1998 Chevrolet S-10 Reviews - Page 7 of 12

1998 Chevrolet S-10 zr-2 4.3L from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.3L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance115000 miles
Previous carPontiac Firebird

Summary:

Best truck I ever had

Faults:

Security lock out system has activated twice for no reason at 100,000 miles.

General Comments:

This is a great truck for off-road fun.

It handles snow mud and rough terrain like a dream.

Very reliable no major problems to be found.

Very confident in off road conditions as well as highway.

Plus it's a great looking ride with its high wide stance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd October, 2005

1998 Chevrolet S-10 LS 4 cylinder. from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder. Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired9000 miles
Most recent distance88000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Faults:

Front brakes at 36000.

Seat adjustment handles broke soon after the warranty went.

Rear breaks at 76000.

Alternator at 87000.

Windshield wipers work when they want to. Problem started at around 78000.

Front end tend and steering wheel tend to "pulsate" at high speeds (65/70mph) if I hit small bumps on road. Feel like wheels are going to fly off!

General Comments:

Considering the problems I've had with this little truck, I'm very happy with her. All the work it's needed is regular ol' wear and tear, which is to be expected.

The AC works like a charm, which is especially appreciated in the central Texas heat!

She's not not built for speed, but she's worth her weight in gold!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th August, 2005

1st Feb 2006, 20:16

The wiper problem can be fixed by replacing the wiper pulse board, not very expensive and is something you can do yourself if you have a screw driver. It's caused by water leaking into the housing.

7th Oct 2006, 13:36

I bought an after market board on Ebay and it took about 20 minutes to replace. 30000 miles and no more wiper problems.

21st Jun 2007, 09:39

Your problem with the steering wheel "pulsating" is most likely caused by one your front tires being out of balance. Something that can happen to any vehicle.

10th Feb 2008, 19:53

1998 Chevrolet S-10. (2.2 Liter 4 Cyl) Seat Adjustment Handles.

Both OK, (when removed) -but what broke was the exterior posts what the handles are fastened to. The question is - how do you replace the pot-metal (matching groove) posts that sticks out from the seat? The handles are just fine, no need or replacement. (These posts have a center hole, which the screw "sets into" from the handle, and both are wallowed out.

Can these "exterior" posts, be unscrewed or otherwise removed? And where do you find this part? Am trying to avoid taking it into Servicing dealer since they now charge $120/hour shop charge just to get the vehicle to the technician; then other charges follow. Thank you. Please write me direct at msgt_gunny@yahoo.com.

1998 Chevrolet S-10 LS 2.2 4 cylinder from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.2 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.2 / 10
Distance when acquired59000 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles

Summary:

A piece of junk that cost me more much money than the gas it saved

Faults:

U joints were bad when I bought it from the dealer.

Manual seat adjuster knob was broken when I bought it from the dealer.

Transmission went out at 62000 miles.

Wipers worked intermittently at 63000 miles. (very dangerous)

Dash illumination stopped working at 63000 miles (fuses okay)

There was a squeak that drove me crazy near the rear left speaker... had to rip off the plastic covering and stuff insulation in... fixed the problem.

Hood wouldn't close... had to rip off plastic that it was rubbing against.

Clutch went out at 68000 miles on the interstate.

General Comments:

The dealer was absolutely terrible. didn't return calls, took forever to repair, lied, etc.

The truck looks nice and it is a comfortable ride, but the mechanical problems caused me a great deal of stress and about $1500 in repairs in the 9 months that I've owned this money pit. Stay away from this vehicle.

I will never buy GM again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th August, 2005

25th Jan 2008, 16:20

Sounds like whoever got rid of that truck before you got it knew what they were doing.

1998 Chevrolet S-10 LS 4.3L V6 High Output from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.3L V6 High Output Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired106000 miles
Most recent distance128700 miles
Previous carMazda B2200

Summary:

$1,322.66 in repairs within 2 years...'nuff said

Faults:

My water pump went out at 110,000 miles, replaced it myself.

My alternator went out at 120,000 miles, replaced it myself.

Car caught on fire at 128,450 miles, dealer fixed it for $985.00 using junk yard parts.

Windshield wipers work when they want to, and constantly get stuck straight up.

3rd brake light constantly goes out.

Drivers side door doesn't lock anymore using the power door locks.

Interior lights no longer work when opening the door.

Check engine light works sometimes at start up.

Can't complain about the brakes, I've had them for 2 years.

General Comments:

Overall this truck is pretty decent, if you can afford it and want to deal with it. I am looking at trading it in right now, as soon as I find another vehicle.

Overall, it has good performance, great handling, could use better interior details.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th April, 2005

8th Apr 2008, 21:12

How do I know if I have a high output S-10? I mean I know it's a V6 4.3 Vortec engine, but as I understand it there is a 10hp difference.

18th Apr 2008, 20:25

I believe you can tell by your VIN located on the dash of the truck. I may be wrong, but I think I remember seeing something in the manual that will tell you the difference. If you have an X in the 8th place of the VIN, then it's a 175HP version. If you have a W, then it's a 190HP version. I believe all S-10's have 245 lbs./ft. of torque. Good luck.

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 41 reviews