1992 Chevrolet Silverado Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1992 Chevrolet Silverado 4.3 V6 from North America

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired135000 miles
Most recent distance210000 miles

Summary:

They really mean it when they say "like a rock"

Faults:

Nothing serious has gone wrong with the truck, just the normal problems from cars this old such as the need of a new belt, battery, pulley, a paint job, etc.

General Comments:

This truck has passed my life expectancy expectations. The engine and transmission work fine, nothing major has gone wrong with it and it has never let me stranded. When I got it back in 98 I had my doubts if it was worth $5000 but now I know it truly was. It might not be as fast as the V-8 but is not slow by any means. The big V-6 does requires a lot of gasoline, that is my only complain.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd July, 2005

1992 Chevrolet Silverado 5 L from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5 L Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired160000 kilometres
Most recent distance184000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Suburban

Summary:

Great for the first 10 years

Faults:

Transmission, Gas lines, A/C, Axle seals, Rad hoses.

General Comments:

The 5 litre engine is too weak for the size of the vehicle, which causes it to rev too high.

We thought it was a steal, but turned out to be a lemon.

Seriously investigate before purchasing one used.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th February, 2004

10th Jun 2005, 19:46

I think that is very wrong. That particular model of Chevrolet is one of the best that the company has ever produced.

6th May 2008, 01:25

I have a 4.3 manual with 345000 miles and still running strong. this truck was a birthday present to myself and I still love it!!! pulled numerous pontoons and still going!!

14th Nov 2008, 19:38

I have a 1992 silverado pickup with a 305 4spd auto, this truck is so reliable I would take it anywhere. The power is good and fuel economy is not bad for a 4x4. Overall rating 9 out of 10. Paul.

24th Jun 2009, 03:47

Basically I'm gonna say this truck has been the most reliable EVER at 245000 miles. The 350 V8, which I keep tuned great and maintained, has never done me wrong ever. I pulled 2 newer 04-06 Dodge diesels out of mud with this monster LOL. They were amazed. And I then did a cross country trip 2000 miles each way in 2 weeks, then I got home and the tranny went out, but my god look what it had been through, not to mention the mountains of i-80 from Nebraska to Cali and back. LIKE A ROCK I SAY!!!

1992 Chevrolet Silverado 4X4 350 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 350 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired346000 kilometres
Most recent distance360000 kilometres
Previous carMazda GLC

Summary:

Hard on gas, but a good performer

Faults:

HVAC controls replaced spring 2002.

Replaced CV boots this summer.

Replaced U-joint this fall.

Throttle body linkages are worn.

Coolant leaking from intake manifold.

General Comments:

This truck was a pig on gas, but then again, there is a lot of weight for it to push around. With some tweaks, I'm getting 16-17 mpg city, 22 highway now.

Performance is decent for a truck with this many kilometers on it.

Seats are comfortable.

Difficult to park in smallish spaces.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th November, 2003

8th Oct 2005, 21:52

16-17 city and 22 highway??? I have a 94 with only 40k on it (also has a k&n air filter and throttle body spacer, and I don't drive it hard at all) and I get about 16-17 with mostly highway driving. I have also owned a 89 chevy and 97 GMC, both with the 350, and have never broke 20. Could you email me at ace_8-27@hotmail.com to tell me what "tweaking" you have done to it. Thanks for the help.

23rd Apr 2006, 15:50

I own a 93 Z71 with a 350 Auto. I would also like to know what kind of "tweaking" you did to break 20mpg. I am getting less than 15 and don't drive hard at all. My email- dennis.bittle@us.army.mil. Thanks.

24th Aug 2006, 01:59

I have a 1992 Chevy Silverado with 263,000kms and no major problems. 1 alternator, 1 belt, I change the oil every 4000km, transmission once a year.

It's still running strong. I tow a race car every other weekend, 120km, 3600lbs. This truck rocks.

1992 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V8 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance140000 miles
Previous carNissan 2 X 4 Truck

Summary:

Well-equipped, quality truck

Faults:

The clutch had to be replaced, and must be released frequently.

The upper interior lining has come detached from the top of the cab.

Only two speakers currently work.

General Comments:

The cabin is quite comfortable, but can be unstable around turns. The upper cloth that has come detached can be a nuisance for someone taller than 6 feet.

It is a very reliable truck. No major problems have occurred.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st July, 2003

1992 Chevrolet Silverado k1500 z71 5.7 liter V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.7 liter V8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired250000 miles
Most recent distance260000 miles
Previous carGMC Pickup

Summary:

A heavy chevy for work and play

Faults:

New Engine

New Transmission

Minor Electrical Problems

Steering Box

Ball Joints.

General Comments:

I have had very good luck with this truck, it has 260,000 miles, with a new engine and transmission, and it still turns over every morning when I go to use it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th March, 2003

1992 Chevrolet Silverado C1500 X-Cab Long Bed 5.7 V8 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 5.7 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Previous carHolden Commodore

Faults:

Overly long aftermarket accelerator cable burnt out from being laid up against the manifold.

General Comments:

Comfy and very reliable thus far.

I love it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th September, 2002

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 10 reviews