1990 Chevrolet Silverado Reviews

1990 Chevrolet Silverado 5.7L from North America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2013
Engine and transmission 5.7L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired175000 miles
Most recent distance225000 miles

Summary:

Outstanding

Faults:

AC compressor out at 180000 miles.

Headliner sagged at 185000 miles.

Replaced radiator at 190000 miles.

Steering column wearing at 190000 miles.

Water pump replaced at 195000 miles.

Power steering pump pulley replaced at 195000 miles.

Alternator replaced at 200000 miles.

U-Joints replaced at 200000 miles.

Rear seal replaced at 200000 miles.

Rear end gasket and oil replaced at 200000 miles.

Re-sealed front window leak at 225000 miles.

General Comments:

Bought the truck in 2006.

The 5.7L engine is still stout.

Paint is oxidized and peeling.

Interior is still pretty good.

Body is solid with a few dents, but little rust.

Love this truck, grandson drives it till graduation.

Can't see myself selling it anytime soon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th January, 2013

1990 Chevrolet Silverado 350 5.7L from North America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 350 5.7L Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired200 miles
Most recent distance322000 miles

Summary:

Excellent

Faults:

New rear end in it in 1999. (200,000 + miles).

New radiator in 2001.

New AC compressor in 2002 (around 300,000 miles).

Head liner started to fall around 2007 (after sitting for a while).

Paint started to coming off the hood around 2007 after sitting for a while.

Over the years I have put several starters and heater cores in it.

Excellent truck. Very reliable.

General Comments:

I got a company vehicle in 2004 and parked the Chevy.

I would drive it when I was home, approximately every few months for the next 4 or 5 years.

This is when most of the deterioration started to happen. I guess I sort of neglected my old faithful truck.

I kept the oil changed regularly, and kept it tuned up.

Best vehicle I ever owned.

My 17 year old daughter is now driving it until she graduates.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th March, 2011

1990 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 5.7L 350 from North America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 5.7L 350 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired219000 miles
Most recent distance219000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Best truck Chevy has ever made, and always will be

Faults:

Honestly, the only thing that went out in it was last year in 2009, and it was the master cylinder and the rear end; that was it.

I'm a mechanic for the army, so I decided to restore it, and there are way too many things to list, so I'm gonna summarize it, and I'm not lying about this; everything is brand new on this truck, besides the body. This truck drives better than a Cadillac, and I put in a total rebuilt 305 that came out of an 1986 Camaro, a Demon carburetor, 40 series Flowmasters. I run down these new Mustangs in this baby; it's so reliable and fast that my girl begs me to let her drive LOL.

General Comments:

Very amazing truck, there will never be another one like it, and that's why I'm never getting rid of it LOL.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th November, 2010

30th Nov 2010, 13:27

Carbed, TBI or Tune port injection? I agree with you on the fact the the 305 is a better motor than the one in the newer Mustangs. Just on the fact that the 305 makes its peak torque at a lower RPM then the Honda like Mustang.

305s are great engines that get respectable fuel mileage and last a very long time. I have one in a 91 Camaro with over 258,000 on it and I've never had the intake off. It was bought at 120,000 to boot.

1990 Chevrolet Silverado 5.7 from North America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 5.7 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 kilometres
Most recent distance500000 kilometres
Previous carGMC 1/2 Ton

Summary:

Best vehicle (out of approximately 20) I've ever owned

Faults:

Rear end has had a slight howl since about 100,000 KS, but has never been replaced.

Replaced head gaskets at approximately 450,000 KS.

General Comments:

Awesome truck.

Has never let me down even after owning three trucks since. I still kept "ole blue" and has always been my 'go to' truck when the going gets tough.

GM hit the mark here with these models. Reliability, dependability, great fuel mileage for a full size and still hauls butt.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th December, 2008

1990 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 5.7 Throttle Body from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 5.7 Throttle Body Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired125000 miles
Most recent distance248462 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

I can't stress how dependable this truck has been to me while continually amazing me with the power

Faults:

My radiator went out at 230,000 miles.

The interior, while remaining functional, is visually displeasing.

The lower portion of the Extended Cab has rusted all the way through.

I purchased the Blue and Silver paint scheme, and almost all of my paint has come off of the hood and roof.

General Comments:

This truck is undeniably the most dependable vehicle I have ever owned. My truck has 248,000 miles on the original drive train, with nothing, but tune-ups and oil changes.

The interior is very comfortable. I have taken multiple trips from Oklahoma to Texas in my truck, and have had nothing, but a smooth, enjoyable ride.

The 5.7 Throttle Body Injection engine has been nothing, but impressive since the day I bought the truck. I still have trouble keeping the tires from slipping in any kind of rain.

The overall drive train, mine having the 5.7 liter engine with a 700R4 transmission, is remarkably powerful.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th February, 2005

9th Apr 2007, 20:06

I also have the 5.7 350 and it has been one heck of a truck to me. I only have 132,000 miles on it and I haven't had any problems yet. I highly recomemnd any of these trucks to anyone if you can find anyone willing to sell one to you. For the time it came out it is very top of the line with factory tape deck, power locks and windows, cruise control, and key-less entry. This truck it very dependable and will give the owner many years of reliable driving.

23rd Nov 2010, 21:44

I too have a 90 with a 350 and a th700r4 trans. It only has 141k on it.

I replaced a muffler and some brake lines due to salt water flooding during a storm (I live near the beach). The paint is a little rough in spots, but the truck won't quit. Amazing power and comfort. The bench seat feels like my couch.

This is the 3rd body style Chevy like this one and again I'm amazed. Best truck ever built.

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 9 reviews