1991 Chevrolet Sprint Reviews

1991 Chevrolet Sprint 1.0 from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired114000 kilometres
Most recent distance154000 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Grand Prix

Summary:

This is the ultimate commuter / winter car

Faults:

Both rear wheel bearings replaced.

Front rotors and pads replaced.

Starter terminal rusted not letting the car start. Some sand paper did the trick.

General Comments:

This is the ultimate commuter / winter car.

It averages 50 MPG and the 55HP motor is adequate to zip around in just don’t expect any sense of acceleration.

It’s given me very little trouble the 2 years that I’ve owned it. Other than the problems I’ve mentioned above all I did was change the timing belt and all the fluids when I first got it. All I do now is change the oil every 5000KM.

Parts are cheap.

You’re not going to impress many people with its look though so I suggest getting another car for pleasure riding.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd August, 2007

1991 Chevrolet Sprint Convertible 1.0L 3 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.0L 3 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired116502 kilometres
Most recent distance117500 kilometres

Summary:

Awesome good-on-gas car

Faults:

My ball bearings went one week after I got the car, but other than that not a problem!

General Comments:

Great on Gas.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th June, 2004

1991 Chevrolet Sprint Base 1.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired113400 kilometres
Most recent distance188300 kilometres

Summary:

Low gas consumption champion at a low price

Faults:

Burnt exhaust valve of cylinder #2. I had the cylinder head rebuild at 150 000 Km. Ever if it wasn't really needed, piston rings was done at the same time.

Some other stuffs: radiator, starter, timing belt, brake cylinders and calipers, regular maintenance filters and parts.

General Comments:

Easy on gas, I calculated about 54-56 miles/imperial gallon.

Ride is not very comfortable on bad surfaced roads.

Very well designed, cargo space in the hatchback is very impressive! Rear seats place is good also.

Most mechanical works can be done quite easily, but why that strange bolted plate over front disk brakes?

Handling is not too bad considering of the short wheelbase. Steering is precise and quick. I always liked very much the road feel of a car without power steering.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th May, 2004

28th Aug 2004, 06:44

You have put 70000 KM on this car and had to rebuild the engine and you call it reliable?

17th Apr 2005, 20:02

It says rebuilt cylinder head, not engine!

31st Aug 2005, 23:07

And it wasn't until 150,000km on the car at that. Pretty reliable I'd say.

5th Jun 2006, 15:02

I have 251000 km on my 1991 Chevy Turbo Sprint, and I have not to this day other than general maint. spent one dime on repairs. Oh, I used synthetic oil since day one.

1991 Chevrolet Sprint 1.0 liter from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.0 liter Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired127000 kilometres
Most recent distance220000 kilometres
Previous carPontiac LeMans

Summary:

You cannot buy better

Faults:

Replaced clutch assembly.

Replaced front brakes.

Replaced right front control arm/ball joint.

General Comments:

The most reliable and fuel efficient car on the market. 2 thumbs up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st July, 2003

1991 Chevrolet Sprint 3 cylinder. from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3 cylinder. Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 kilometres
Most recent distance167000 kilometres
Previous carHyundai Pony

Summary:

A good bargain, but not too reliable

Faults:

It burned oil terribly, I had to put in a quart every time I filled up with gas. There was a blue cloud following me everywhere.

Eventually it kept stalling until I couldn't even back out of the driveway without it dying.

I ended up getting the motor rebuilt at 146000. Bonus from that is that it doesn't burn oil anymore.

It will not stay running if it is colder than minus 20C, even when it has been plugged in.

If the weather is very hot, 28C or higher. It is sometimes difficult to start.

General Comments:

Not the nicest of interiors, very plain.

Good student car.

Very economical on gas.

Does not do well on hills.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th July, 2003

1991 Chevrolet Sprint 1.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired104000 miles
Most recent distance165000 miles
Previous carFord Crown Victoria

Summary:

Best car I ever owned

Faults:

Replace windshield, tires, wiper blades, and timing belt.

Only regular maintenance items were replaced.

General Comments:

This is one very good car. I just wish that I can find another one when this one gives out. They do not like hills. I would not buy an automatic for highway driving or fast acceleration.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd April, 2003

1991 Chevrolet Sprint 1.0 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired309104 kilometres
Most recent distance325215 kilometres
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

Very fun!!!

Faults:

I bought the car with a blown motor and replaced it with a used one with 100,000 km on it.

Parts are very expensive!

General Comments:

Even with the high km, s the seats and interior is in great shape.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th November, 2002

1991 Chevrolet Sprint 1.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired64000 kilometres
Most recent distance74000 kilometres

Summary:

An easy car to add hp too

Faults:

All of the wheel bearings were worn out at 70000 KM.

General Comments:

Modifications:

Open exhaust with a Hedman twin glass-packed tip.

4" cold air intake with neon-green filter.

Blacked out front cornering lights.

Rims painted black.

Chrome windshield wipers.

Optilux blue ion fog lights.

Super white headlight bulbs.

Front end lowered 2".

Rear end lowered 1 1/2" due to a sub box in the rear.

Sound system - Kenwood Deck 215S

1" tweeters in the front

6 1/2" Sony's in the rear

Jensen amp for the subs XA4100

2 12" Jensen subs

Ported box.

15" Eurolite Neon-purple light positioned over the subs.

Factory graphics were stripped off.

LED's light up on the dash when the car is turned off. Used as a theft deterrent system.

5% tint on the rear and 20% tint on the front.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th June, 2001

17th Feb 2009, 12:06

How much did that cost you? I have a sprint and it's crappy, but it's fun drifting in the winter.

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 8 reviews