2013 Chevrolet Volt 1.4L from North America

Summary:

Completely underestimated - Amazing Car

Faults:

One software update for the OnStar system, because the hands free calls were fuzzy sounding.

General Comments:

I have wanted a Volt since they began to sell in 2011. Finally, used prices started to drop and a bunch of off-leases hit the market. I found my 2013 Volt this past February for $12,900 and only 12,000 miles! Clean Carfax, 3 year lease, absolutely not one service history entry. The car has heated cloth, lane departure system, accident avoidance system (i.e. both safety packages), backup camera. I absolutely love the performance of the car, and the handling. You can really throw it into curves, believe it or not, due to its very low center of gravity from the HV battery location.

Put this thing into Sport Mode, and drive in "L" and you will have a blast.

BTW, my electric bill in SE Michigan went up ~$15 a month, and that is depleting the charge every day (about 45 miles on electric). We are fortunate to have very affordable kWh here.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th July, 2017

1st Jul 2020, 01:36

I am the OP - Since my 'original' 2013 Volt (sold that in Sept 2018), I purchased another 2013, sold that one too, and just this past week bought a beautiful, 50k mile, 2015 Volt with every single option. Every time I sell a Volt, I end up missing it, and buy another LOL. If that isn't a testament to what excellent cars these are, I dont know what is!

But... I'm starting to look crazy to my family & friends, haha.

By the way, the 2015 seems faster than my 2013's. The 2015 DID have a larger capacity traction battery vs. prior years. Don't know if that has anything to do with it, but it also gets MUCH better range. I easily get 50+ miles out of the 2015, while on both of my 2013's getting 45 miles on electric was pushing it.

The cars are becoming more and more rare, as every day some Volts will meet their demises, and it's not like they sold as a "mainstream" car in the first place. I am glad to be a Volt owner and this time plan on keeping the 2015 for a long time!!

1st Jul 2020, 20:32

Make sure when you retire, consider treating yourself to a really nice upgrade. Life is short.

20th Oct 2020, 06:28

A few common problems with the 1st generation Chevy Volt.

- Stator bearing failure (the car will make like a 'saw' noise).

- Loss of braking function, very little stopping power (Service Brake Assist - Service Stabilitrak). Some owners had the brake module replaced ($$$) but others found loose wires at some fuse panels. So inspect first any brake related wiring or harness.

- HVAC valve.

- Service high voltage system message. Could be a faulty battery disconnect connector, battery heater core inside the Main Controller Unit ($$$), a complete new main battery needed ($$$).

- Reduced propulsion power message.

Generally speaking, the 2nd Volt generation was quite more trouble prone compared to the first generation (transaxle, sensors, end links, Battery Energy Control Module, etc).

2013 Chevrolet Volt Base Hybrid from North America

Summary:

So far exceeded expectations

Faults:

Bought it as a lease return Sept 3, 2016. So far nothing has gone wrong.

General Comments:

I am totally impressed by the build quality of this car. On par with most high-end cars and totally a giant leap above the 09 Honda Civic LX I traded in for it. It is a solid heavy feeling car with impressive acceleration (for an electric, especially in the Sport mode). I've driven 922 miles on 3.7 gallons of fuel. I have a twenty mile daily work commute and re-charge every night between 12:30 AM and 6:30 AM.

The only complaint is rear visibility, like looking back into a tunnel. The rear view mirror is pathetic. This car has no backup camera so backing up is real challenge. I have added an aftermarket wide-view mirror which helps tremendously. We'll see how it holds up. Got it because I wanted a pure electric without range anxiety.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th October, 2016

5th Mar 2017, 23:51

Now six months in and a couple of minor issues have cropped up.

First the charge receptacle door kept sticking shut, throwing CEL codes. Dealer replaced the entire receptacle under warranty.

Next, with the heavy rains we've had in our area of California, the left rear tail light lens has filled with moisture. Never been hit or damaged. Took it to the dealer, and "out of warranty" on this and they want $478 to replace it.

Overall, gone 3718 miles on 14.7 gallons of fuel. Been to the gas station two times and I average 253 miles per gallon... Will fix the tail light myself; found the part on-line for $88...