1979 Chevrolet Scottsdale Reviews

1979 Chevrolet Scottsdale custom 327 from North America

Model year1979
Year of manufacture1979
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 327 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired58000 miles
Most recent distance64000 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

My first car and my last car

Faults:

Everything was junk when I first got it on my 15th birthday.

Blown motor when I got it.

General Comments:

I put a 327 out of a corvette, aluminium heads. bored 30/over. I put a turbo 400 tans-mission with a monster shift kit. Next was the rear end, I went with a 411 12 bolt rear end. dressed the outside with a custom metallic silver, then took seats from a newer Chevy truck that are leather and put a stereo system with 4 12inch polkaudio sub-woofers, and had to run 3 batteries to power them.

This truck runs like a beast and turn heads. You can hear it well before you can see it. I take it to plenty of shows, and though it is not stock restoration people still enjoy it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st March, 2006

26th Mar 2008, 14:28

Or sat in a heated garage 10 months of the year!

1979 Chevrolet Scottsdale 350 from North America

Year of manufacture1979
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 350 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired69000 miles
Most recent distance92000 miles

Summary:

Grampa had one.

Faults:

The radiator had a leak.

The tires needed to be replaced.

The 4 wheel drive linkage had to be worked on.

General Comments:

I bought this truck four years ago for $2500 bucks. I put in around $1500 in maintenance and $1500 in a paint job since I bought it. If you need a reliable, tough, go anywhere vehicle this is the one to get.

However, she needs some TLC (she is, in fact, 25 years old). That means she is an antique. She doesn't drive like one, though. You can still romp on her engine and, even though it is a stock 350, you still get a sense of her power.

She also drives across country very well. To get from Salida, CO to Nashville, TN it cost $100 bucks in gas money. Which is around 10 miles to the gallon. This won't bother you though. When you see a new vehicle with all kinds of computers under the hood waiting for problems to happen you know that if something goes wrong with your baby, it will take a part that costs 12 cents and some pliers to fix it.

I am in iraq right now in support of the war against terrorism. I know this next sentence is going to sound redneck, but... God, I miss my old pick-up truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st September, 2003

11th Apr 2008, 21:30

God bless you for your service to this country. I hope you get reunited with your pickup soon. I have a 1978 Silverado 3/4 2wd mint with 40,000 original miles. 350, Auto. Would never part with it.

1979 Chevrolet Scottsdale 10 350 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1979
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 350 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired122000 miles
Most recent distance124000 miles

Summary:

Decent for a freebie

Faults:

Steering squealed like all GM vehicles of that era.

Tires dry rotted.

Wiper motor died.

Heater fan died.

General Comments:

I had to fix the rust holes with Juicy Fruit & White-out to get it inspected.

The truck had sat for almost 2 years and has no pulling power.

The 4WD works great, ran in 4 feet of snow, never got stuck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th June, 2003

2nd Jun 2010, 21:01

Well the things you said were wrong are just normal ware and tear. Any other real problems?

1979 Chevrolet Scottsdale 350; V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1979
First year of ownership1984
Most recent year of ownership1994
Engine and transmission 350; V8 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired55000 miles
Most recent distance320000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Sierra

Summary:

Our family member! Carried us with pride!

Faults:

Nothing to be unexpected for a good ole, hardworking truck.

4 sets of tires in the 310K miles.

Shocks.

Alternator.

Couple batteries.

Wiring Harness.

Couple Clutches.

Belts/Hoses.

General Comments:

We bought this truck from a gentleman in Oklahoma - "The Beast" as we called her.

She was green, with silver trim, and the original owner had work performed on her muffler to make her sound meaner then she was. We'd always liked the sound of The Beast, and thus came the name.

In 1984, she came home to Colorado.

Strange truck, she was, her front end was 3/4 ton, but her rear-end had been rebuilt for a 1 ton capacity with single wheel axle.

That first year, we had to replace all 4 wheels - they were bent and out of round. We also threw on new all-terrain tires and customized hitch.

In 1985, this truck went to work hauling our 10' cab-over, fully self-contained camper and a brand-new 18' Wellcraft 5K pound boat.

The Beast hauled our load from the Great Montana country to the rainy meadows of Arkansas through the many years of ownership.

Only twice, in the 310K miles did she ever break down. Only minor issues - first time outside of Cheyenne, WY, from a blown radiator hose.

2nd time - she blew a tire outside of Casper, WY. We simply blamed it on Wyoming terrain - laughing that the truck just hated Wyoming, her very frequent destination.

See, I was just a child when Dad bought this truck. I grew up, every summer bouncing around in her - we carried friends, dogs, campers, boats, luggage, fish. You name it, The Beast carried and towed it with pride.

Her favorite places were hiding out in the great Rockies, and Lake Glendo, Lake Alcova in Wyoming.

In 1994, we began to realize that our old friend was in need of major suspension work. She'd served us well, and though we didn't want to trade her out; she was honestly too worn for our load anymore. Her suspension was becoming unstable and was drastically starting to show.

We had taken fantastic care of her, and she was our pride. However, Mom and Dad didn't have the luxury of being able to rebuild her undercarriage, nor the availability of installing a 454 - something she really needed, as those rocky mountains were really taking their toll on her old engine.

Dad sold her to a younger man who lived in Alaska and had come all the way to Denver looking for a Scottsdale Chevy. The man had full intentions of installing a 454 and performing repairs on the suspension; and the man stated he was taking the truck to Alaska to live on the Yukon River.

Mom and Dad had always wanted to visit Alaska and Dad felt it righteous for that old truck to be blessed with the pleasure of Alaska - that's where he wanted her to be. As her home, where she ran the best, was in cold weather, tearing up the highway hillside.

I miss that old truck. They don't make them like The Beast anymore.

In 2000, we purchased another 3/4 ton Chevy 4x4. She's a Silverado LS, and you guessed it - she's green.

Although she doesn't sound like The Beast, and rides much too nice, nothing at all like that old truck. She'll suffice; she'll hold up just the same.

What I wouldn't give to see that old girl again, though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th February, 2003

31st Jan 2006, 02:22

Wow this was more of a novel than an opinion. But it was a great way of sharing the "beast" life with us. I just bought a 1980 Chevy custome deluxe and so far so good. Hopefully one day I'll brag stories alike those of the "beast" :D.

31st Jan 2006, 16:19

A late 70's Chevy pickup = RUST!!! I had one-rusted to pieces in 3 years when new. I live in Indiana.

1979 Chevrolet Scottsdale 8 cylinder gasoline from North America

Year of manufacture1979
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 8 cylinder gasoline Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired123000 miles
Most recent distance124000 miles

Summary:

Dependable for a 23 year old truck that has sat for almost 5 years

Faults:

Nothing is wrong with this truck.

General Comments:

It is a gas hog as it is in four wheel drive anytime it is under 30 miles per hour.

It is huge and drives like a tank.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th July, 2002

18th Feb 2003, 20:22

MileMarker makes the kit to convert your truck to part-time four wheel drive.

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 5 reviews