymouth Gran Fury

Summary:

A one person car that needs improvements

Faults:

I had to replace the gasoline tank because of a leak. While it was not too costly, it was inconvenient.

General Comments:

I was aware of the car being well maintained, despite the highway miles.

The car sat too low to the ground and with the car having bucket seats, it made it hard for those trying to exit the car.

The cabin was very small. Since the shift was on the floor between the seats, there was little leg room for the driver or the passenger in the front seat.

Even if the front seat was moved forward, the passenger in the rear seat was limited in their movement.

The trunk space was approximately 10" high, so groceries had to laid on their side or placed in the back seat.

The steering column had a locking system for the ignition key, and if you did not press the button, you could not release the key.

This is a car only made for one person, not a couple or a family. There are better cars than this.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th July, 2003

24th Mar 2006, 13:35

Um, how is "The steering column had a locking system for the ignition key, and if you did not press the button, you could not release the key." a problem or flaw? That's how steering columns without selector levers were in the 1970s! Look at the old Toyotas and Hondas from that era.

1980 Chevrolet Monza Spyder Buick 3.8L 231 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1980
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Buick 3.8L 231 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired44000 kilometres
Most recent distance47000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Monza

Summary:

Absolutely the best car on the road!

Faults:

Nothing yet, but it is a collector car so I don't expect anything, since it doesn't get driven much.

I have had 3 Monza's previously (all 1980 Sport Hatchback's or Spyder's)

The only problem encountered was the low oil pressure that this engine was infamous for. Thicker viscosity oil is a quick fix for this problem.

General Comments:

I love the Monza, absolutely love it. I'm restoring an '80 Spyder at the moment and this one I have listed is a mint condition factory original unmodified gem.

My previous Monza's were a Coupe and a Sport Hatchback, both performed admirably and were reliable and had good performance for the time.

Can't wait to drop a small block V8 into the Spyder!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th February, 2003

23rd Feb 2007, 19:49

Oops! I thought these reviews were about REAL Monza Spyders, not the newer Winged Pissants!

9th Aug 2007, 12:52

I had a 1976 Monza hatch-back. That was my dream car in the price range that we could afford. Had it for several years as it became an SCCA autocross car and then into a 350 V-8.

(All the while with the B/W 5 speed). It was great with the 2.3 engine and Webbers- in autocross, but became too expensive for me to make "right" with a V-8...Had to sell.

Looked really cool with the 50s on the rear (offset wheels).

Ah, the 70s I miss so much.

Eric, Roswell, Ga.

Average review marks: 5.6 / 10, based on 10 reviews