1988 Chevrolet Nova Reviews - Page 4 of 4

1988 Chevrolet Nova 4 door 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired91000 miles
Most recent distance92000 miles
Previous carDodge Daytona

Summary:

A well running car

Faults:

The timing needed to be adjusted when I first got the car.

It needed a really bad oil change, along with some oil stabilizer in it. After that, the car ran perfectly fine.

General Comments:

A very good running car, as long as you keep up with the oil changes and lube jobs, it will last you quite awhile.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th December, 2002

1988 Chevrolet Nova Base 4 std from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1988
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4 std Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance105000 miles
Previous carMazda GLC

Summary:

Best new vehicle for reliability I've owned

Faults:

Not much to complain about, has a Toyota engine in a crappy NUMMI body and interior.

Paint terrible, lousy interior fit & finish, mis-matched everything -- and still it runs like a top.

Likes tires some, has some small engine compartment wet spots, but nothing dangerous, yet.

General Comments:

Toyota builds great engines, the UAW sticks them in crappy packages (or did in 1988 anyway).

The later Prizm is also highly rated, same deal (Toyo motor, NUMMI shell).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd November, 2002

2nd Nov 2002, 12:04

Chevy Novas are good for almost anything. From adding CD players, to custom fog lights, this car can be made to fit anyone's style. I would suggest the Novas with the Twin Cam engine and 4 speed automatic with overdrive. If you get another Nova, have all of your routine maintenance done. Then drive it like it's new. NUMMI, what is that?

31st Oct 2007, 01:40

I'm thinking of buying one, a guy had an aunt who moved away and gave it to them, and he said he doesn't know how much for it, but around $500 more or less. Don't know if it's a good buy though, what do you think?

11th Oct 2009, 17:02

The New United Motor Manufacturing Inc. (NUMMI) was a partnership between Toyota and General Motors to build autos in Fremont California. I have purchased three NUMMI autos: 1988 Chevy Nova, 1999 Toyota Corolla, and a 2007 Toyota Corolla. They have all been excellent cars and my Chevy Nova has 172,000 miles and still going strong. NUMMI proves that American workers with well engineered cars can build superior products. The plant in Fremont California, the last major manufacturer of cars in California, is scheduled to close at the end of March,2010. I am sorry that I will not be able to buy their products in the future.

1988 Chevrolet Nova 1.6 Liter in-line 4 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 Liter in-line 4 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired147000 miles
Most recent distance155300 miles

Summary:

If you get a Nova, get all your routine maintenance done, then drive it like it's new

Faults:

Nothing has ever went wrong with this car until...

One night, 2 of the 4 cylinders lost compression.

The car had horrible acceleration (6 seconds just to reach 15 mph).

General Comments:

I loved this car. I felt as thought it was a part of me.

I got up to 90 mph quicker that I expected on the highways.

I added fog lights, CD player, and ran the compressor for the air. No electrical problems!

The cost to put a new engine in this car is over 1000 dollars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th October, 2002

1988 Chevrolet Nova Hatchback 1.6L SOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6L SOHC Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous carNone None

Summary:

Great gas mileage, easy and cheap to maintain, excellent first car

Faults:

Brake cylinder, fixed it myself for about 20 bucks.

Outer CV boots (the car is 14 years old... it's about time), fixed for 16 dollars a piece

Radiator.

General Comments:

This is my first car. I bought it for about 500 dollars because the previous owner said it didn't pass emissions. After I did a tune up and replaced the oxygen sensor it passed with flying colors. It gets 28mpg city and almost 35mpg on the interstate.

The 85hp engine pushes it from 0-60 in a hair under 15 seconds up here at 5000 feet above sea level. Definitely not built for speed, but it will go 85 on the interstate with some pedal to spare. Passing people on a two lane highway can be frightening as the engine loses it's mojo past 50mph.

Size is this cars forte. I can park in the smallest parking spaces and it has a very small turn radius to maneuver out of the way of hulking SUVs.

The hatchback provides ample trunk space and the seats fold to accommodate large loads for this small car. I can sit very comfortably (I am 6'4) in front, but only kids can sit behind me. My average sized friends have no problem fitting in this car.

I've done a few things to perk up my little car, such as new ignition, platinum 4 spark plugs, pace setter exhaust, and a K&N air filter. I also bought a lowering kit, black paint job, 5% tint in the rear and 15% on the driver/passenger windows, 4 inch 2way pioneers up front, 6X8 3 way pioneers in back, 11 inch sub and 16 inch rims with 6 inch wide tires (i thought they looked cool). It is still no race car, but it was fun. Next I'm thinking of putting in forged pistons and a 75hp wet-shot nitrous system to make a sleeper out of this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th October, 2002

1988 Chevrolet Nova 1.6L from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1989
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6L Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired59 miles
Most recent distance167000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

GREAT CAR!!

Faults:

Nothing really except the things that wear out on any car: tires, brakes, belts, and a new radiator I put in myself with no problem.

General Comments:

Extremely reliable car. Too bad Chevy stopped making them. You still can get a different version of this car, the Toyota corrola. Only down parts are the suspension is going and the engine is way too small, 69 HP.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd July, 2002

1988 Chevrolet Nova 4 door 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1988
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance300240 miles
Previous carChevrolet Nova

Summary:

The best car I have ever owned

Faults:

My timing belt went out at 250000 miles, I had no other major problems with the car. MY nova ran great, but had hail dents and a few other body defects.

General Comments:

The day I sold my nova it had 300240 miles on it and the guy I sold it to drove it away like it was new.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th May, 2002

1988 Chevrolet Nova 1.6 L from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 L Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired158000 miles
Most recent distance186680 miles
Previous carChevrolet Nova

Summary:

A very trusty car

Faults:

The timing belt went at about 175000 miles. It cost me $125 to repair. Other than that I have had no major trouble.

However the passenger side front fender has started to rust nicely. I have noticed that almost all 1988 Novas have developed this rust spot.

General Comments:

It is a very reliable car. It starts every time, even when it's 35 - 40 degrees below zero and that's without a block heater.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th September, 2001

15th Oct 2001, 12:39

You should be running a block heater. Don't get into the habit of starting it without one. Once or twice isn't going to hurt it much, but unless you want to start springing leaks all over the place, you should definitely have one, at anything below zero fahrenheit (and for air-quality reasons, even higher).

1988 Chevrolet Nova 1.6 carburated from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 carburated Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired191000 miles
Most recent distance191500 miles

Summary:

Durable econo-box

Faults:

Usual tune-up parts. Brake cylinder had to be replaced. We did the work ourselves.

General Comments:

Interior much better than average - still looks brand new although the car has 191000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd July, 2000

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 19 reviews