2003 Chevrolet Venture Reviews

2003 Chevrolet Venture LS Ext. DVD 3.4 V6 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.4 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired10 kilometres
Most recent distance90000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Venture

Summary:

Great family vehicle

Faults:

Winshield Weather Stripping.

Rear Wiper Motor.

Headlights are not bright even on high.

General Comments:

Lots of room.

DVD player keeps my son happy on long trips.

Backup sensors work great in tight spaces.

Performance is great.

Traction control is not really needed, more of a bother than useful.

8 passenger seating configuration is not as comfortable as the 7 passenger with Captain chairs, especially on long trips.

Load leveling suspension a must if you are carrying heavy loads, it's actually fun load it up with a heavy load and watching the rear end rise up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th December, 2005

11th May 2006, 20:19

Agreed about the weak headlights, especially on high beam.

On the positive side, I found that it was relatively uncomplicated to add an auxiliary set of small driving lights (Cibie brand) under the bumper. Their black bodies and covers "went" nicely with the black bumper rub strips; nice integrated appearance with a 1 mile (almost 2 kilometres) long high beam. NO switch necessary in dashboard, simply wired a 5 dollar Autozone regular type relay - with inline fuse- from positive side of battery, with a trigger-circuit feed off the high beam wire (easy to get to follow directions in owners manual for changing the headlight bulb).

Lights go on and off with the high beams, dealer for my leased vehicle considers it an "upgrade" and thus has no complaints.

14th Jul 2006, 14:44

I purchased my 2003 Chevy Venture van 3 years ago. It has been very reliable. I have driven it 65,000 miles and the only repair work on it has been to replace 1 set of front brake pads. It's a joy to drive. It feels like a pickup truck. You can haul a lot of "stuff" without worrying if it can haul the load. Gas mileage on the highway has been between 26 and 29 miles per gallon going through the mountains. I would purchase another Venture van when this one wears out! Best vehicle we have purchased in the 26 years I have been buying cars and trucks.

2003 Chevrolet Venture Warner Bros. 3.4 V6 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.4 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired11000 miles
Most recent distance13000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Venture

Summary:

The best minivan I can own for my families needs

Faults:

Nothing so far.

General Comments:

Purchased this 2003 based upon the great luck we had with our 2000 model Venture that had around 75,000 miles on it when traded.

The seat configuration is the most convenient for a family of 5 with the rear folding seat not needed and the storage area can be fully utilized.

The DVD entertainment system is much easier than the VHS system in our old Venture van and works flawlessly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th November, 2004

6th Dec 2004, 05:26

Car reliability should be a fact based on the high prices that must be paid. Luck should not factor into the equation!

2003 Chevrolet Venture from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Distance when acquired130 miles
Most recent distance22000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Venture

Summary:

Good running, but electronics are the pits

Faults:

Cruise control has not worked since we purchased the car brand new. Sometimes won't set. Sometimes surges after being set, then kicks out. Vehicle has been back to the dealer many, many times with absolutely no results. Dealer wasted over 700 miles in test driving, still has not fixed the problem. Dealer manager washed his hands of the problem by saying "Take it to GM!"

Power doors dead or intermittent ever since car first delivered. Dealer Service Manager is aware of the problem, taking no steps to correct it. Right side power door has been completely dead for weeks. Left side power door works only when it wants to.

Left side mirror has cracked twice for no apparent reason. Glass replaced both times under warranty.

Vehicle has been in shop over 25 days in last year for above problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th October, 2004

2003 Chevrolet Venture 3.4L 6 Cylinder Fuel Injected from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.4L 6 Cylinder Fuel Injected Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance7750 miles
Previous carPlymouth Voyager

Summary:

Basic, Not as appears to be, will drain your wallet

Faults:

1/2 piece of rear bench seat collapsed with adult passenger in it, passenger fell back into back tailgate door.

Temperature gage went up almost to red sitting at a stop light.

Brakes squeak.

Engine ticks for about 10-15 seconds after initial start.

Starter engages for longer than it should.

Bad gas mileage. We only get 275 miles from a 20 gallon fill-up.

General Comments:

We had a Voyager before that we really liked, even though it had a lot of problems. When we bought the Venture, we didn't see it until delivery, we had looked at another model. It has no armrests or map/reading dome lights. The dealer said this is the way it should be. We're worried about the temperature issue, will keep our eyes on it. Very unhappy the rear seat collapsed without warning, luckily the passenger wasn't injured. Accelerates nicely, but we don't drive it much due to it's small, uncomfortable interior and poor gas mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th May, 2004

2003 Chevrolet Venture LS Warner Bros. Edition from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired40 kilometres
Most recent distance4400 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Firebird

Summary:

Family van

Faults:

Absolutely nothing. It is brand new, so I guess I have to wait to find out.

General Comments:

Cheap, uncomfortable seats. Maybe leather would be more comfortable.

Terrible safety ratings as reported by http://www.iihs.org/

Same design for 7 years; pretty common vehicle now.

This is my second one; I leased a 1997 until 2000.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd July, 2003

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 5 reviews