2000 Chevrolet Tahoe Reviews - Page 2 of 2

2000 Chevrolet Tahoe Z71 5.7L from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.7L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired23000 miles
Most recent distance99500 miles
Previous carFord Thunderbird

Summary:

I would recommend it to anyone looking for a reliable, powerful SUV with a great ride

Faults:

Air Conditioner went out at 40,000 miles.

Began leaking antifreeze at 85,000 miles.

General Comments:

Had the Air conditioner serviced when it first went out at 40,000 miles. My local Chevrolet dealer did an inspection on it which cost me a mere $75.00. They found that it had a bad lower seal. After replacing the seal and refilling the freon I was up to a $245 bill. Almost exactly a month later the air conditioner stopped working again. Unfortunately it happened to be 94 degrees out at the time. Went back to the service department and they diagnosed that it needed about $1,600 worth of work. I was very irrate with the fact that they did not figure it out the first time I had it in. No real good reason. I had it repaired. 15,000 miles later same problem. I am still dealing with GM on this one.

Antifreeze leak started with a small spot. I replaced the thermostat, hoses and put new coolant in the radiator. This worked for about 2,000 miles. The leak is back. I have had it at 3 different dealers. They cannot find the problem. The leak is quite slow. Probably a small spot th size of a quarter twice a week.

I have to admit, even with the problems with the air conditioner and the antifreeze, I would not hesitate to buy another Tahoe. The ride is fantastic. Your driving a truck, but it feels like a large automobile. I would have to say that it is a very safe vehicle. Some may feel that it is pricey, but I did a great deal of research on them and I think that it is a good deal for the dollar.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th December, 2004

8th Apr 2007, 20:22

About the antifreeze leak check the intake manifold.

30th Jul 2009, 19:04

I have a 2000 z71 Tahoe. Have not had the problems you're describing, but the antifreeze that's used in Tahoes from 2000-2004 is known to erode away different sealant within the cooling system.

2000 Chevrolet Tahoe Limited 5.3L from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5.3L Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance12000 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

An expensive mistake

Faults:

The driver's window motor broke the 2nd week I owned this truck.

The brakes were shot at about 2,500 miles.

The leather on the seats is very poor quality.

My rear-view mounted on the winshield fell down when the truck was still new.

The tires that came with the truck were very poor.

The door hinges squeak.

General Comments:

This is by far the worst vehicle I have ever owned. From the time I bought it to the time I sold it not even 2 years later it gave me nothing but problems. I can't believe that I paid almost $34,000 for this heap. Chevy trucks look nice, but the quality is inferior. I will never consider another GM product. I am thoroughly disgusted with the craftsmanship, reliabliity, and service received at the dealership.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th September, 2002

7th May 2003, 10:23

Amen to that!

I had a 96 Isuzu Trooper SE I bought new that I absolutely loved. But I got afraid of it as some had developed valve train related engine problems. Mine began to make some noises that worried me and replacement engines are kind of rare and expensive for 96 & 97 Troopers.

So, right before the warranty was to expire I traded it in on a used 1997 GMC Yukon 4x4 SLT. It didn't take me long to figure out that buying this thing was a horrible mistake! It never let me down, but that's about all that can be said for it.

On a scale of 1 to 10. Dependability rates an easy 9 but quality/fit and finish don't qualify for a 1.

To me you can tell the biggest consideration was profit in the design of this vehicle. They seem to have done everything just as cheaply as possible.

The spongy brakes scared me so bad that I doubled the normal safe following distance.

The seats were so uncomfortable that I only took the truck on one long trip and thought I was going to have it shipped home. The front seats rattled, shook and were so short that even at full extension the headrest didn't come near the back of my head. I always feared a rear end collision as I knew a good one would cause some severe neck damage.

The rear wheel wells weren't sealed well and tire spray worked it's way in and soaked the entire carpet pad from back to front. I had to remove all the seats, take the soaked carpet out and let it dry while I drove the thing with just the drivers seat installed.

The front axle wouldn't engage in 4 wheel drive which I later learned was due to a poorly designed actuator that was later scrapped and replaced with an improved version.

A design flaw that I would have to pay for if I wanted my 4 wheel drive to work. I did not replace it for two reasons.

A. I felt GM (the worlds largest automobile manufacturer) should at least supply the part since it was flawed and kept the vehicle from doing something you paid for it to do.

B. It became clear shortly after I bought it that I wasn't going to keep it.

The leather upholstery was hard, without natural grain and seemed to be "coated" with some kind of plastic.

The center console rattled and squeaked. The dash and console were both made of hard clicky plastic. The stereo was marginal and lacked many common features. The frame developed this beautiful red hue all over from surface rust.

The window switched were all stiff and hard to push.

The rear speakers buzzed and had to be replaced.

It rode rough.

It ate two sets of front brake pads and one set of rotors while the rear shoes hardly ever wore at all.

Well, I finally ended our nightmare. I traded it in on a new 2001 Isuzu Trooper Limited. With a redesigned and larger bulletproof engine it is everything and more that my 96 was.

My wife and I drove to Alaska and back two months after we bought it. We have crossed the US several times with it and love it more every time we drive it.

We now have better than 60k on it and it is still a dream to drive and is still flawless.

It's very unfortunate that they've been discontinued. I guess I'll have to take extra good care of this one.

I have yet to see anything I would consider replacing it with.

2000 Chevrolet Tahoe Z71 V-8 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission V-8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired2500 miles
Most recent distance15000 miles
Previous carCadillac DeVille

Faults:

It has Firestone Wilderness AT tires on it. They are 16 inch and there is no recall on them, but I don't feel safe.

Tie rod fell off at 40 miles per hour on a busy street.

General Comments:

After the tie rod fell off, the vehicle was not steerable. Somehow we got stopped without wrecking or hitting someone or something. I took pictures and there was still grease on the threads of the tie rod. The nut had never been installed.

I filed a report with the National Transportation and Safety Board, and with Chevrolet. I never have received any kind of a response from anyone. What worries me most is am I the only one who never got the nut installed or are there other Tahoe's out there with a possibility of this hapenning to them? Chevrolet was good at fixing it, but what if I had been on Highway 5 driving at 70?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th June, 2001

12th Jun 2005, 13:27

Interesting comments re tie rod. If tie rod link 'twisted' and came out of tie rod, seems the toe-in/out would be so great the tires would be signing/squealing when driving down road, especially turning, etc. Didn't notice this?

3rd Feb 2006, 17:56

Did this happen immediately upon purchase? I can't imagine that, the vehicle is inspected at the dealer, and it would most likely have fallen apart during transport onto/off of the car carrier. IF the car has some miles on it, then you can't blame chevy for it, any used car is subject to some sort of failure sometime, it's just unfortunate that this is what happened to you. Thank goodness you are OK. I've never had any trouble with any of my gm vehicles, and I've owned almost all makes, too.

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 7 reviews