Chevrolet Zafira Reviews

2003 Chevrolet Zafira CD 1.8 from Indonesia

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 kilometres
Most recent distance125000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

A very comfortable MPV, and good value for money

Faults:

Both ABS and TC indicators sometimes glow at the same time. According to some source, this might be caused by faulty ABS/TC sensors. Though it is mentioned in the manual book that you can continue driving the car provided you drive with care and anticipation, I'm going to have this sorted out soon.

General Comments:

About a year ago, I was planning to replace my aging Honda Accord with a newer used car, and a Chevy Zafira was the last thing that came into my mind. It was its flex-7 seats and fairly cheap price that grabbed my attention in the first place. My interest grew bigger as I learned about this MPV with its features that overwhelm all competitors. Although I had some doubts after reading some bad reviews on the web, I decided to buy this car anyway.

The late 2003 production has been equipped with fly-by-wire technology that increases fuel efficiency. In combination, the fuel consumption is about 10.5 liters of gasoline per 100 km (9.5 km/liter). This is much better than I expected.

Engine performance is quite good. However, the response might be a little slow at low revs, as a consequence of having fly-by-wire on board. But it will behave differently if you activate the ‘sport mode’.

The handling beats other MPVs, although it’s not comparable to my good old Honda Accord :)

Zafira is the most comfortable MPV I’ve ever drove; thanks to the suspension that is as good as other European built. Inside the cabin, abundant air vents also contribute to passenger’s comfort. A small complaint with the hard seats was fixed by applying a thin layer of foam pad under the seat covers.

Overall, this car is a really good value for the money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th January, 2010

2004 Chevrolet Zafira Z22 2.2 from Mexico

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Most recent distance71000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

It is versatile, reliable and great on highways

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Wonderful vehicle. I wish they still sold it. It has been extremely reliable and very flexible.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th May, 2009

2001 Chevrolet Zafira CD from Indonesia

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Previous carMazda 121

Summary:

Good exterior, but bad interior

Faults:

- Power window didn't work

- Error on transmission

- Air conditioner didn't work

- Error on the immobilizer

- Door lock stuck.

General Comments:

The reason why I bought this car is because not many people have it, making it look exclusive. I bought the green one because it looked nice in green.

The first time I bought this car, there was no problem on this car, but 2 weeks later, the power window didn't work. I replaced it with the new one.

Then another problem had occurred : there's an error on the transmission. When I put the gear in "D", the car didn't go. When I put the gear in 2, it can go but then you have to switch the gear into 3, then D.

I spent a lot of money to fix my car. About 3 month later, the immobilizer which scans any problem in my car had an error when I was driving on the highway. Then I took my car to the dealer. The dealer staff said that almost all Zafiras had this problem.

About 5 months ago, my car's door lock was stuck. I took it to the dealer again and I spent a lot of money to fix it.

The interior quality is bad. The dashboard is made of bad quality plastic. The gear box is also made of cheap plastic that can easily get scratched.

The seats are not comfortable because seats are very hard.

The AC is the worst, My son always get headache when he's riding my car. Yet, the smell of the interior is not great.

I think Chevy should not have sold this car, because it is unsafe and makes people not like Chevy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th July, 2008

2004 Chevrolet Zafira CD 1.8 Gas from Philippines

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.8 Gas Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired18 kilometres
Most recent distance19108 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Mitsubishi

Summary:

The car is unsafe

Faults:

The Engine Electronics/Immobilizer indicator has stayed on after turning on the ignition. This has happened about 5 times since I bought the car. The first 2 incidents happened on the first year I had the car. I had the car checked with a Chevrolet dealer, but was informed they did not find any fault. I am concerned that if this should happen while I am driving on the expressway, I may get into an accident.

General Comments:

The reliability of this car is questionable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th September, 2007

19th Apr 2008, 22:11

Your car might have electronic system problems. Do you have doucmented inofrmation to show that your car had such problems and the dealer saying that they could not find fault? Is your car still with you? I might be able to help you if needed.

26th Apr 2008, 21:43

I have a Chevrolet Zafira CD too. Its dark green and it is good looking, but it has bad interior quality like the materials. The window switch didn't work once and then the Chevy dealer fixed it. Then the air conditioner and the door broke. The electronic immobilizer also always error. This car has bad reliability and bad quality. The lines in the bumper that connects the rear door is bad. I think this car is untested properly and this might be the worst SUV in Chevy history. The chairs look sporty but not comfortable. Every month I have to fix this car.

10th Jul 2009, 22:49

The Zafira Chevy that I bought is fine, and up to this time it didn't give me headache. The body part is thick and has more leg room. Sound system is likewise fine with me.

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 5 reviews