1987 Chevrolet S-10 Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1987 Chevrolet S-10 Blazer 2.8 from North America

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired255756 miles
Most recent distance257070 miles
Previous carChrysler Intrepid

Faults:

The gauge light is burned out.

General Comments:

This was built to last; very solid. Here in Nevada, the 80's S-10 Blazer is about the only really old SUV that I still see on the road in big numbers.

One reason is that owner's are willing to rebuild these in favor of most other older makes and models. It has a straight forward design and layout that makes it much easier to service than the newer high tech plastic SUVs, where you open the hood and can't even see the engine block!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st November, 2005

1987 Chevrolet S-10 blazer 4wh 2.5 from North America

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired125000 miles
Most recent distance225000 miles
Previous carChevrolet S-10

Summary:

Chevy rocks!

Faults:

Had to replace Tranny, repaint, replace fuel injectors, Electronic control module liked to go out until finally got a good one, new battery, plugs, wires, the normal. Rebuilt everything around the ECM and new brain. New head gasket, belt.

It has been to New York, NJ, Iowa, Nebraska, it is the energizer!

General Comments:

I owned a 90 s-10 pick up and the rods went on that. This s-10 blazer is better. It drives thru winter better with the 4wh and does not fishtail like the pick up did.

It is my baby.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th December, 2004

1987 Chevrolet S-10 bare 2.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 miles
Most recent distance159000 miles
Previous carChevrolet S-10

Summary:

Reliable workhorse

Faults:

I have had this truck for 20,000 miles and I have only had to repair the EGR valve and a back window clip on the driver's side.

The exhaust fell off, but that was completely my fault, ruts were too deep.

General Comments:

Great truck, would take it anywhere, but wouldn't get there real fast with only the four speed manual.

Had a truck just like this bought in 2002 and it was great until the motor blew at 250,000 and it was my own fault, timing got too far off and I never got around to fixing it. I now plan on putting a 350 in it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st November, 2003

1987 Chevrolet S-10 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired54000 miles
Most recent distance74000 miles
Previous carJeep Wrangler

Summary:

One truck you don't mess around with

Faults:

I bent a rod in the engine, so I did engine swap, so there is a New Chevy 305 engine with all over size parts, bored the block out 30 thousandths.

General Comments:

This truck is mean, lighting flash with the 305 in it, it's a mustang killer for sure, with drop kit I put on it. it's lower 4 in the front and 3 in the rear, custom seats, and etc...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th May, 2003

1987 Chevrolet S-10 2.8 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired209000 miles
Most recent distance212150 miles
Previous carJeep Grand Cherokee

Summary:

This truck will never die

Faults:

Brake master cylinder is leaking.

Starter is dragging.

A couple of gaskets leak.

Dash is cracking.

General Comments:

This is an old work truck I purchased this from the second owner who drove it for about 130K miles. He didn't take great care of it, but the truck never let him down. So far I have had absolutely no trouble with it, and I've driven about 3,500 miles.

She rides very well, is comfortable and very smooth. Though she's been beat up cosmetically, I couldn't ask for a better vehicle to drive. She is reliable and ready to work. Also, the gas mileage is not too bad (17 city/21 highway).

The only thing that I could hope to be better is the acceleration. She's gotten to be pretty slow, but I guess that is to be expected when a vehicle has over 200,000 miles!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th March, 2003

27th Aug 2003, 21:46

Since I wrote this review, I have changed jobs and now do A LOT of driving (about 3K per month). The truck is now up to 227,000 miles. I had to change the battery, but aside from that and oil changes, I haven't had any problems. I honestly feel that this truck is the most reliable vehicle that I have ever driven.

8th Mar 2006, 17:34

I just bought me own S-10 and had it for about 3 weeks and had nothing, but problems with it. Fuel Injector, fuel pump, valve gaskets leaking, and has been in the shop for about 4 days now and they can't find anything that will make it run. So no its not a good running truck. And will die the first chance it gets. So I don't expect any body to buy one if I was u.

12th May 2006, 11:31

The 87 s10 only has problems if you buy the 2.8 v6 but my 4 cyl 87 s10 has very little problems mostly because I beat on it and chevy v6 has lots of problems, but chevy s10 are very good running trucks.

1987 Chevrolet S-10 2.8LV6 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.8LV6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired130500 miles
Most recent distance168822 miles
Previous carChevrolet Beretta

Summary:

She's a Beauty on life support

Faults:

Transmission Blew up at 131,000 miles.

At 168,822 miles, the transmission blew up again. Vehicle is currently awaiting service.

General Comments:

It used to be a work truck, but now it is for personal use. It's old, it's falling apart, but it still starts up when I need it to. It refuses to die!!! I am moving to California next year, from Georgia, and the truck is going with me, but after this last, long road trip it will be permenantly retired. I plan to put the truck up on blocks in my back yard and plant flowers in the back of it.Finally, she can rest in peace.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th November, 2002

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 11 reviews